We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel option in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel option in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent the first 5 days of our honeymoon at the Library Hotel and would definitely recommend. New York hotels are pretty expensive - this one being about £220 per night was at top of our budget but really a very good find at this price.

I had been concerned that a petite room would feel cramped for the two of us after reading reviews but it was absolutely fine and room was lovely. We were on 11th floor and had no issues with noise at all, NYC is a constant buzz in the background but you get used to that.

Nice touch of prosecco in our room on arrival. Two computers and printers available at no extra charge on 2nd floor.

We were given a warm friendly welcome by all members of staff, from check in, to doormen, to service staff, really to notch.

Location is great and just round the corner from Grand Central - handy because it is one of those subway stations where you can get the express subway - cuts down time getting around new york.

Another big plus is the breakfast - until 10 each morning. There are various pastries tea coffee etc provided thoughout the day. There is also free wine in the evenings, but we were always out and missed this.

Would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,172
    576
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
503
2,156
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our stay at the Library Hotel was beyond our expectations. The room was meticulously decorated, perfectly sized and the bathroom was like walking into a spa. But that is just the beginning The Library is more than a nice and quaint hotel. It exceeds at paying attention to details, like the European breakfast in the morning, the wine & cheese in the evening, bed turn-down service, and the incredible helpful staff!!! Every staff member was eager to please and wanted us to have an incredible stay.

My husband enjoyed the books available to read in our room, which were based on our room's DD classification. You can also relax and read the books available in the lobby or the second floor. But, if reading is not your past time, you can chose to check out a movie to watch on your room's DVD player. The Library keeps the top 100 movie of all time at the front desk. But of course, you didn't come to NY to stay in doors, but to see New York!!! The hotel is close to a lot of attractions, including Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza , Broadway shows and Grand Central Station, so you can use the metro quickly and easily to get those attractions that are father away .

I do have this one comment: the late evening staff did not seem as knowledgeable as the morning staff. Twice I called the front desk with a issue, one regarding my non-working remote and the other regarding getting more of the delicious small box of chocolates. The late night staff member didn't know where any extra remotes were and said he would inquire in the morning. I received the same reply when asking about the chocolates. Sure enough, in the morning, I received a call or a note regarding what I had ask the late night staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We both love books, so the idea of staying in a library-themed hotel appealed, but the reality was even better.
Because every room is themed around a different book topic, it feels unique and personal. Our room (deluxe) had plenty of space for us plus everything one could possibly want in a hotel, even an umbrella in case of rain! The bathroom was spotless and well equipped; I usually have a moan about hotel showers, but here it was perfect.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and they even provided gluten-free toast and bagels. There was complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon, and excellent coffee is available 24 hours a day!
All of the staff seemed genuinely friendly and were always ready to help. Finding a bottle of Prosecco and some chocolates in the room to help us celebrate our anniversary was a lovely surprise.
The location is perfect, in Midtown Manhattan, one block from Grand Central Station and the subway, and walking distance from many attractions. And when we had had enough of sightseeing in the heat, we could go back and relax with a coffee (or some wine) in the peaceful, book-lined Reading Room, looking down at the busy NY streets.
We had a fantastic stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Library Hotel was absolutely amazing. It was just perfect. It is close to everything you want to do and see, yet seems like you are in a quiet getaway. The service and staff is impeccable. I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissagp4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've reviewed this hotel once already, but just had such a pleasant experience staying there (this was my third stay) that I want to review it again. Mainly, I want to talk about how helpful and friendly the staff are. Particularly, my SuperShuttle never arrived (or if it arrived it was 2 hours late) to take me to the airport. The women at the front desk called the shuttle company for me several times and eventually, another staff member got me a cab to JFK. This was all done with cheerful kindness.

And the breakfasts (with the Times) continue to delight me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Words fail me when trying to truly encapture the amazing homely quailty of the Library hotel....I visited last winter but as in most cases a crazy where did all that time go lifestyle has the blame i didnt comment before now!
The hotel is exactly as described on thier internet oage ,even down to the measurementsof thier rooms,so NO ONE should ever have the opportunity to complain about ( eg) the petite room being too small! The hotel staff are second to none and absolutely NOTHING is too much trouble for them ..,each and everyone of the staff you meet treats you with the greatest respect but at the same time have the uncanny knack of making you feel as though you are in a home away from home...the afternoon free wine and cheese party is a very welcoming way to greet weary visitors ,and the quality of both cheeses,nibbles and wines are not only of top quality but very pleantyful,the staff are constantly checking to see if you need a refill....breakfast also being served in the same area is very pleasant ,and again attended to perfection by the very cheerful ,chatty and charming staff,juices ,bagels,cookies,fabulous fruit salad ,fruit bread,( which they will even take away and toast for you if required) etc etc and gorgeous coffee ,tea or bot chocolate....all accompanied by books ,books and more books ,which I feel totally ashamed to say I didnt even read a few pages of even one all the time I was there! Just too many other things to do ..if you do love the library idea ,try to visit the Pierspoint library ,very near by the hotel an absolute gem and a breathtaking site to see if you wantt something a little different from the other more popular sights in NYC....a special mention to Alvin and Thomas from the fornt desk area..and also a top class hotel director who keeps an eye on every single detail to make sure nothing ever goes amis......thank you so much for a truely wonderful stay ,its now number one on my wish list ....when can I make my next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator ,but as for themes everyone is different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkfreak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I have to say this stay at the Library Hotel was by far my most enjoyable time at a hotel. The staff was accommodating in all areas. Always asking if we needed anything. Flagged down cabs for us. Truly showed they are in it for great customer service. The rooms were everything we hoped...decorated perfectly for each themed room. Each night staff comes to pull down the bed, leaves soft music on for when you return, leaves chocolates and a card noting what the weather will be for the next day. They have their Reading room on the 2nd floor that has coffee, tea, water, pastries and fruit 24/7. Also from 5-8 each night there is cheese and wine. Even one day we showed up a little late for the complimentary breakfast and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The roof top terrace is a great place to go and have your breakfast. I cannot say enough how much I was pleased.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank emmaretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing