We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason why we keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“There's a reason why we keep coming back!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was my third visit to the Library Hotel and it was as great as the first 2 times.

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights in a mid sized room. It was smallish but spacious for NYC standards. Still, it was big enough for the 2 of us. The bed was comfy; there were a lot of pillows; the bathroom was just as big as the ones in the Junior Suites; it had a nice sized table to do work on; a separate table and a couple of chairs to eat or entertain. There was a mini-bar but beware, I think the items are "weighted". The hotel will provide you with a mini-fridge if you need. The room has everything you need to feel "at home" and comfortable. Housekeeping has always done a good job and this time was no exception - the room was very clean. There was also turn down service every night and they provide you with bottled water (ice cold ones too if you need them before heading out into the heat).

The great thing about this hotel is that they also provide you with breakfast every morning and drinks and snacks every evening. That alone is worth probably $30-40 per person per day. There were a few items missing at breakfast compared to our past experiences but there was still plenty of food - hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit salad, bagels, breads, pastries, yogurt and all kinds of coffees and teas and juices. Evening snacks consist of all the wine and prosecco you can drink, together with cheese, crackers, nuts, olives, vegees. It is such a nice way to wind down after a "hard" day of sightseeing or shopping in NYC! The expresso machine and tea is available 24/7 in the lounge, together with cookies and fruit. Computers are available for you to use and to print your boarding passes. If you want to workout, they provide complimentary passes to a gym nearby.

The staff is super nice and helpful. Everyone is there to make sure you are well taken care of. We have stayed here 3 times and we will be coming back over and over again because they are consistently great. The location is also a major plus - a block to Grand Central Station and walking distance to just about everything important in NYC.

Keep up the great work Librarians! You are our home away from home when in NYC! I would highly recommend this hotel - again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
524
2,214
387
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Third visit to the Library Hotel and was just as impressed as with our first visit. Rooms are great, amenities excellent. Service is first class, breakfast and evening drinks great. We were so well looked after by the staff had a great time getting to know them. Will definitely stay here again if we get back to New York, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite just to get a little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights here in June 2014. A really relaxed, beautifully furnished hotel, and the daily wine and cheese reception made it stand out. The management and staff were superb at helping us with a baggage problem caused by our airline. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidoSonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about our stay The Library. The staff was outstanding. Very friendly and professional. Our room was great. Not huge, but big enough. The bathroom was clean and fresh. The location is stellar. We loved the self serve espresso on floor 2 every morning and the romantic 14th floor outdoor deck and bar. A little pricey, but it is NYC.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Painter's room on the 7th floor. It's quiet and away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent the first 5 days of our honeymoon at the Library Hotel and would definitely recommend. New York hotels are pretty expensive - this one being about £220 per night was at top of our budget but really a very good find at this price.

I had been concerned that a petite room would feel cramped for the two of us after reading reviews but it was absolutely fine and room was lovely. We were on 11th floor and had no issues with noise at all, NYC is a constant buzz in the background but you get used to that.

Nice touch of prosecco in our room on arrival. Two computers and printers available at no extra charge on 2nd floor.

We were given a warm friendly welcome by all members of staff, from check in, to doormen, to service staff, really to notch.

Location is great and just round the corner from Grand Central - handy because it is one of those subway stations where you can get the express subway - cuts down time getting around new york.

Another big plus is the breakfast - until 10 each morning. There are various pastries tea coffee etc provided thoughout the day. There is also free wine in the evenings, but we were always out and missed this.

Would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our stay at the Library Hotel was beyond our expectations. The room was meticulously decorated, perfectly sized and the bathroom was like walking into a spa. But that is just the beginning The Library is more than a nice and quaint hotel. It exceeds at paying attention to details, like the European breakfast in the morning, the wine & cheese in the evening, bed turn-down service, and the incredible helpful staff!!! Every staff member was eager to please and wanted us to have an incredible stay.

My husband enjoyed the books available to read in our room, which were based on our room's DD classification. You can also relax and read the books available in the lobby or the second floor. But, if reading is not your past time, you can chose to check out a movie to watch on your room's DVD player. The Library keeps the top 100 movie of all time at the front desk. But of course, you didn't come to NY to stay in doors, but to see New York!!! The hotel is close to a lot of attractions, including Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza , Broadway shows and Grand Central Station, so you can use the metro quickly and easily to get those attractions that are father away .

I do have this one comment: the late evening staff did not seem as knowledgeable as the morning staff. Twice I called the front desk with a issue, one regarding my non-working remote and the other regarding getting more of the delicious small box of chocolates. The late night staff member didn't know where any extra remotes were and said he would inquire in the morning. I received the same reply when asking about the chocolates. Sure enough, in the morning, I received a call or a note regarding what I had ask the late night staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We both love books, so the idea of staying in a library-themed hotel appealed, but the reality was even better.
Because every room is themed around a different book topic, it feels unique and personal. Our room (deluxe) had plenty of space for us plus everything one could possibly want in a hotel, even an umbrella in case of rain! The bathroom was spotless and well equipped; I usually have a moan about hotel showers, but here it was perfect.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and they even provided gluten-free toast and bagels. There was complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon, and excellent coffee is available 24 hours a day!
All of the staff seemed genuinely friendly and were always ready to help. Finding a bottle of Prosecco and some chocolates in the room to help us celebrate our anniversary was a lovely surprise.
The location is perfect, in Midtown Manhattan, one block from Grand Central Station and the subway, and walking distance from many attractions. And when we had had enough of sightseeing in the heat, we could go back and relax with a coffee (or some wine) in the peaceful, book-lined Reading Room, looking down at the busy NY streets.
We had a fantastic stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing