We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Calm in the city.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love New York; it's vibrant, bustling and as the cliche goes, it's the city that never sleeps. That's why The Library is the perfect choice for somewhere to stay slap bang in the middle of Manhattan. We stayed two years ago and the service was superb then. It still is. Billy at reception was so helpful and epitomises the exceptional customer service which is the Library's trademark; that and the books of course! I was wished a happy birthday as soon as we arrived and enjoyed chocolates and Prosecco in the room. Ok, so this isn't a difficult think to do, but this is the kind of attention to detail so often overlooked, especially in city hotels where your custom can easily be taken for granted. The rooms are small, but oh are they perfectly formed! We will be back in the Spring and I can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
524
2,214
387
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here at the end of May for 4 nights. This is a charming hotel with very high standards of customer service. The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and polite. Because a concierge stands by the door greeting visitors and guests all the time, I felt that the hotel was very secure. The room was really comfortable and cosy with an immaculate bathroom, something I always look for as important. The breakfasts were simple but delicious with lots of fresh fruit and a good choice of cereals and pastries. And the early evening wine and cheese was very welcome - I noticed that tea, coffee and juice is available in the dining room outside of meal times. The Library Hotel is truly a haven in the heart of Manhattan, a really good central base from which to explore the delights of New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RushHourSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I took my teenage daughter to the Library Hotel for her first trip to NY - it was the perfect choice. It's Midtown location makes it easy to go uptown to Museums, Central Park & dept stores like Bloomingdales.....& easy to go downtown to the fashionable Soho, Chelsea etc. We used the bus often which stops outside the hotel -but mostly we walked!
The staff at the Library are faultless -really personable, helpful & professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Library Hotel is a delightful breath of fresh air in the hustle and bustle of Midtown Manhattan. Quiet and unassuming, yet elegant and beautiful, this hotel has it all. From amazing, first-class concierge services, to extremely clean and well-kept rooms, staying at The Library Hotel was a vacation within a vacation. After a long day of sightseeing, it was simply wonderful to come back to a place that felt like home. My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary and this hotel was the perfect way to do it. We took advantage of the wine/cheese happy hour and the rooftop bar. When I told my husband about the wine/cheese happy hour he told me that there must be some catch. We decided to try it out and we were so impressed. It was such a relaxing way to start our evenings out. The service was OUTSTANDING at the happy hour. If you are heading to NYC, give The Library Hotel a try. You will not be disappointed! P.S. I read many reviews labeling the rooms as very small. Please note that we stayed in a Junior Suite and it was a great size. Not too small for a couple at all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shopperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On arrival at The Library Hotel my travelling friends said to me "do you think they have mistaken us for celebrities?" we could not believe the warm and friendly welcome by all the staff and our room was delightful. It was only on our 2nd or 3rd day that we realised all guests were treated the same way. It seemed nothing was too much trouble and we could not have been happier. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning and our late afternoons after a full day sightseeing would find us enjoying a glass of wine with cheese and nibbles offered every day in the Library Room. The rooftop bar was amazing with incredible views over 41st Street and Maddison Avenue. The location just around the corner from Grand Central Station suited us so well too for easy access to the subway. The staff at the front desk also happily arranged our tours and were great at giving helpful information. I would not think of staying anywhere else on my next visit to this amazing city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a great view over 41st Street all the way up to the NYC Library and up and down Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Let me begin by saying I only visited for one evening and did not have a chance to really explore the hotel and all that it has to offer. The hotel is extremely close to Grand Central Station which was convenient for my travel plans. It is within walking distance (15-20 min) of many attractions or a fairly short cab ride. Jessica at the front desk was very welcoming, offering to store our things while we waited for our room to become available and assisted with Subway directions. We appreciated her helpful and kind attitude! We arrived back at the hotel later and were given our keys. The reservations staff emails you when you initially book a reservation to offer assistance. At that time had I requested an upgrade however I never received a response and when I entered the room and the door nearly made contact with the bed i realized it likely was not available-oh well. The Manager did sent a box of chocolates with a personalized note-nice touch. The room overlooked an office building and windows were small. Paired with the tiny room size it felt rather claustrophobic. Our main issue with the room however was the pluming. The very first time we flushed the toilet it overflowed. We called to have it checked out and upon returning later we flushed again and water spewed everywhere. We also attempted to check out the hotel rooftop lounge however it was closed for a private event. Another disappointment. In a matter of personal opinion there are better options around the area for the price you pay. Nonetheless the service was outstanding, property charming, and location prime. On the fence regarding a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemisstravel3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana B, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear littlemisstravel3544,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Whether it’s only for one night or for six nights, we want the Library Hotel to be a home away from home for all of our guests and I’m so disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

I was deeply embarrassed to discover that we did not follow up on your email. Our guests’ requests are very important to us, which is why we offer immediate assistance when you receive your reservation confirmation. It’s very uncommon that an important email such as yours would fall through the cracks. Regretfully, we failed to respond and for this I am extremely sorry. I can appreciate how trying it can be for a traveler to reach out to a hotel and not receive an answer. I’ve shared your review with our Reservations Manager and the entire Front Desk to emphasize how important communication is with our guests and to ensure that each email request is acknowledged immediately.

I would also like to send my apologies for the plumbing issues. We always prefer to send someone from our maintenance team to check the plumbing but because your issue happened late in the evening, he had left for the day. After you notified the Front Desk, we sent our bellman to your room to try and fix the issue. He informed me that when he left your room, he truly believed that everything was working correctly but it is now clear that it was not. I’m mortified that you still experienced problems when you returned to your room. Our Front Desk should have checked in with you to confirm that your service request was resolved to your satisfaction, but again, we failed to do so and I sincerely apologize for this. I will make sure that every shift manager immediately follows up on all service requests and if the issue cannot be resolved right away, it is handled first thing in the morning when the maintenance team gets in.

Since you work in the hospitality industry, you know how important feedback like yours is for a hotel. We certainly appreciate the compliments on our outstanding staff and we will work tirelessly to improve our service follow up. I truly hope you will give us another chance, perhaps for a longer stay, so that we may show you what Library Hotel hospitality is all about. The next time you’re traveling to New York City please do not hesitate to contact me directly and it would be my pleasure to arrange your stay. I can be reached at Ivana@libraryhotel or 212-204-5417.

All the best,
Ivana
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is a gem. In the busy city it provides a relaxed, calm atmosphere but at the same time being within easy reach of anywhere you would want to go. Attention to detail of the theme makes for interesting surroundings rather that floors and floors of identical rooms. Lovely breakfast selection and the evening cheese and wine is a great touch. Rooms are very comfortable and very clean. This is all due to friendly, attentive staff who will help anyway they can. They always have a welcome for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing