We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Library Hotel in July and had a great experience. The staff were more than helpful, they had a great continental breakfast selection and the location was perfect. The wifi was also very quick and it was nice having a rooftop bar at your hotel. Hope to be back there again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodievk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
524
2,214
387
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Jersey Shore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

From the greeting at the entrance to checkout three days later, it was a perfect visit. I had stayed at Hotel Giraffe, sister property to Library Hotel, several times, and my expectations were high. I was not disappointed.
I stayed in one of the Petit Rooms. It was very comfortable and thoughtfully designed to fit the expected amenities conveniently. I had requested a refrigerator, and it was running merrily when I entered the room. My room attendant was charming and efficient with a special request.
Having spent 37 years in the hospitality and casino industries, I think of myself as both observant and just a little picky. They have THE nicest staff I have ever encountered. And quite efficient as well. You can teach efficiency to people, but exerting charm while doing it is usually a trait someone either has or hasn't got. The charm fairy has clearly visited Library Hotel.
The included breakfast buffet is a great start to the day. I didn't get to the evening wine and cheese, but I will on my next visit.
I think one of the best characteristics of the hotel is its small size. The staff and guests quickly recognize one another.
And then there are the books. In the reading room where refreshments are served, in some hallways, in every guest room, the assortment depending on your floor. I had photography.
I'll be back in a few months, and I can't wait.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Library Hotel was awesome!

I had read all of the positive reviews, yet I still did not expect the wonderful service we got! It all started when we arrived at 7:30 in the morning on the red-eye from LA. We wanted to drop off our bags and start our New York adventure. However, when we went in to ask if we could leave our bags, they said, “Why don’t we just take them up to your room- it’s ready now.” What?? We can go to our room at 7:30 in the morning for no extra charge?? So of course, we took our bags up and took a minute to freshen up before heading out on the town! The room was absolutely charming! We could see out the window to the NYPL! What a great view! Others have said the rooms are small; however, we thought it just perfect for us! It was tastefully decorated (with a library theme, of course) and the bathroom was large and clean.

We also thought the noise was minimal and slept soundly all 5 nights. We live on a (somewhat) busy street in Los Angeles, so the noise didn’t bother us at all; in fact, it was much quieter than home! The breakfasts were wonderful and the attendants were super sweet! The only complaint I have that we were so busy sightseeing and touring the city that we did not get to take advantage of the lovely wine and cheese each night (we only made it once). Next time, I am definitely scheduling in time for the hotel. The sightseeing can wait!

It truly was the perfect place for us to stay. We can’t wait to get back to NYC for another great experience with The Library Hotel!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked this hotel for a business trip because my co-workers were staying here. I was more than pleasantly surprised by the hotel and most importantly, the quality of customer service. This is a quaint boutique hotel staffed with employees that generally care about their guests. The restaurant was also exceptional. Rooms are a tad small so not recommended for families but absolutely ideal for a couple or the individual traveller. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Around the corner from Grand Central Station and close to plenty of shops. Very relaxing atmosphere. We stayed in the Deluxe room, which was very comfortable and decent size. The complimentary continental breakfast buffet had a nice variety, plus great coffee. Served in a very pleasant room. Quite pretty. The staff was very helpful. My son's braces broke Saturday night, due to losing two teeth, the front desk staff was very helpful in trying to find an orthodontist that could help us. They were very helpful the entire stay. The only thing that could be better is the pillows. They were too high and it really bothered my neck. Otherwise, great visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineN146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location on Madison at 41st - handy for Grand Central, subway and buses. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room not large but well designed and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a nice buffet - not cooked but very good selection of cold foods. Very nice custom of having a wine and cheese reception each evening. Very good restaurant next door - you may need to book (its popular). And of course plenty of reading matter!!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone: they made our stay very pleasant indeed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank id_not_available
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love New York; it's vibrant, bustling and as the cliche goes, it's the city that never sleeps. That's why The Library is the perfect choice for somewhere to stay slap bang in the middle of Manhattan. We stayed two years ago and the service was superb then. It still is. Billy at reception was so helpful and epitomises the exceptional customer service which is the Library's trademark; that and the books of course! I was wished a happy birthday as soon as we arrived and enjoyed chocolates and Prosecco in the room. Ok, so this isn't a difficult think to do, but this is the kind of attention to detail so often overlooked, especially in city hotels where your custom can easily be taken for granted. The rooms are small, but oh are they perfectly formed! We will be back in the Spring and I can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing