We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How very special for this serious reader!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“How very special for this serious reader!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the Library Hotel because it was close to the wedding we were attending and it sounded like a nice boutique hotel in an area we had not stayed before. We have been to NYC many times and have stayed at numerous hotels...so our expectation was that it would be about average. But it was above average in so many ways!
Our first impression was terrific. The front desk staff remembered our specific requests and greeted us warmly. We had so much attention! And our room was a nice size (given the generally tiny room sizes in NYC) and had every amenity. But what I really liked was the emphasis on reading and books were everywhere. There was so much clever use of the book motif! We were on the 12th floor and that was dedicated to "religion", and we had books in our room related to the American Indian.

The only small issue we had was the continental breakfast. The room was a decent size, but the breakfast amenities were in a small corner which made for a bit of juggling as you had to squeeze past others with your coffee/croissant/toast/egg. But that is a small quibble given the kind and generous staff and the location which was excellent.

Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,133
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I spent just two nights at the Library at the beginning of August. Although the hotel is in a busy part of midtown, it always felt calm and relaxing. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. My Deluxe room on the 10th floor was lovely and again calm, relaxing and quiet. I suggest it is a good idea going for the deluxe queen rather than the petite as the extra space was appreciated.When I arrived there was a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine greeting me in my room. A/C wasn't noisy but it definitely was needed as the city was very warm indeed. The breakfast was great, a lovely touch with a good variety of food and drinks and the cheese and wine was fantastic too. Except it isn't JUST cheese and wine but plenty of other food and drink too. The hosts really are very generous and I do feel other hotels could definitely learn from the Library. The only slight negative during my stay was the rather patchy wifi but it really didn't matter a jot as every other aspect of my stay was fantastic. I wasn't too sure what to expect as I generally don't choose to stay midtown, but my stay at the library has made me question this for next time! I would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Aim high. I was on 10th floor and I did email before arrival requesting a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Morehorizons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in May for 4 nights! It was a great choice. We loved the hotel. It is in a very nice location! The staff were very helpful! The room is small but very nice and clean. The roof top bar is worth a visit as well. We definitely will return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XiaojuanYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and WOW! What a great place, indeed. To start off the bell service was so polite and helpful. They gave us a quiet room "away" from 41st st. and at a higher floor. Had a box of welcome chocolate from Leonida's (the best Belgian chocolate, in my opinion). Bathroom was big for a hotel in NYC. The big surprise is that when we came back after dinner, our blinds were down, soft music playing and the bathroom was cleaned again, with fresh towels. This place feels like "home". For me, boutique hotel is the way to go. But, make sure you read the reviews first because sometimes, boutique hotels can be too loud and uncomfortable (e.g. Lincoln Hotel, Chicago).

The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 star is because of the pillows. The big sham pillow was too hard for me and the other pillow available was smaller than the standard pillow. Nevertheless, I still had a good night sleep because it was really a comfortable room.

Don't forget the complimentary wine and cheese as well as breakfast. This location of this hotel is so ideal and is at the center of everything! Highly recommended, indeed. It was worth every penny we paid for. You also get discounted parking 2 blocks away.

We will definitely be back here….

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out it was really great experience.full breakfast every morning and great service all around. clean rooms which is always a plus.an stuff always willing to help. we stayed in one of the junior suites and it was perfect. we loved everything about this hotel. very pleasant stay. would be back here again. location is great. this place will be adorable during spring and autumn time. days that we spent there was very hot so we enjoyed with swimming pools. unfortunately no much entertainments for little children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding. The staff were all fantastic and friendly. We stayed in one of the junior suites (opted not to stay in the love room) and it was perfect. I love the feel and size of the hotel, and there was a great view of the New York Public Library from our room. Excellent amenities: Free wifi, free breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening, and a great rooftop bar. We are planning to stay here again for our 1 year anniversary.

Room Tip: Petite rooms are a bit small. Go for deluxe or better yet, junior suite. Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. From the location, a block from Grand Central, to the service, everybody there made sure we had everything we needed! Breakfast was fantastic! We never made it to the "wine and cheeses" part but I'm sure it was good too since everything at this hotel top our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DemandingTrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing