We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2009

To set the scene....!!! I am a picky traveller.... stayed at The Library for 4 nights in Jan 09 having done extensive research on Trip Advisor....

Liked the hotel very much. Comfortable room, well appointed bathroom, quality bedlinen and comfortable bed. Helpful reception staff.

Situation pleasant just off Madison Avenue and location very good as you could walk north to Central Park in 25 mins, or (south west?) a few blocks to the Empire State - you can see the top of the ESB from The Library. Hotel is right near the NY Public LIbrary and Bryant Sq, a block from Grand Central. 10 mins brisk walk from Times Sq.

We booked a petite double, but upgraded to a suite on arrival. All petite doubles are apparently opposite the elevator on each floor, so if you are a light sleeper, you may want to take that into account. That said, the rooms appear well soundproofed, just some street noise which you would expect in NYC. The higher the floor, the less the street noise should affect you.

We liked the breakfast and the cheese and wine buffets. All nicely presented and very fresh. There was also an Italian coffee machine or flasks of filtered coffee, pastries and cookies available 24/7 in the 2nd floor reading room,. A couple of times when we woke at 5am (jet lagged), we fetched a mug of coffee or tea to bring to our room; it was a very welcome facility.

Check out is by1pm. Sadly a late check out was not available (we had an evening flight), but we were encouraged to store luggage and make use of the cheese and wine buffet that evening even though technically we had checked out. Doorman hailed us a yellow cab to take us back to JFK, all very easy.

Happy to answer any questions if anyone wants to mail me.

We would most certainly return to stay at The Library again and would highly recommend it to others. If you take the complimentary breakfast and daily cheese and wine reception into account, we think it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank emmapeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,415 - 3,421 of 4,159 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

Stayed for a couple nights between Christmas and New Year in one of the Library's std room.

Can't fault this hotel - Ok, it's not a huge hotel, but has an excellent boutique feel about the place and very comfortable.
Our room was not big, but so well thought out that it is not really noticible. Bathroom in particular is really well thought through. Even though we were on third floor we didn't really hear any street noise (other than some unusually noisy delivery to a building being renovated opposite one morning). Room was clean, well lit, warm enough etc etc]

Complimentary brekfast was good - cerials, fresh fruit salad, pastries, fresh juice + coffee - not a massive choice, but exactly what I'd eat normally.

Cocktail bar on top floor is an excellent place to end an evening as well - cocktails are good as well.

All the staff are very friendly and can't help you enough.

Not sure if the restaurant on the ground floor was part of the hotel or not (I guess so as you could order room service from there). Not a great number of restaurants nearby (that we found), and we ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very nice although the wine is expensive (and they didn't have any of the cheaper bottles left - i just hate that, always so convenient - for them).

Location was excellent 10 / 15 mins walk from Empire State, Times Square or Macy's and about 20 - 30 mins walk to central Park or Bloomingdales. One block from Grand Central and the Chrysler building - it really couldn't be a better spot.

Would i go back? - absolutely no question I would, great value for money!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank aMid-aSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Our 5 night stay at the Library hotel was quite nice. I've never been to New York before, and was excited to stay in a manhattan hotel that was right in the thick of things. The hotel is located close to the New York Public Library and Grand Central Terminal, as well as a fair walk (20min) from Central Park. The rooms were small, but nicely furnished, I realize that space is limited in manhattan. The hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese every night which was delightful! Breakfast in the morning was also very nice, they offered many cereals, muffins, coffees, teas, fresh fruit, oatmeal and juices. There is also a rooftop bar/lounge which is very pretty. The staff was polite for the most part. Upon checking out we realized we had been charged for using the phone in the room. The staff that we initially dealt with in trying to correct this was extremely rude and told us "it was ridiculous for you to assume using the phone was free" and that "at this hotel, we don't NEED you to stay here, we get enough business as it is." Once that statement was said, an assistant manager came over to apologize and helped us with the bill. She told us that we were right in that it doesn't actually say on the phone in the rooms that there is a charge for using them and she quickly removed the charges from our bill. Other than the rudeness of the one desk staff I would say our experience at the Library hotel was excellent. I'm sure there are other hotels in New York that are worth checking out where they would be extremely glad to have you stay as a guest. I will never forget that desk staff telling me "we don't NEED you to stay here...". And that is very sad!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank JB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We spent one night here in a petite full room the day after Christmas. The room was small, but well-organized and did not feel too small for us. We paid about $300 including taxes.

The staff were friendly, the room was very nice, and the reading room was lovely. There is a daily complimentary wine and cheese reception in the early evening, which we were invited to visit both on the day we checked in and again even after we had checked out. (The hotel had held onto our bags while we were out and when we returned to pick them up at around 6:00 p.m., the concierge suggested we have a glass of wine in the reading room before catching our train home.)

The location is pretty convenient, as it is quite close to Grand Central.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2009Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

After making reservation online directly with the hotel, they phoned to confirm and let me know about concierge services. Never had a hotel do that before! I had them arrange town car service as my arrival and departure flights were both in the wee hours of the AM. There was a bit of lack of clarity as to limo pricing (roundtrip vs. one-way), but that is the only thing I can fault the hotel on.

I was given room 703 (Performing Arts). Very small single room. Comfy bed with nice linens. Chocolates and hand-written weather forecast for the next day (nice touch) on night stand. Bathroom was lovely; plenty of hot water; lowish water pressure at times. Two complementary bottles of water each day. Stocked mini-bar (no red wine, only white). Robe and slippers. DVD player; you can borrow any number of DVDs from the front desk.

Complementary evening wine and cheese was very nice. A white, red and sparkly (Proseco) option. Veggie tray, cookies, and crackers. All self-service. They seemed to keep it well-stocked.

Included breakfast offered boiled eggs, various breads and smears, muffins, pastries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit, yogurt, etc.

Front desk staff was always friendly and courteous.

Excellent location near many sites and Grand Central.

The way they do things reminded me a bit of Casablanca (also in NYC). $225/night on a holiday weekend deal. I've paid much more in New York for a lessor hotel with lessor amenities. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kirstenpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We just returned from a weekend in NYC and had a great stay at the library Hotel. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is in a great location to everything. They serve a decent breakfast in "the reading room".This hotel should be recommended to everyone, just having a staff that makes you feel welcome in New York gives this hotel a 10 in our book.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tellitlikeitis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We booked Library Hotel in june after seeing reviews on trip advisor and others, for our long weekend (thurs, fri and sat nights) in december from Scotland.

We were made to feel at home as soon as we entered the hotel, as the guys on reception welcomed us like long lost friends.

The gem of this hotel is the second floor library lounge, casual wine and cheese every evening and with continental plus breakfast served in the same room in the morning, it is a perfect place to either read alone or meet fellow guests.
My jet lag wakening on first two nights at 3am did not effect my stay as i could pad down to the lounge in my pj's, make a coffee, tea or hot chocolate and have a pastry and read until i felt like going back to bed again. (it really did feel like i was in my own house, standing at the window with hot chocolate in hand watching madison avenue continue to buzz below with taxis and people in the early hours of the morning.)

great base for just wandering mid-town. easy walks to shopping,theatres, library and bryant park christmas market during our stay, just round the corner to grand central and the metro lines to both up and downtown east side.
we booked and were given architecture room on seventh floor, cosy, quiet and beautifully appointed room with nice shower room (bath typically american and not big enough for a long soak after a days walking)
Madison and Vine restaurant on ground floor accessible from lift lobby of hotel, nice atmostphere and reasonably good simple food.

we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
503 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing