We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Cosy and elegant”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We had a great time in NYC! Stayed for 10 days and the Library hotel was lovely. Perfect location, small but very comfortable rooms and excellent service. We also appreciated the rooftop garden very much, especially since the wheather was wonderful during our stay. A highlight was Bryant Park just a short walk from the hotel. We would really love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summersnow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,213
    584
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
508
2,182
378
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I was a bit skeptical, as all the reviews made it sound too good to be true. But I was proved wrong.

The staff are unfailingly pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable.They were very nice to my brother who came in to wait for us while we were at the theater.

The breakfast is perfect, (especially the cappucino machine), and you can eat it in the second floor lounge (which has a nice view of 41st and Madison) or get a tray and take it to your room.The fruit salad was especially good and constantly replenished.

We loved the wine and cheese reception from five to seven and the little touches like the fresco on the stairs between the second and first floors.

The beds are very comfortable, and the room size is fine (we had a Queen deluxe).

It is close to so many things: Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Buiding , and the New York Public Library itself, to name a few.

We hope to come back soon.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RainGirlNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is another great example of a top-rating Tripadvisor hotel. We had not been to NY before and were bewildered by the huge choice so we selected this place on the basis of a) Tripadvisor rating and b) location. It's a great hotel and despite offering what seems like a 'no frills' service it actually offers far more than many other hotels I've stayed in. On the second floor there's a guest lounge which you can use at any time. It becomes a self-service breakfast area in the mornings, is available for tea/coffee & cookies/muffins throughout the day, and from 5-6pm it's a pleasant place to enjoy a complimentary glass (or two) of wine (or sparkling white) with cheese and biscuits. There are just a couple of staff in this area but at no time do you feel under-serviced. If you want to take a breakfast tray up to your room it's no problem. In fact 'no problem' could be the hotel motto. The staff you mostly interact with are downstairs (reception/porters) and they are courteous, cheerful and knowledgeable about the area. They clearly enjoy their job and you cannot fail to feel well looked after. There's free internet in the rooms (in my view it's almost rude to charge for this but many places still do) and there's a free guest computer station/printer if you need to print out anything (like Theatre confirmations). It's a hotel that definitely puts the 'B' into 'boutique' and after a week there we felt more like house guests. The bed was really comfortable and the pillows super soft.....the only negative I can think of is that the a/c unit in our room was a little noisier than some. Oh...and the library theme is also fun... we had a good browse through the books in our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is great. Petite rooms are small, it's a tight fit with suitcases but they are very clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We celebrated the birthday's of my parents at The Library hotel in June 2010. The hotel is a real gem, excellent service with a wonderful breakfast (unusual in New York hotel's) and cheese and wine in the late afternoon (regularly replenished). The room was small but perfectly formed with a good sized bathroom. My parents had a bottle of prosecco in their room on arrival to celebrate their birthday.
Hope to return there very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RulaRula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The Library Hotel was a great treat for true book-lovers! With the NY Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, and the Morgan Library and Museum only a block or two away, the location is to die for... On such a hot week, the complementary drinks and snacks in the 2nd floor lounge (open 24 hours) were extremely welcome. The wine and cheese reception (5p-7p) was a nice touch. Times Square and Broadway are only minutes away.

The room with the full-sized bed was cozy, but a bit small if you desire space to stretch out (I'd recommend the queen or king rooms). The room we had (fifth floor, room 4 -- designated 500.004 - the botany room) was quite nice, but a bit noisy for those who want to sleep in (it overlooks the street).

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILibraryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful. The rooms were very clean.Truly a convenient one .The hotel is a very large, modern hotel...lounges, restaurants, shops, etc.The room was extremely comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful which does make a big exceeding on our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JibinJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing