We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I admit, I was a bit nervous when I booked this hotel, since I had a petite single room and I heard they were very small. Not the case at all! Yeah, the room is only 200 sq. feet, but whoever designed the layout of the furniture and the location of the bathroom was a total genius. Talk about making excellent use of small space! Believe me, I'm a girl that travels with a lot of stuff, and I was able to lay out all my shoes on the floor, all my beauty products on the bathroom sink and in the tub. Space was never an issue; I was so comfortable. Everything was impeccably clean; pristine actually. The staff were so nice and gracious; they helped me with my luggage as soon as my cab arrived at the front door, and they immediately greeted me by my name. I arrived before check-in, but they kindly held my luggage for me all day until I got back that afternoon. And did I mention the complementary amenities? ... including breakfast, snacks all day, and wine and cheese and night. Wonderful. I adored the rooftop; I stayed for 2 days, and I was out there on both days totoally enjoying the great view of the city and the nice breeze... it was hot outside when I was there, but somehow cooler on the roof. As a librarian, I appreciate the Dewey theme of the hotel; it was creative and well done. However, you don't need to be a librarian to appreciate this Manhattan gem. If you have any doubts about booking this hotel, don't!! Book it now. You'll have the time of your life. I know that I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,166
    574
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
502
2,150
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

stayed here for one night on a business trip and found the hotel simply perfect - best choice ever in nyc. convenient midtown location, truly dedicated staff. small rooms with thoughtful design, everything, including the bathroom, was really clean. grand central, central park, fifth and lexington avenue are very close (the hotel itself is on madison). as long as they keep it in this shape i would alsways love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzrudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

What a find! We loved this hotel. It's in a super location, around the corner from Grand Central Station, a short walk to Times Square, and lots of great restaurants within walking distance. We traveled as a family of five, with three teenage/young adult kids.

The hotel was one of our favorites ever. The books in the rooms were fun. The rooms were comfortable, super clean and well appointed. Most notable, however, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the desk staff! We appreciated their warm greetings and helpful suggestions. This was probably the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered.

We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. There were juices and waters for the kids and nice wines, cheeses, crackers and fruits.The complimentary breakfast was better than we expected!


When we return to NYC, we will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askads1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We had a great time in NYC! Stayed for 10 days and the Library hotel was lovely. Perfect location, small but very comfortable rooms and excellent service. We also appreciated the rooftop garden very much, especially since the wheather was wonderful during our stay. A highlight was Bryant Park just a short walk from the hotel. We would really love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summersnow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

I was a bit skeptical, as all the reviews made it sound too good to be true. But I was proved wrong.

The staff are unfailingly pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable.They were very nice to my brother who came in to wait for us while we were at the theater.

The breakfast is perfect, (especially the cappucino machine), and you can eat it in the second floor lounge (which has a nice view of 41st and Madison) or get a tray and take it to your room.The fruit salad was especially good and constantly replenished.

We loved the wine and cheese reception from five to seven and the little touches like the fresco on the stairs between the second and first floors.

The beds are very comfortable, and the room size is fine (we had a Queen deluxe).

It is close to so many things: Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Buiding , and the New York Public Library itself, to name a few.

We hope to come back soon.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RainGirlNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is another great example of a top-rating Tripadvisor hotel. We had not been to NY before and were bewildered by the huge choice so we selected this place on the basis of a) Tripadvisor rating and b) location. It's a great hotel and despite offering what seems like a 'no frills' service it actually offers far more than many other hotels I've stayed in. On the second floor there's a guest lounge which you can use at any time. It becomes a self-service breakfast area in the mornings, is available for tea/coffee & cookies/muffins throughout the day, and from 5-6pm it's a pleasant place to enjoy a complimentary glass (or two) of wine (or sparkling white) with cheese and biscuits. There are just a couple of staff in this area but at no time do you feel under-serviced. If you want to take a breakfast tray up to your room it's no problem. In fact 'no problem' could be the hotel motto. The staff you mostly interact with are downstairs (reception/porters) and they are courteous, cheerful and knowledgeable about the area. They clearly enjoy their job and you cannot fail to feel well looked after. There's free internet in the rooms (in my view it's almost rude to charge for this but many places still do) and there's a free guest computer station/printer if you need to print out anything (like Theatre confirmations). It's a hotel that definitely puts the 'B' into 'boutique' and after a week there we felt more like house guests. The bed was really comfortable and the pillows super soft.....the only negative I can think of is that the a/c unit in our room was a little noisier than some. Oh...and the library theme is also fun... we had a good browse through the books in our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is great. Petite rooms are small, it's a tight fit with suitcases but they are very clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing