We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in the heart of Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the heart of Manhattan”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Library for six nights in October and we loved it!

Staff: very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful! They loaned us a cable for our computer and umbrellas for the rain. My favorite was doorman John who smiled every time he saw us – makes you feel special! AJ was also great. He helped us to our room and as I was fumbling for a tip, he just bowed out very quietly and quickly. I appreciate him overlooking my lack of tipping etiquette.

Room: though small, it had everything we needed. Space wasn’t an issue. My suitcase fit on the rack inside the closet. The room and bathroom had very nice finishes and linens. Wonderful hot water and water pressure.

Amenities: we used the second floor lounge many times, either for breakfast, wine and cheese, or just to relax, unwind, and refresh before heading out again. They had a good assortment of breakfast foods and beverages, all very fresh. I loved their cappuccino machine! They even provided paper coffee to-go cups so you can take it with you.

Location: perfect. The hotel is within easy walking distance to tourist draws but it’s far enough away so you’re not overwhelmed and engulfed by traffic and crowds. It’s also close to Bryant Park subway and Grand Central subway. Between the two of those stations, you can get nearly anywhere.

Cons: not many really. Yes, we did notice street noise from the 8th floor, but we weren’t really bothered by it. And there are less expensive choices on Manhattan, but you wouldn’t get all the wonderful things mentioned above.

We will definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,202
    583
    94
    24
    17
See reviews for
507
2,174
378
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is a good, but expensive hotel. The staff are excellent. The rooftop bar is amazing and quite a funky place for quite a formal hotel. The only weakness is breakfast which does not contain any hot food. Also if there is not enough space on the 2nd floor you're expected to take all your food to the 14th floor where there are no attendants. The suite room I booked was well equipped and roomy - although I've heard regular rooms are small. The ambience of the hotel itself is rather formal, but the rooftop bar makes up for it. The wine and cheese served every evening deserves a special mention - it was a perfect refuel after a 7 hour flight from London and set us up to explore a bit of Manhattan on our first night. Overall, a good stay with good staff in a convenient location - but could do something better with breakfast. If you stay there, I recommend checking out Moonstruck for breakfast - further down Madison Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Londoner016,

We are happy to hear that you find the Library Hotel & its staff to be a solid choice for the Midtown Manhattan area. We understand that we are not the cheapest hotel. However, we believe our pricing falls well into the average rates being offered in NYC, while providing a great deal more amenities than ordinary hotels such as free breakfast, free wifi, free gym passes and free wine and cheese receptions every evening. I’ve been working at the Library Hotel for over 4 years now and do not often hear that our breakfast needs to be better or contain hot food. Most of our guests truly enjoy it. In order to keep costs down for our travelers we plan to continue offering our current breakfast, yet understand and have noted that we have room for improvement in providing additional service on the 14th floor Writers Den & Poetry Garden when the 2nd floor Reading Room is full. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back with us very soon!

__ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Had a weekend getaway and this was the perfect hotel. The deluxe continental breakfast and thew wine / cheese sampling were great! Walking distance to many things.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slburse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed at the Library with my 10 year old daughter on a five night trip to NYC. The hotel is well positioned on Madison Avenue and, surprise surprise, Library Way which was a great base to explore the delights of Fifth Avenue, Midtown - and beyond.

The room itself was roomy and extremely comfortable, the inclusive breakfast limited in choice but tasty nonetheless, and the general ambience of the property was relaxing.

As other reviewers have said though, what really makes the Library great are the staff and special credit here to Ray, John and Lennard on the front desk plus the super-attentive ladies (sorry I didn't get your names) who run the breakfast in the second floor Reading Room.

Hopefully business will take me back to New York before too long and if that happens, I will be sure to stay at the Library.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisklopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our trip to NYC (for our wedding anniversary). The service at the Library Hotel is one of the best I've ever experienced. The staff is warm, friendly, efficient. We were greeted with a bottle of Prosseco in our room for our anniversary. We found the continental breakfast perfect size for us. The roof top deck was fabulous. We had it all to ourselves on several occasions. I was apprehensive when I walked into the room and bathroom and saw how small they both were, however, both are very efficiently designed. The tv is tiny, but we weren't in nyc to watch tv. We much preferred this cozy, intimate boutique hotel to the large, modern luxury hotel we moved to in lower manhattan for the last 2 days of our trip. We'd definitely stay here again. It is pricey, but we felt the service, perks (breakfast, wine & cheese, rooftop deck) were worth the price. Also, it's a very quiet hotel which we appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Library Hotel. After all the reviews my expectations were high but we were both blown away.
The staff are the friendliest and can't do enough for you.
We had a petit full room. It is small, but hey your in New York and if you've not been before then get used to it.......they are all small!
The layout of the room is very well done with all you need worked into the space available.
The other reviews tell you the theme of the hotel.......no surprises there. The reading room has drinks all day, wine and cheese at 5pm, (How civilised!) and breakfast in the morning. It is also soooooo peaceful. You forget your in Manhattan.
There are lots of reasons why people rave about this hotel but apart from it being a beautiful retreat rarely found in NYC there are too many to mention.
We will be going back and from two people who have stayed in NYC
many times, nothing comes even close to this one!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jays-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This is an odd review because I didn't actually stay at the hotel -- I live in NYC -- but I wanted to drop a note to remark how friendly and helpful the front desk staff were. I was setting up a scavenger hunt around the city for my husband's birthday last year, and even though I wasn't staying at the hotel, the staff were nice enough to hold an item as part of the hunt and give it to him when he figured out the clues that led him there.

I can also add that the location is terrific especially for visiting Midtown sights: near Grand Central and Times Square for getting around, near Bryant Park and the main branch of the NY Public Library, and near the Pershing Square restaurant (on 42nd across from the entrance to Grand Central under the overpass) for fantastic pancakes and breakfast/brunch with no waiting even on the weekends. The common areas of the hotel are also gorgeous.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nnovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing