We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great romantic ambience and cosy...an ideal city Honeymoon place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great romantic ambience and cosy...an ideal city Honeymoon place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Perfect location near city library and Grand Central. Helpful staff and very intimate feel. A bit noisy traffic wise...but hey this is NYC not a country retreat!

Great rooftop bar and cocktails...

Rooms good, very clean.

Breakfast and evening cheese wine good but not excellent! Coffee terrible...

Overall 9/10 for experience. We were honeymooners!

Back next year!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbluesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,133
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed in LH in March 2011 for 4 nights whilst sightseeeing in NYC. Superb from start to finish. Attentive staff, super clean rooms, quiet, convenient and the Cheese and Wine and Breakfasts to die for. Just a faultless stay and one I am loathe to recommend - I dont want this place to become too popular!! Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaphank, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed overnight in a Petite Single room and although it is petite, it had every comfort I needed to enjoy my weekend in Manhattan. The room was immaculate and the decor was sleek and well planned. It was great having the comfortable robe and slippers waiting as I was travelling light. The snacks, wine and cheese and continental breakfast were ample, delicious, and presented nicely in a room that made one want to relax. The treats went beyond the standard, with nice touches like packets of Nutella along with the standard jellies and whole grain bread and rolls.While I was enjoying the wine and cheese, the maid refreshed my towels and turned down my bed with chocolates. What a nice touch! I was able to meet my dinner partners up in the lounge on the 14th floor and enjoy the outdoor patio and when I returned from dinner was able to take advantage of one of the two computers and the printer to finish a bit of work. All these amenities are gratis. What I loved most was the fact that all this was executed by the courteous, professional staff. I love this hotel and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonaNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

A great NY hotel! You will be received as a guest, not as “a number” - staff care about you. They kept my luggage at no charge, gave me a free late check out (only one hour, better than nothing) and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgecrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

The staff is outstanding, rooms immaculate, breakfast wonderful, wine and cheese delightful and the location is terrific. This is a great boutique hotel and we have decided it is our new fav!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pb2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

I was very impressed with every aspect of the Library Hotel. It had a cozy and relaxing enviroment, combined with attentive and very friendly staff. The rooftop glass atruim is simply outstandingly beautiful and the rooms were very clean, comfortable, updated, and well designed. Most hotels I've stayed at in NY are either have "old charm" or are ultra modern, and the Library Hotel has the perfect combination of charm and freshness about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm beach, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Perfect cocoon for a business trip to NYC. Room was tiny, but comfortable. Access to the reading room compensated for small room size. Very helpful staff. Good WiFi access. Convenient to have breakfast and evening wine and cheese on offer in house.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing