We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFFORDABLE, CLEAN HOTEL IN MANHATTAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #319 of 468 Hotels in New York City
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AFFORDABLE, CLEAN HOTEL IN MANHATTAN”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend valentine with my hubby. I wanted a place in Manhattan close to everything. NYMA is conveniently located 2 avenues away from NY Penn & within walking distance to Macy's Herald Square, St. Patrick's Cathedral, The Rockefeller Center, Times Square, & other major attractions. They have smaller rooms compared to other hotels, but everything was well arranged. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The stay included continental breakfast, which most hotels don't have. It has all of the basic amenities and more. It is located in the Korean section of Manhattan, and surrounded by several wonderful Korean restaurants. Next door is an enjoyable Korean restaurant, ' Miss Korea'. It is close to the 'flower district. Would recommend this to visitors looking to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    1,357
    479
    109
    99
See reviews for
641
986
131
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a great place to stay in the heart of NYC & we really couldn't find a fault with it. We were allowed to check in before the allotted time, made to feel welcome & given a lovely room on the 9th floor. The bed was enormous and comfy, shower was hot and strong & the free use of the safe was a great perk. There was also a massive telly, fridge, microwave, coffee machine, iron & hairdryer, though the iron was never used!
The subway was close by and it was only a short walk to Times Square & all the attractions near to here, if you are jumping in a cab to get back to the hotel ask for the "Neema". Seen a couple of reviews about slow lifts, queuing for lifts etc. but we only had to wait a little around breakfast time & that wasn't really a big deal.
Breakfast, which is free, was fabulous & using a bagel cutter for the first time was a cool experience, this really is a great start to the day & saves faffing about looking for something to eat first thing.
Would recommend anyone to stay here & if we go to NYC again would stay here, thank you for great hospitality.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor before we flew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barefootedfotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I went to New York for a long weekend with my boyfriend and searched through many hotels before deciding on this one.

I think we made the right choice. Location wise, the hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from Times Square and subway stations are nearby. The room was a decent size with a large, comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with a very nice hot shower.

The temperatures were below freezing whilst we were there and I was concerned about the heating but had no need to be as it worked perfectly and warmed the room up very quickly.

The complimentary breakfast is definitely an added bonus. Fresh bagels and pastries, toast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and more.....definitely more than enough to prepare you for a morning of sightseeing! In addition to this, there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, along with a fridge and microwave, and a free hot drink machine near reception available 24 hours a day.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to New York. Oh and there's free wi-fi so you can tell all your friends what a great time you're having! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Peaches73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

if you need a base whilst you visit New York then this serves as the perfect place to dump yer bags and lay yer head after a hard day sight seeing, it is clean, safe, well priced with fair sized rooms. The rest of the hotel is a bit basic but for the money it is great value and right in the middle of Manhattan, it has been revamped since i was there so should be a step up from the basic i experienced.

Room Tip: Speak Korean as they own it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location is perfect, close to everything, good (and cheaps) asian restaurant in the same street, but.... staff was not that kindly, cleanliness was just "correct" and a terrible smell of cigarette in the corridors and our room. That was really good.. even for me, whos smokes sometimes..

Room Tip: lifts take too long, so try to be closest to 1st floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Nyma hotel had a fine location for a first time visitor and if you like to stay near Times Square. The hotel was clean, had good service and the very basic breakfast was pretty good. Free and well-functioning wifi. The only complaint i have is that the room was very small and it was very cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Se B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Found this after searching around for places in New York. Perfect, if somewhat random (Korea Town) location - short walk from Penn Station, the block next to Empire State & short walk to Times Square. This is the perfect place if you're using it just to sleep. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was basic but brilliant and exactly what you need to fill you up for a day of exploring. Just be aware - the lifts are very, very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,511 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,603 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#314 of 468 in New York City
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 468 in New York City
3,467 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
2,282 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing