We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 hotels over one week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #321 of 466 Hotels in New York City
NY
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“3 hotels over one week”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for one night, based on the best price available. The room was a double double, could fit 4. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee machine. Room and bathroom decent sized, and the heat was OK. Downside, sink did not drain properly, carpet old and I sneezed alot. Did not use the free breakfast. Location excellent, with lots of Korean restaurant and they have two large Apples for internet access. My third choice in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yapmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,363
    485
    112
    99
See reviews for
645
997
132
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights after flying in from LA. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of the staff. Although we requested for a smoking room on a high floor we were given one on the fourth instead. She was very kind about it and informed us that if we returned on the next day she would be able to help us obtain a room on a high floor.

Room is small-sized but clean, wasn't expecting to get a larger room seeing as this is New York. It served our needs well. From our window we had a nice view of the Empire State Building and the streets below, not really troubled by noise from the street as we return late each day. The hotel breakfast spread was also small but filling, just some bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit etc.
The bad thing was that there are only two lifts servicing so be prepared to wait a little if you're going to breakfast in the mornings.

Location-wise, it is perfect for getting around - about 2 mins away from the Herald Sq station, and a few blocks down from Penn Station and MSG. Shopping around the area was great. We managed to stop by Macy's almost every night as it was so close to the hotel and en route from the subway. Walking distance to Times Square and Empire State. The area around the hotel (Koreatown) is filled with Korean restaurants with a CVS and Starbucks close by.

Good wifi throughout the hotel. The tour desk was also very helpful in advising us on where to go/how to get there and also arranged transport to JFK b/c we had 3 very large suitcases. For the reasonable prices + good location, it was a good stay. Would recommend this to anyone travelling here for the first time as it is in the heart of Manhattan.

Room Tip: request for a room on higher floors to get a good view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmichw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My first stay in New York so can't compare this hotel with any other. Everything was alright. Room good. Bed comfortable. Cleaning service excellent, reception service ok although they couldn't manage two rooms on the same floor for us and we were spread across 7th and 11th floors. A few downsides - the lifts were extremely slow and only two so often needed to wait especially in the mornings. I thought complimentary breakfast was mediocre - yoghurts, juice, apples, bananas, hard-boiled eggs alternating with scrambled eggs, packs of cream cheese, butter. Various carbohydrate options of which I only tried the bagels which were like cardboard. It all felt a bit Aldi rather than Waitrose, and the dining room was hot, airless and usually crowded. The complimentary toiletries looked similarly cheap and not appealing. Hotel was convenient for subway and shopping including takeaway food (recommend Speedys on the corner of Broadway, the juice bar next door to it, and the pizza places). But West 32nd Street is subtitled Korean Street so all the restaurants are Korean. I couldn't find any nice restaurants nearby and had to go much further afield for an evening meal. I wasn't entirely happy with concierge service. We were sold a 99 dollar 3-day bus ticket for various tours which turned out to be a voucher that we had loads of hassle redeeming and lost one of our days. The concierge seemed uninterested in our problem once she had taken our money. Minor hassles I guess and overall good value for money.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room and found the fridge and microwave very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is my 4th stay in the past few years, and for the reasons that follow, possibly my last. Was surprised to discover that the complimentary breakfast has deteriorated. Hard-boiled eggs are no longer a daily menu feature. Also no longer available as part of the breakfast service: lids for the coffee cups (how do you take a coffee to your room?) and cream for the coffee. Sure, just small things. But they add up and reflect creeping meanness.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ronald53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at the Nyma for a week in February. The staff is correct and the bedroom was very comfortable, plus we had a great sights from our window to the empire state building. The location of this hotel is absolutely strategic, within walking distance to the times square, Penn station, MSQ, the empire state building and many other tourist attractions and it is near several subway stations that will take you almost anywhere in the city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable, centric hotel for a reasonable price in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel around 10:30 p.m. last Saturday evening to be told that our room was unavailable due to flooding. Were sent to a sister hotel uptown with a discounted room to accommodate our inconvenience. Arrived Sunday morning and explained to Mirella at the desk how we had been sent elsewhere due to the flooding. She apologized profusely and upgraded our room to a deluxe since we were staying 5 more nights. The deluxe room had a view, a fridge and microwave as well as lots of space. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. A few minutes after we arrived in the room, a bottle of wine was delivered. Obviously, Mirella takes her job very seriously and it was much appreciated. What could have been a negative experience, certainly wasn't. The Nyma is located between 5th and 6th Ave a short walk from Penn Stn. Easily accessible. Breakfast was better than hotels in its class and the room was very quiet. No complaints at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TorontoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The NYMA in my view is a very good and affordable hotel. The location is great being only one block away from the Empire State and two blocks from Macy's. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast good. I would recommend this to many people.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 466 in New York City
2,526 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#308 of 466 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 466 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 466 in New York City
3,493 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing