We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Such a great hotel. Nothing bad about it other than that its missing something. Maybe a gym or pool, but other than that the location is great! Room was super clean and beds were so comfy. I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliettecatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    1,330
    463
    104
    96
See reviews for
624
965
128
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The NYMA (part of the Apple Core chain of hotels) is a pretty basic hotel. Rooms are clean, but mostly on the smaller side, and can get mildly claustrophobic if you like large rooms with lots of windows and natural light. The hotel has a dining area tucked away on one of its lower floors, which is functional only during breakfast. But then, you're in mid-town Manhattan. There's no excuse to eat your meals in a hotel coffee shop or in your room, when every conceivable manner of cuisine is available within a few blocks of the hotel at varying budgets. In fact, the only reason why you should pick this hotel is that you have a clean and safe room to sleep in and a basic, hearty, breakfast.

The staff is courteous (though I wouldn't call them friendly) and mostly efficient. This hotel's USP is, really, that it's cheap and clean, and, of course, location-location-location. It can't be beat. For reference, see the photo that goes along with this review. It's the view you see just as you exit the hotel doors.

All in all, great place to stay in if you're visiting NYC on a budget / or travelling on business. In case the NYMA is out of room, folks should also try the other Apple Core hotels (all located in and around mid-town Manhattan). In case you're a smoker, try the Hotel @ Times Square, which has a smoking floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_adinterim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at The NYMA as part of my honeymoon, and was quite impressed with the service we received. The hotel is in a good location in the heart of Korea Town, just moments away from Macy's, the subway and the Empire State Building. The hotel itself is a strange mixture of modern and outdated - the lobby area is beautifully furnished, but our room was a little more dated. It did, however, serve its purpose, so we couldn't complain!

The room was clean and had all the amenities required. We did have a small problem with the drain in the shower not clearing properly, but the reception staff had that sorted very quickly. The breakfast offered is okay - not particularly special, but definitely welcomed before a long day sightseeing. If you're flying from Europe, I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the jet lag - we went for breakfast most mornings between 6:30 and 7:00am and it was really quiet.

The only small thing that spoiled the end of our stay for us was that we booked a car to go to the airport as we had an incredibly early flight out, and paid a deposit for the service to the hotel concierge. The car didn't arrive on time, and the overnight reception staff really didn't seem to care. In the end, we just jumped in a cab. I appreciate that it wasn't the reception staff's fault that the car hadn't arrived, but a little more concern or attention would have been appreciated given that we had paid the NYMA our deposit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. All the staff seemed courteous and helpful. The Beds were very comfortable or I might have been extremely tired! The hotel was quiet. Breakfast was just ok. The room was adequate for the abundant New York tourists. Great price made the stay even more desirable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank svteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level Contributor
833 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked this hotel after a great amount of research and once more, Trip Advisor did not disappoint! I stayed for 10 nights. 6 nights were booked through booking.com (cheaper). As I decided to stay longer, I reserved at the hotel but got a higher rate (only logical as it was not in advance). No frills.
The hotel as a whole is spotlessly clean. Modern. Recently refurnished and renovated apparently. It belongs to the Apple Core chain. It has some sister hotels in New York, one of them being La Quinta, on the same block across the street. The lobby features eco friendly design elements. Free 24 hours fitness room.

Location: Mid town location, very good for exploring NYC. On 32nd Street between Broadway & 5th Avenue. 2 blocks away from the Empire State Building & Macy’s and 4 blocks away from Penn Station & Madison Square Garden. Less than a block from the nearest Subway station. Located within Korean Way. Surrounded by lots of restaurants, Asian supermarkets (opposite the hotel), pizza restaurants, Mc Donald’s and Wendy’s on the 5th Avenue, gifts and souvenirs shops on the corner (by far the best prices in the city). The hotel is easy to reach from JFK Airport by subway. La Guardia airport is reachable using the subway on 33rd Street as well. Directions provided on the hotel official website are excellent. Photos on the same website are true to life.

Rooms: Well-equipped. Comfy & Spacious. Quiet. Include a microwave, a mini fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent air conditioning. Flat screen TV with many channels. A desk. Good quantity of plug sockets. Iron and ironing board. Safe in each room.

Bathroom: Includes toiletries. Bathtub. Hair dryer.

Breakfast: Complimentary! Excellent array of choices! Unlimited pancakes, waffles, syrup, different types of bagels and muffins as well as other pastries, cereals, yogurt of different flavours, delicious orange and apple juice, coffee, milk (both skimmed and regular), butter, two different flavours of marmalade, scrambled and boiled eggs, fresh bananas and apples. Served from 6:30 to 10:00 a.m. Continuous refilling.

Staff: some of the people speak Spanish in the front desk. ALL the staff is excellent! I consider it is the hotel’s main strength. Accommodating, warm, polite, courteous, helpful, ready to assist guests in all their needs. Knowledgeable. Thank you Alexra & Darima for everything! Thank you Nelson for pampering me with your delicious scrambled eggs prepared with love! Excellent customers’ service! Congratulations!!!

Good free Wi-Fi all through the hotel. Two Apple computers and a printer for guests’ use.

Concierge: excellent service. Thanks Christine for everything!

A plus: free Colombian Coffee, hot chocolate, cold & hot water, cappuccino of different flavours on the first floor in an excellent mezzanine lounge area to chill out after an exhausting day visiting the Big Apple!

To be improved: two elevators are not enough for the number of guests the hotel has and it is true they are painfully slow. The breakfast room should be a bit bigger.

All in all, an excellent relationship Price- Quality in overpriced New York.

Wouldn’t hesitate in both recommending and using this hotel again. I had a lovely time in New York. I owe part of it to this hotel. A BIG thank you to ALL the staff for everything! Thanks Nyma a lot!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marekting & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Betilu,
We truly appreciate your kind and detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in New York. We do wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the elevators. They do tend to get a bit slow especially during busy hours of the day.
We hope to see you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Pulling up I was worries however walk though the door your mind is at ease. Air con, clean and welcoming staff. The room was perfect for the price and the central location. Really close to macys, Empire State and jump on trains. The breakfast was simple but really nice. Fresh breads, bagels, muffins, eggs, pancakes, waffles fresh fruit, tea/coffee. Perfect. Would recommend it to everyone. Have a really handy tourist information desk at the front which will help book anything for you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kadie27,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as we use it to better our services but we especially appreciate thoughtful reviews like yours.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We needed a place for a two night stay in close proximity to Madison Square Garden. NYMA fit the bill perfectly. Neat, modern, clean, but no frills. Hotel staff was friendly & helpful. They did have a very nice breakfast in the morning with an array of choices-better than the usual coffee and cold Danish. There were only a few negatives: elevator was painfully slow, the shower had no place for steam to go and on our second night, very hot air was blowing through the bathroom vent at an alarming rate. Since it was the middle of the night, I stayed awake for quite awhile on "fire watch". Don't ask me why I didn't just call down to the front desk.....for some reason I had the impression that it wasn't manned all night. I cannot confirm this, though. All in all, a decent place to stay for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellanonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing