We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experinece Ever - By Far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #325 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experinece Ever - By Far”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

By far the worst hotel service I have ever experienced. All the staff were exceptionally rude an unprofessional. The cleaning staff and management were the worst. The cleaning lady walked in twice while my girlfriend and I were in the shower - proceeded to open the bathroom shower curtain and wouldn’t leave when we told her to get out of the bathroom. She finally walked out of the bathroom and we thought she left, only to find out that she was still in the room and then decided to come back into the bathroom for a second time. Again opening the shower curtain. (She had a cell phone in her hand and may have been taking pictures. She would not show me the phone when I asked her to see it.) I had to walk out of the bathroom without any clothes on and escort her out of the room. The room door was locked from the inside and the do not disturb sign was on the door. We later found out that she called hotel maintenance to open the door. When I spoke with the general manager (Rafeeq Mohamed) about this incident he said it was normal hotel policy and that nothing was wrong. He then started yelling and swearing at me. My girlfriend and I were so disappointed. If you are planning a on having a good time in the city avoid this hotel by all means.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakapudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2009
Dear kakapudala:

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay at the Red Roof Inn Manhattan! We addressed your concerned and offered you a compensation. As already discussed with you, the housekeeper knocked two times at the door and was told both times to come back later. When she came back at 3:30 pm, she knocked at the door but nobody responded. She also called the room to know if she could come, but nobody picked up the phone. Sometimes, locks jam and since nobody was responding, she assumed that this was the case and that nobody was in the room. As a result, our maintenance staff did come to unlock the door. She came into the room but as soon as she realized you were still in there, she apologized and left the room immediately. Our housekeeping department closes at 4 pm and you didn’t request your room not to be cleaned, so our housekeeper had to do her job and this is standard procedure to unlock a door when nobody responds in the room during the day as there can be safety issues (for example, a guest that had a medical problem and cannot respond…). We understand that this is a very awkward situation, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. It is unusual and regrettable, we did offer you a compensation you. Again, we are very sorry about what happened.

Regards,
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    1,374
    492
    116
    101
See reviews for
652
1,008
133
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano italia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

too noising!!! bad location, in corea way, a street full of korean restaurant, really noising during the night!
nice and big rooms, good servive

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milanox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2009
Dear milanox77:

Thank you for posting your review! The Red Roof Inn Manhattan is indeed located in Korea Town, just steps away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, the fashion district, Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. So the location is ideal for anybody who would like to visit the city! We are really sorry about the street noise, but as in any city, we do not have any control over traffic. As in all of our hotels, the rooms at the Red Roof Inn Manhattan have been insulated above New York City standards.

Please accept again our apologies for the inconvenience.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My friend and I stayed a total of 7 nights at the hotel and loved everything about it. We expecially liked the location and the wonderful staff. Our room was nicely furnished and looked like it had been recently remodeled.
Kermani, the counter man was really helpful and made sure our stay was pleasant. The on site bar and continenial breakfast was a great addition to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Our room was perfect. I got a rate of less than $200 a night and thought I would probably get a less than a nice room for this price. The business king I got was wonderful. It looks new, even in the corners :) Check In was fast and hassle free, all employees were friendly and spoke English. Our maid was very nice. The free breakfast was fresh and inviting, although crowed. The free WIFi worked every time. It was a $5 taxi ride to Time Square. Macy's and Empire State Building was right around the corner. We ate most of our meals at the local deli's, be sure to check out Empire Pizza around the corner, prices and employees very nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Location wise, the Red Roof Inn in Manhattan is perfect. Room was quite boxy, but by NYC standards has to be considered spacious.
Clean, basic and comfortable, great wifi fast internet connection in the room for free. Would go there again
Only one thing is not that great: the breakfast room is too small, not enough tables for all the customers, food was quite ordinary, not bad, but ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2009
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. The rooms at our hotel are similar in size to most hotel rooms in NYC. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear that you found them a little small. Besides, our breakfast is complimentary and includes lots of food to start your day (cereals, fruits, orange and apple juice, bagels…). We are sorry to hear that you found it ordinary. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at the Red Roof Inn Manhattan!
With warm regards
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Had a great stay at this hotel. The staff (especially Kerman) were responsive to any request. The room was great and location very convenient. Will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristintraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Made a search at Tripadvisor by ranking, selected this hotel based on location and recommendations. On a hotel web-site I found a good offer, so overall it has been the very good ratio between price and quality.
As mentioned by others the location is perfect, it is easy to walk around / to travel by subway. Other comments:
- MVP Bus leaves for DC in front of Penn Plaza, 7 mins walk, arriving same place. We checked-out, left luggage (for free, only tips) at the hotel before bus. Then in a few days we returned back, had a few hours before flight so I decided to go to the hotel and ask them storing the luggage again. It worked perfectly, only a few dollars was asked to be paid. Very convenient.
- we stayed at the 17th floor, no really noise from outside, have to admit that you can hear all the time elevator and ventilation noise, not killing at all, but for very sensitive person ask a room at least next corner after elevator.
- when we checked-in a receptionist didn't look very friendly, but when checked out and next visit storing luggage - other receptionists were OK
- breakfast is simple, but fresh
- wi-fi worked well on iPod
- room was big enough, cleaned daily
- announced free calls within the US (didn't try though)

I would say it's good 3 stars hotel by European measures. Certainly recommendened to others.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible. It is very important to us to maintain high quality and standards and to provide great guest experience and value at the Red Roof Inn Manhattan. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced at the time of the check-in. The Red Roof Inn Manhattan is a neat and friendly hotel that offers exceptional value for people on a budget and that is affordable for a centrally located NYC hotel with all the amenities it offers (complimentary breakfast, free Wireless Internet Access, free calls within the US, Fitness Center, flat screen TVs, in-room coffee makers…). Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at the Red Roof Inn Manhattan!
With warm regards
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,546 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 466 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#313 of 466 in New York City
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#243 of 466 in New York City
2,315 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#281 of 466 in New York City
3,530 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing