We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #33 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here last week for a long weekend. As other reviewers have said, this hotel is an oasis in the middle of the hustle & bustle of the the city. Located directly on the south end of Central Park between 5th & 6th avenues, it is in a great location - walkable to Park Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center & and even Times Square (although that might be a bit long for some). Easy subway access, too. We paid extra for club level access - thoroughly worth it when you consider all of the food and drink offerings. For example, my cocktail in the Hotel's lounge was $18 but was free when I ordered it in the Club. The hotel gym, though not large, is adequate. Only 4 treadmills;however, there was never any one else in the facility. The concierge desk was extremely helpful & friendly - they appeared very busy most of the time. No real complaints at all. We had friends staying in a hotel next door & they couldn't sleep one night because of a thunderstorm that went through. Not an issue at all at the Ritz. Very good insulation & the our cooling system ran almost constantly providing a white noise. We stayed 3 nights at the Peninsula (on 5th Avenue) 6 months ago. Their hotel & rooms seemed very comparable to the Ritz but my husband & I felt that the staff at the Rtitz just seemed a notch above the Peninsula.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlubenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    226
    89
    35
    19
See reviews for
369
554
60
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanning, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Perfect location right by Central Park (we had a view from our room) and also close to most of the other tourist attractions.
The hotel itself is immaculate with probably the most service orientated and well-trained staff we have encountered.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC, Beirut
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Ritz on Central Park is in a great location. The rooms are very nice, large and comfortable. Being across from Central Park and all the great shops of New York is convenient. We have also stayed there several times with our Yellow Lab and the hotel goes out of their way to accomodate our dog. They always bring her a dog bed, a bowl for food and water.

The Club Lounge is also excellent. They have a great selection of food and the service is excellent.

If you want to enjoy a great location, very nice hotel near all the shops and restaurants the Ritz is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Pick a Room with a view of Central Park--they are really amazing. I personally like the rooms betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Have spent both a couples and a mom/daughter weekend here. Pure indulgence. Expensive, but very special for a special occasion. The staff and concierge level attendees were fantastic. The level of service is exactly what you would expect from a Ritz. Five stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Make sure you get a room with a view of the park. Pay extra to have access to the lounge where you have gourmet free food and drink. This includes breakfast, lunch and heavy appetizers in the evening. The beds and linens are fabulous and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiewebbbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Friendly and efficient reception staff, they are truly amazing. It's a great value of of money. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very willing to assist us in getting around New York City and even drew a map for us. Beautiful hotel and great location!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The location is perfect but it is the staff that make this hotel. They are truly amazing. The rooms are magnificent and we were lucky enough to be given a view of Central Park. i cannot recommend this hotl highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,433 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 466 in New York City
1,461 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#45 of 466 in New York City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#41 of 466 in New York City
1,081 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 466 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing