We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
santurce
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great great hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stay because a friend was celebrate her daughter birthday in Eloise at the Park. Great experience. Service, ambiance was amazing. Highly recommended because they trick you like a queen. If you wants to have dinner go to quality meat. They have fabulous steaks

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    219
    88
    35
    18
See reviews for
358
533
58
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Spent four nights and enjoyed it a lot! I wouldn't mind going back, but I'd probably try somewhere else on my next visit to NYC, just to be fun.

Some notes:
- No digital clocks in the room... nice analog clocks for a change!
- Workout facility in-house, reasonably good enough and clean. No pool onsite, but access is given to a nearby gym at reasonable rates apparently.
- Small but beautiful elevators
- Only hotel that I have been to that has Opus One and Johnny Blue bottles available for purchase in each room.
- We had free wi-wi in room
- We had Club access and that is our favorite way to go at the Ritz. Some pros and cons include:
* Lots of food and coffee when needed
* Some flies on cheese
* Helpful and nice people / service
* Great breakfast
* Repeated menu EVERY single day... a bit boring.
- Got free parking with one of my rooms, but not the other. Would have been $65/day (!)
- Nice amount of pens, paper, soaps, and other useful items in room including currency power converter for international devices
- Choice of AM newspapers
- Extremely fair at checkout... anything we didn't agree with was immediately taken off our bill.

Cons:
- Horses hang out across the street and often lobby has horse-smell.
- Cigarette smell in EACH of three hotel rooms that I was in during my stay. After about 5 minutes in the room you wont notice it any more.
- Very few, if any, rooms with two beds in them...
- The employee's two way radios do not work in every room, causing delays
- In room safe is too small for laptop
- Welcome water was offered by front desk, but could have been helpful in the room instead.
- Requested to see if an upgrade was available at checkin -- maybe, but only for additional money.
- Do not even think of getting a room not facing central park in this hotel. Not only does it not face central park, it faces NOTHING. We moved out of this smelly room immediately.
- Draws are small in room
- Only one luggage rack in our room
- Relatively small rooms to other Ritz properties I've been to

Room Tip: Must have room facing or partially facing Central Park. Else do not stay here. Strongly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlvinMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My family and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Central Park for 5 nights in July.
This was our second stay and we simply couldn’t find anywhere else in NYC that we’d rather be!
We had 3 rooms in what I must describe as the best, most comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in. Everything was immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
The location is great, just step out of the front door and you’re in Central park, or around the corner to 5th Avenue, or a ten minute walk to Times Square.
A special mention for the concierge George Domenick who for me is the model of the perfect concierge.
Yes the hotel is expensive, but worth every penny. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingy_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Everything perfect during our last trip. Club lounge excellent and have to give special mention to Laza- a real character and great fun.. But all were staff excellent, friendly and elcoming without being in any way over th top. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in NYC

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlycastBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I LOVE this hotel. It is perfectly located, beautiful rooms, extremely clean, excellent staff and very quiet. I have stayed in many hotels in NYC and this is now my favorite hotel in the city. You can walk to many attractions from this location and there are a variety of subway stations within 1-3 blocks of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. If you are going to NYC treat yourself to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: I like the interior rooms because they are very quiet. Another traveler told me the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelExpert224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is absolutely fabulous in terms of location, staff and service but it appears to be deteriorating. There is no bar or hotel restaurant, although there is one that is currently being renovated. The general appearance of the common areas and the lackluster approach to details was truly unimpressive for a property of this stature and with this potential. The views over the park were truly incredible (request this and if available, take it), the rooms and bathrooms were spacious but it lacks refined service levels.

Housekeeping services were mediocre. The concierge did not fulfill my preorder. At the same time the help from the doormen and the front desk were impeccable.

Room Tip: Choose a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PC_expat_in_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

we recently stayed at The Ritz Carlton new York, Central park and i personally couldn't think of a bad work to say about it. on arrival our bags were taken for us straight up to our rooms which meant we didn't have too struggle with out bags in the lifts. when checking in the reception staff saw we where all tired from a long flight and got us all a bottle of ice cold water to refresh us. when we went to our rooms they where all lovely! they where all really smart and couldn't fault out room at all. we only had one small problem in one of our rooms and as soon as we mentioned this to the staff they couldn't be more sorry, moved us to a better room and gave our whole family a complimentary meal in there lounge.
most of the time there was someone on the door to great us and open the doors for us.
we needed to get from the hotel to the airport to catch our domestic flight down to florida, we mentioned this to the concierge and they ordered us a taxi and made sure it was ready for us. when we where getting into the taxi the door man put all our bags in the boot for the journey and wished us well on our travels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank king4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,061 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing