We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Address in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #35 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I was on business but quickly recognized that this hotel is the place to stay in NYC for any reason. Great service on the Club Level and in the lobby. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funandgames08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a trip into NYC and enjoyed the quiet of the Ritz Carlton. Our room was on 6th Avenue, but we were able to see Central Park. The room was spacious, spotless and serene. The service is impeccable. This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Yes, the nightly rates are more than many people pay a month for rent- but you get what you pay for. The expedia special rate with the club lounge access was especially appreciated. At many hotels a club lounge means some pretzels and cheap chardonnay. At the Ritz, it entails five different food and drink servings a day, all of which are arguably as good as any restaurant in the city. Every detail is absolutely perfect. How about a hotel that gives you a wood shoe box to leave your shoes outside the room door at the end of the day (in one case for me, at 1 am) and the next morning by 7am your shoes are returned polished and shined, complimentary? That's no exaggeration, and probably the most succinct example of what sets this hotel apart. And how about getting on the elevator to go to your room, and one day standing beside the prime minister of Pakistan; then the next day standing beside a very well known hollywood star? No trips out needed to see the famous folks when you are "in residence" at the Ritz... I will have to save more for all my future NYC trips, because after staying here there is no way to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msmithmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Stayed 2 nights for business (and had also booked for a client)

Very very nice - courteous at check-in, helpful in getting adapters (and toothpaste) up to the room immediately.

It happened to be my birthday - when I was IDd the bartender notice, and as I was having a beer she later came out with 5 mini-cakes - really nice touch!

Door staff can be a bit off - I was walking in wearing jeans and the guy clearly thought i shouldn't be going in!

Ate at the restaurant... delicious. Excellent (US-sized!) portions, $230 for 2 people, 4 courses, no bottles of wine but a couple of glasses...

This hotel is pricey, of course it is, but it v v nice and a nice treat. Also a great location, but since it rained non-stop, I didn't make it into the park... this time....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wols88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Fab hotel - fab location... You can't beat the location - accross from Central Park - Awesome staff, etc...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Our stay was enjoyable. We stayed at 21st floor, so it was pretty quiet, especially with windows closed. AC is a bit loud on normal, but quite bearable on "low" setting.
All the services and 'honor bar' are a bit too expensive (think $75 for a half-bottle of veuve clicquot, $3.5 for a bottle of ritz-branded water which tasted as tap water, or $7 for small perrier).

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank DennyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here again for 4 nights in a Club level Park View room - we were upgraded from a city view room, which was great. Perhaps it was due to the recession that the hotel was noticeably empty, which worked in our favour and meant that every need was attended to very quickly. The hotel also seemed much less frenetic and friendly. The food in the Club Level is superb and plentiful and it meant that our family ate there for every meal, which actually saves money in the long run. They have made the club lounge concierges redundant which does mean that the club is mostly managed by the on duty waiters which can be a bit annoying but all in all would never stay anywhere else in NY!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#112 of 471 in New York City
2,456 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#72 of 471 in New York City
1,529 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#60 of 471 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#87 of 471 in New York City
234 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#53 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £522 - £1,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing