We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge/service, but not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #34 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great concierge/service, but not worth the price”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The concierges at the hotel were great and went the extra mile to arrange dinners and shows. The staff was friendly and the service was great.

But I just don't think the hotel is worth the price. There just isn't anything to the hotel beyond the room--no nice, spacious lobby, no nice gym, no pool, no rooftop, no nightlife. The hotel is just really small. I guess you are paying mostly for the park location. I would much rather stay at the Palace (or even the Battery Park Ritz) for $200 less a night--the rooms are bigger and there is more going on. I had an interior room, so perhaps if I had a view of the park, my experience would have been much different. But they park views were full when I arrived.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crh436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    226
    89
    35
    19
See reviews for
369
554
60
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Despite being separated by more than a continent and six time zones, the Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park is very much like the Halekulani in Honolulu. Both are elegant hotels where service trumps everything else. From the friendly doormen to the security staff, you are made to feel like you belong there. The Ritz-Carlton rooms are spacious and warm and the location across the street from Central Park cannot be beat. Whenever you return from the fast pace of the city, you are refreshed by the friendly, relaxed and soothing atmosphere of the hotel. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed at the Ritz Central Park for 3 nights in April. This was our second time at hotel and better than the first. We were celebrating my daughters sweet 16 and wanted to make it special. This hotel delivers. We stayed in a city view suite, great option with kids. The suite is huge. It has 2 separate baths and a living room area with a pull out sofa for kids. The main bedroom has a door that closes off the foyer and living room. This makes for 2 rooms in one, very nice and private. The décor is outstanding. Both bathrooms are a nice size with tons of marble. We always stay at a Ritz Carlton when we travel and always choose an executive suite. This is the BEST suite we have ever stayed in. If you need anything from housekeeping just call and as soon as you hang up the phone there is a knock at the door with your request. The entire staff (Doorman, check-in, maid service etc) are top notch. The best service we have ever received. The lobby lounge was busy one night and we wanted to have an after dinner drink and some dessert, we were willing to wait until a table was free. The manager and the waiter arranged to set up a table so quickly, we were very impressed. The hotel also acknowledged my daughters birthday with a cake one night, very nice touch as well. The hotel also has a house car for your use. One night we were leaving for dinner and it was getting cold, the doorman saw us walking and stopped us and put us in the house town car. We didn’t have to walk too far, but again another nice touch. Be prepared to tip everyone, they really deserve it. The first time we stayed here was great as well, we had club access and to be honest we weren’t that impressed with it. The club is always a great option at the Ritz, especially with kids. This time we decided not to have club access and it worked out great. There are many choices for breakfast around the hotel. Just walk down 6th avenue, many to choose from. For dinners we ate at Ruth’s Chris steakhouse (Midtown) awesome, Capri in Midtown and Philippe Chow on my daughter’s birthday. Fantastic dinner near hotel. The best Chinese in the city!! For a special occasion or just a quick weekend away this hotel is the spot! They make you feel so special that you never want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed there for a night for free after finding that Marriott marquis have canceled my booking and they booked me this hotel for free for one night. The hotel is well known, I cant say much more, but the rooms are a bit small and nothing special in decoration, good bathrooms and excellent T.V offers and services such as DVDs and tv channels. Room services are brilliant and very fast. I would recommend this hotel for sure, for who likes to live a luxury life, but, I will not really pay 700 dollars a night to stay here. Nothing special in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aziz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This was not planned because we have 4 nights booked at Renaissance Times Square hotel, but because they overbooked, they sent us to this hotel and paid all the expenses.
We loved the hotel, the service, the room, the staff and the location. Everyone was nice to us and they make us feel good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

What a nice, serene retreat in the midst of a big, bustling city!

Gone are the formal, snobby days of old. The Ritz-Carlton now has the friendliest staff ever! It was quite a surprise and a treat.

The hotel’s location can’t be beaten for convenience because it’s right smack in the middle of the city and across the street from Central Park.

The room was superb, of course. Understated elegance. And our bathroom was huge with marble counters and tiles. There was a tub, a separate shower and a convenient light dimmer

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room overlooking the park and we had a telescope in one of our two sit-in windows. What a treat!

And high on the cute scale were the uniforms of the housekeepers with crisp white pinafores over black dresses.

Unless you’re rich, however, skip the room service breakfast ($14 for plain yogurt) and nip around the corner to one of the several walk-in markets nearby. (Well Green Market on 6th Ave. has quite a variety.)

Overall, it was a very relaxing and accommodating place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

The previous review say it all, The Ritz-Carlton Central Park is the perfect hotel for a New York City stay. It may not be the swankiest of the hotels but the personal service is second to none. From the minute you arrive you are treated as a special guest and are pampered by the staff. We had Club Lounge access as part of the package, which is as close to an all incluisive package as you can get. really good value and the convenience of not having to find places to eat means you can get on with being in the most vibrant city on earth.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,435 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#52 of 466 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 466 in New York City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#45 of 466 in New York City
1,081 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 466 in New York City
1,289 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing