We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #223 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel was just perfect, a haven away from the bustle of NYC and yet right in the heart of things, brilliant location. The room was ultra modern and clean, the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed here for 5 nights and were very sorry to leave. The cookies they deliver to your room at around 6pm are such a nice touch, we were rarely there to recieve them but they were left on our bed for us to come back to. There was no view from our room but this really was not a problem, we were out sightseeing all day and just needed a comfortable place to relax. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    293
    86
    46
    36
See reviews for
182
251
80
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent a night here over Labor Day weekend. 4 of us shared the "family suite" on the 5th floor which privatizes 2 rooms. Very clean and modern. One room had a queen and day bed along with a huge bathroom that included a bidet and an enormous shower. The other room had a king and a day bed and another huge bathroom with a large shower/tub combo. The room didn't have any view to speak of, but that was a nice help in the morning when the rooms stayed dark for sleeping in after a late night out. We were able to park right across the street in the Hippodrome garage which was one of the nicest and cleanest parking garages I've ever scene. I've never driven into or parked in NYC before so I was worried about security of the car before I went. My worries were put the rest when I saw a $300K Ferrari parked a few spots down. The overnight parking was only $35 with a hotel stamp... what a deal. 2 minute walk to Times Square, 15 minute cab ride to Battery Park, courteous staff. We'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontari, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just arrived home after a long weekend getaway with my family and can't say enough about this little hotel. Location was prime (5 min walk to Times square, steps from 5th avenue and Broadway, 5 mins to Rockefeller Plaza. Traveling with 3 kids in general is never easy and I really wasn't expecting much from this NYC hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was big by New York standards (we had the Double, Double Luxe) and the day bed was perfect - big enough for a teen! Beds were very comfortable too.
Yes, the lobby was small and there isn't a place to "hang out" there but who needs that when the Big Apple is at your doorstep.
Staff was extremely friendly and even found us a really good deal on a car back to the airport. Highly recommend for families or couples alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

As far as location, price, cleanliness and service go, this is a very decent property. While there's nothing extraordinary about it, it fulfills all the major "tests" and works well as a locale for both the business and pleasure traveler. NYC obviously offers better, but you'd be hard-pressed to find it at this price. One note... the view of the back courtyard is very humorous in a "Manhattan-view" kind of way (pic attached). Ask for a 44th Street view to avoid this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonParis416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I went last September and as I prepare to return to NY I thought I'd give this quirky hotel a review.
First off the location is fabulous, especially if you enjoy broadway. The hotel room was nice, view was lacking but tbh I would take the location over a view.
Wifi was spotty but at least complimentary. Food was good.

Impressed. Very boutiquey.

Room Tip: The mini bar is hidden behind art work on the wall. I didn't find it until 1 days before departu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstoomuch t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great Hotel and great Front Desk staff!. I booked my room via Hotels.com, and had zero problems. I did arrive early so my room was not ready (I arrived at 11AM). The Hotel staff took my luggage and held it for me while I went to the Financial District. Upon my return, I did check into my room. Is there a view with the room - nope, but face it, I got back late at night and basically slept. I wanted a nice quite and darkened room with a comfortable bed- which is what I had. For being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of things,,the room was INCREDIBLY quiet. The room was certainly not huge but was well layed out. The bed was incredibly comfortable with high end bedding.The room was on very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was surprisingly large. I would definely stay at the hotel again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbbyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

What a little gen this hotel is.. It is a modern hotel, clean comfortable and very nicely decorated. The staff were really friendly and helpful and it is located within 5 min walk to broadway. I booked one of the small rooms and yes the room is small, but very well appointed and has everything you need. Not a good room if you needed to work as you would have to sit on the bed to work. But for a short trip the small rooms are great value.

Great, staff, great location and very modern and clean is how I sum this hotel up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,218 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: 55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing