We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, eclectic and quaint. An oasis in the middle of NYC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #166 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous, eclectic and quaint. An oasis in the middle of NYC.”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk in you feel like you've been transported to a European chalet. The decor is eclectic and the staff is superb. Friendly and helpful, they made every effort to make our stay comfortable.

Conveniently located, this hotel is a short walk from Penn Station and major subway lines. The rooms are spacious, quiet and super clean. I was impressed by the shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser in every shower.

The only down side is that the reception, bar and dining area are all very small and in one room. Other than this, The Tryp hotel is truly a value beyond compare.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRYP Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that you enjoyed our "eclectic oasis". We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,857
    1,309
    307
    107
    79
See reviews for
1,408
979
131
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
koolchic_1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is the very best hotel I have ever stayed at in NYC. I travel here quite frequently for work and always choose a different place to stay. After staying at the Tryp, I will never stay anywhere else in NYC. The lobby is cool, hip and relaxed. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful! The rooms are simply amazing! The pictures are true to form...all of the floors in the rooms are hardwood, the bathrooms are sleek and modern. The bed was more comfortable than even my bed at home. Flat screen tv's, soft linens, plush towels, keurig coffee makers in the room, a great workout room, fast free wifi, extremely spacious accommodations and a delicious Spanish tapas restaurant in the lobby...what more could you ask for? The room, furniture, fixtures, common areas, etc. were all spotless, like new and modern! Not to mention that this was less expensive than the Hilton properties in the area that all seem to be run down and dirty.
If you pass up a trip to the Tryp you're missing out!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koolchic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The very rare hotel in the heart of NY that can accomodate a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids from 13 to 2 years old). The staff is really nice and warm. The decor is simple, elegant, practical and comfortable.
The hotel is very well located, it is within walking distance of known attractions.
We will surely come back to the same hotel on our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With today's economy, we understand how important it is to offer competitive prices, and we strive to make sure that our service value far exceeds that. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the TRYP Times Square South in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here and my room was spacious and clean. I did have an issue in the bathroom that was quickly resolved after speaking with the front desk. The location is good for me since I travel for business and can walk to Javitts convention center. But for the tourist it may not be ideal- a location more midtown maybe better. For the price, I find it good for my needs. I do wish they had more choices on their food menu, but being close to 9th avenue there a lot of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapetitemaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, that we could be a convenience for your needs while here in the city. We hope to "consistently" serve you well during your stays with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Walking from 8th ave to the hotel on 35th ave, seems scary but you are heading towards a police station that is just across the street from the hotel.........the doors to the rooms are heavy steel doors and they make a lot of noise when they close. This maybe a problem for light sleepers because you can hear almost any door close on the floor when your neighbors go in or out of their room......The staff at this hotel is excellent, Ben and Christina at the desk were especially helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms because our first had noisy neighbors, both rooms were very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
We really appreciate your nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel had to offer! We really appreciate the feedback in regards to the room doors being loud when shutting; I'll be sure to share your feedback with my higher ups. And I'll be sure to share your comments with Christina! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was my first stay at the TRYP Times Square South and as a former resident of NYC all I can say is WOW!!

The staff was most friendly & helpful and service was impeccable. The lobby bar/restaurant and rooms were well appointed and most comfortable. With a great location near Times Square and multiple travel options to traverse the city, this hotel is perfect and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with that "5" star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, Brazil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I travel to NYC every year and this time I made the best choice. TRYP Hotel is greatly located, the room was spotless and the staff is fabulous. The perfect place to reach the nice restaurants of Hells Kitchen, the rush of fifth avenue and the cool districts in south Manhattan. All that a few steps away from Penn Station (which means close to JFK using Airtrain + LIRR). Finally I found a NYC hotel worth going back. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felipepasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
The right choice indeed! We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#68 of 468 in New York City
5,030 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,291 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 468 in New York City
584 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#140 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing