We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,301)
Filter reviews
4,302 results
Traveller rating
2,119
1,536
386
149
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,119
1,536
386
149
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roompenn stationpremium roombunk bedspolice station next doortimes squarenew yorkmadison square gardenquiet streetempire state buildingcoffee machinegreat showermodern hotellarge roomthe high linelobby bararound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,191 - 2,196 of 4,302 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is average. The room rate was a little high for the accommodations. No room service. The restaurant is all small plates, no lunch or dinner entrees. Breakfast buffet is one price and nothing a la carte to offer. So I paid $17.00 for oatmeal and coffee. This was not one of my favorite hotels. It was very difficult to get a cab at this hotel. The door man had to run down the street, get in the cab and ride it to the hotel so I had to pay $3.00 before I even got in the cab. They should have a better way or have someone they can call. Walls are very thin and you can hear people talking in the next room as if they were in the same room with you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Location very good. Service so-so.

Breakfast was pretty decent- but somewhat expensive. Some flexibility of options for that would be good.

Room was small but non faulty. Can't complain.

Would recommend if you don't have a lot of money to spend and you don't want to stay somewhere eugh.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank benbenben1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

With 2 adults and 3 kids, it's not easy to find a room that is reasonable in price. Enter TRYP. Couldn't be happier we found the "family" room with 2 Queens, 2 bunk beds and a couch (which we didn't even need). Add to that a huge amount of space for NYC (table for eating breakfast, big shower with "rain" shower head) and we found ourselves very happy at the end of a quick overnight. So much so that the kids lingered in the hotel room for the morning. When does THAT happen in NYC?

Location was very convenient; 1/2 block from subway, 2 blocks from MSG, a quick 10 minute walk to Times Square and theater district (and no issues walking back at 11p with a police station next door to the hotel). We were right on the street and didn't find the noise to be an issue at all. (Note: It's NYC -- there is a general hum about the city but the room dampened all the noise so we didn't find it distracting at all.)

All this for under $200 for the room? A great deal for a mid-January weekend.

Highly recommend this hotel for families or anyone else looking for a little more space.

Room Tip: Family room (607, for example) was a great call. Street noise wasn't an issue.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twain34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel, well located, close to subway station. clean, stuff is very friendly, I arrived quite late and I was hungry, the front desk guy helped me with some advices for food, room is stylish and very big enough for what i wanted. plenty of lifts. lobby is very warm and cozy. Im staying again next week, and i recomend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franciscojpcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews