We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 6 with 4 teens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #165 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family of 6 with 4 teens”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A little expensive for us but very spacious "family" room and a great central location made it worth the cost did not have any meals at hotel. No breakfast included with room at this TRYP

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sdsumizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and you love the decor of our hotel. Indeed our Premium and Family rooms are a perfect size for girl’s weekend, bachelor party, multiple guests and especially large family. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    1,331
    313
    107
    79
See reviews for
1,436
983
132
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 20 people (my company arranged a trip to New York for our VIP retailers and I was the group manager). The reservation procedure was not the easiest with long delays in the communication and a lot of paperwork, for example signed contracts and photocopies of my credit card and driver's licence were required which is not normal for Europeans. Likewise getting the final statement after our stay was a hassle.

Anyway, when we arrived everything went smoothly. The rooms were large, fresh and contemporary and the staff friendly. Especially the bartender John was a really nice guy. Breakfast was also good and worth the money. The locataion is pretty central although the immediate neighbourhood is not very exciting so if you are after nice room views and hotel surroundings this is maybe not the best choice. It's however very safe as there is a police station in the building next door.

Apart from the tedious and lengthy booking process (probably not an issue if you book on-line or if you're not a group) I would definitely consider TRYP when I visit NYC next time. Very good value for the money by New York standards but the back office did not impress.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Schubi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience during the booking process. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great hotel...really super friendly front desk staff! Fantastic room at a very fair price (this is NYC, after all). Great breakfast the next day...

One little complaint, the AC in my room was extremely loud and started and stopped all night. Honestly, if not for the AC, I would have given the hotel another 1/2 star at least.

I'm back in NYC next month and I'm thinking of giving the TRYP's AC one more try...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with our A.C units. It's great to hear that our staff gave you great service and was always there to help. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friends and I paid extra money to stay in the samsung experience room, however the cable wasn't hooked up correctly and there was only 1 wii controller, so we couldn't play it. The television was set to spanish, so we couldn't figure out how to fix it. We went to a concert right after check in, so by the time we got back and realized that nothing worked, there was no one around to help us, the front desk was empty. Luckily, one of us brought a pack of cards. There was no popcorn maker or robes, as were advertised. The room was very clean, nice, and large but we felt that we'd been ripped off due to the lack of what we expected.
The next morning, we were woken by slamming doors at 8:30 as the cleaning staff went in and out of the neighboring room. I asked them to shut the door more quietly which they did for 15 minutes until the loud slamming started up again. It was about an hour and a half of intermittent door slamming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegPang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part. Although I cannot undo what happened, I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 212-600-2440, or Kimiller@wyndham.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Wyndham Times Square South.

Sincerely,

Kiana Miller – Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,085 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 466 in New York City
1,316 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#142 of 466 in New York City
1,068 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 466 in New York City
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing