We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location and very attentive staff”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here 2x in the past few weeks on business and LOVED the size of guest rooms which are fresh and new. The staff is very friendly and attentive and they go out of your way to assist you. Enjoyed the energy and buzz in the lobby and during one of my stays they even had some live entertainment and something I would have never expected in a smaller size property. Find this location to be very convenient to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and in the heart of the fashion district and close to Times Square. As a female business traveler I felt comfortable and safe in this area. The food is also very good and found there to be plenty of variety for appetizers and light dinner in the evening and not having to hassle or think about leaving the hotel after returning from a long day. I will plan on staying at this hotel again in the future when my travels bring me back to NYC whether it be on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotATL425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,830
    1,292
    303
    103
    78
See reviews for
1,385
964
129
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff in this hotel are great. They are very helpful and professional. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and although the space is limited, it's to be expected due to the location. However they are very good at using the space effectively. The room was very clean.
We found the exterior of the hotel very disappointing. The main entrance is located on a side street that was always filled with garbage and not somewhere we would feel comfortable walking at night (and we are very familiar with NYC).
The staff of the restaurant/bar were excellent, however we found the menu quite limited.
We were disappointed to discover upon arrival that even though we booked a room with a king sized bed, we could only get the queen because booking through Expedia does not guarantee the size of the room (only that you get a room). We were not advised of this previous to our arrival.
Otherwise the location to MSG and shopping, etc is amazing.

Room Tip: Confirm that you are actually getting the room you reserved; especially if you are booking through E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Please book directly through the hotel website in order to guarantee your room type. As well you can call and request a specific room type in advance. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. The stay was pleasant with some hiccups
Pros:
1. good location - 2 blocks from Penn Station and Penn station metro stop is in the same block
2. helpful staff - All the staff members were pleasant and try to help us
3. good room - we stayed on the 5th floor. The room was clean and the king bed was very comfortable

Cons:
1. Fan: the fan was next to the bed and every time it starts, it woke us up. I asked if there is any way to keep the fan on but the staff said the feature was disabled intentionally. I am not sure why they did. Only way to minimize the disturbance by the fan was keeping the room very cold like 65 so that the A/C cannot keep up with the temperature setting.
2. Paper thin wall: the room we stayed had a connection to the room next and we were able to hear every single thing. Unluckily we had to bear the children's screaming until 1 AM.

FYI
1. Initially we got placed in the first floor with a complimentary upgrade. The room in the first floor is bigger than the other rooms but it is very dark and slightly damp.
2. Our friend got 1501 - the top floor with a balcony which provided a great view. I would stay in 1501 next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Time Square South Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you during you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel location is very convenient being close to the subway and Penn station. It's also close to the empire state building and times square. Rooms are very nice and clean ( I like hardwood floors)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed with a family of 5 in a Premium Room. Options for this size of group in one room in NYC is limited but the price paid compared well with Hyatt Place/Doubletree Suites options. Main additional benefit was two bathrooms. Main weakness was that wooden flooring and furniture felt a little utilitarian.

Location was not as good as I would have liked......just remember that Times square starts at 42nd street and extends to 55th and beyond to Central Park so a long walk with the kids particularly in the evenings when we tended to draw towards Times Square and Hells Kitchen. However very convenient for Empire state building and Penn street subway at the end of the block for travelling downtown to the financial district.

Staff friendly. Computers free for printing boarding passes etc. Free Wifi....but slow and inconsistent in the room. Checkout 12 noon and $6 for 5 bags to be held for the afternoon so not complimentary. Didn't use the restaurant as dining opportunities within 5 mins walking was huge.

Overall a good stay..... but this is a 3 star hotel and offers solid 3.5 star product/service and therefore the good TA ratings. It is not a 4 star product even though it receives a 4+ star TA rating presumably on value. Next time I would try somewhere else......our stay was good but there are so many other options in New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights early July and loved it here.
Check in was easy and simple, we had lots of luggage after six weeks on the road and our hire car was parked out the front for an hour whilst we settled in. The staff helped unload and get us checked in. I asked for a larger room as we know how small New York hotel rooms can be. No problem.
Our room was HUGE by New York standards. The rooms decor is fantastic, modern and comfortable. Bed was one of the best in the whole six weeks of our trip.
The hotel is clearly new and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom shelving is limited, but I'm looking to find a negative.
We did have a problem getting a refrigerator delivered. Took a couple of days and a few requests. After much apologising, she wrote our room number down incorrectly, fridge was delivered. Free breakfast for 2 was provided by way of thanks for our patience, without us asking for compensation.
Happy hour at the bar is great, with good food as well! The free cookies or fruit and iced drink every afternoon is a great touch.
We definitely recommend staying here. Great staff, great rooms, great location.... What more do you want?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed! It also sounds like you great time. Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,961 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing