We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Clean, Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived in NYC around 11:30am, and did not expect to be able to have our room that early. I was wrong- room was ready and very clean! Front desk was extremely friendly and welcomed us. Although I had requested a higher floor when I reserved, we got placed on the 2nd floor. No big deal. Street noise was minimal. The rooftop patio was nice. They were not lying when stating how close this was to attractions even though we stayed out of the "tourist areas" Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    1,274
    300
    100
    77
See reviews for
1,371
953
129
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is simply awesome! Ultra modern, clean, dynamic and comfortable.
Stayed in a premium room for 3 nights (a couple + 4 teens). The room was spacious and very comfortable, 2 bathrooms (!!), good A/C, a mini-fridge & a really useful wet-bar.
Highly professional & friendly staff. We had some emergency during our last night and we got an immediate and exceptional assistance from the shift manager and the rest of staff.
Convenient parking in a parking garage across the street, somewhat pricy (~40$, but hey, this is NYC after all..).
Excellent location: very close to Penn station (there is even a subway entrance 2 minutes from the hotel), a few minutes walk from the most popular Midtown highlights e.g. Times Square, Empire State Building, Bryant Park, Herald Square etc..
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My research had to meet a number of criteria based on 1.Size of party, 2. Location for easy access to work and travelling around on foot. 3. Pricing. 4. 24 Hour gym. 4.Free WiFi.
The Hotel fitted all of these. We booked for 4 nights.The staff were friendly and attentive to all of your needs.
The Lobby area is small and can get congested if there are a few people checking in and out at the same time.

Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, had a drink at the bar which was cool.
I'm glad I have found the ideal place for larger parties. Have stayed at two other hotels in NYC in the past, one of which I had no problems with, but that was only for a 2 night stay for my husband and I.

Room Tip: We had a party of 5, my husband and 3 teenage boys, so booking the Family Room was excellent, it sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevel Mum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

this nice hotel in a quiet side street is always a good base to stay in New York City.
The subway only a block away, HIghline in walking distance, friendly personel, a bar that also offers little snacks as well as breakfast in the morning - simple but clean rooms - what more does one need?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ideal for a family stay in New York. We used this hotel as my wife had stayed here on business last year. It fitted our needs as a family of 5 perfectly. We have 3 kids, two teens and one 12 yr old. We found the bunks in the family room ideal and the small sink and counter area with coffee maker ideal for a quick breakfast before heading off to the sights! We enjoyed the complimentary cold drink in the foyer after a long day sight seeing. We didn't eat in the hotel but did have drinks at the bar. These weren't cheap but the service was excellent and the ambience in the bar/reception was just right. Staff were all good, concierge advise for restaurants and sites was good. There is a 7/11 locally so you can stock up on beers for your room and breakfast items if you want. There was a good bar/diner across the road where we had lunch upon arrival. Subway station is only a few steps down the road which was ideal. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for a family stay in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We hope that you will come back and visit us again at the beautiful TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here 2x in the past few weeks on business and LOVED the size of guest rooms which are fresh and new. The staff is very friendly and attentive and they go out of your way to assist you. Enjoyed the energy and buzz in the lobby and during one of my stays they even had some live entertainment and something I would have never expected in a smaller size property. Find this location to be very convenient to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and in the heart of the fashion district and close to Times Square. As a female business traveler I felt comfortable and safe in this area. The food is also very good and found there to be plenty of variety for appetizers and light dinner in the evening and not having to hassle or think about leaving the hotel after returning from a long day. I will plan on staying at this hotel again in the future when my travels bring me back to NYC whether it be on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotATL425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff in this hotel are great. They are very helpful and professional. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and although the space is limited, it's to be expected due to the location. However they are very good at using the space effectively. The room was very clean.
We found the exterior of the hotel very disappointing. The main entrance is located on a side street that was always filled with garbage and not somewhere we would feel comfortable walking at night (and we are very familiar with NYC).
The staff of the restaurant/bar were excellent, however we found the menu quite limited.
We were disappointed to discover upon arrival that even though we booked a room with a king sized bed, we could only get the queen because booking through Expedia does not guarantee the size of the room (only that you get a room). We were not advised of this previous to our arrival.
Otherwise the location to MSG and shopping, etc is amazing.

Room Tip: Confirm that you are actually getting the room you reserved; especially if you are booking through E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Please book directly through the hotel website in order to guarantee your room type. As well you can call and request a specific room type in advance. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,843 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,851 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing