We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #175 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel is very conveniently located, close to Penn Station (and train to Newark) and Port Authority, but the area is rather boring. I prefer downtown!

Staff was extremely nice. I was given a rather small room, but they offered me to change to a larger the next day (which I did not do, since I do not care about room size). Room was very nice, comfortable, and quiet.

But the gym was bad. Poorly equipped with no dumbbells, for example, and no mats. How difficult can it be to create a decent gym, when you have the space???

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Resmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 3,885 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Been meaning to write about our stay a few months back, but have just been too busy. We stayed here during March spring break, decided to try a few nights at the Tryp as it was an European name we had stayed in on in our previous travels.
FYI: To begin, the location is well south of Times Square for those expecting it be near Times Square. It isn't.More Macy's 34th St/ Empire State Building than 42nd street. So the name is very generous in location description.
Other wise, as for the hotel itself, it was very urban cozy. Nice small eating area/lounge/lobby bar with some funky live music early evening hour(had a trio performing when we were there). Breakfast also served there. Nice selection: Choice from continental or American breakfast.
Rooms were decently sized and clean with hardwood/laminate floors. (good or bad?) Keurig machine in the room for your own brew. Shampoo and soap in the shower was dispensered.(good or bad?) Overall style is euro scandinavian contemporary. Can't recall what room we were in, but it was near a stairwell, and was quite noisy for a bit. Only really an issue is if you have noisy people hanging out in a stairwell and talking loudly.
Was not able to use the gym facilities to work on my fitness as I was incapacitated by injury, but did see a room off the lobby.
Overall , was pleased with our stay, a different nyc experience, location. Didn't have much interaction with hotel staff, so no comment on service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank cmark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would like to thank Zahir for everything he did for us. It was the second time that we stayed in this hotel, and this time we stayed for 14 days, It was a great experience, because this hotel has people who loves their jobs, like Zahir and Sheilla, the assistance of manager. She also did everything as possible to give us the best attention. Since the moment we arrived until the moment we lived they gave us the best attention in everything. And we probally return there and we will give this information for our friends in Brazil to stay in this hotel, because people like Sheylla and Zahir keep this hotel in a excelente condition.

Room Tip: Front and Hi-Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review! All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel have a passion for delivering amazing service, so your comments really make our day! It sounds like you had a perfect hotel experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the future. Thanks again, and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived in NYC around 11:30am, and did not expect to be able to have our room that early. I was wrong- room was ready and very clean! Front desk was extremely friendly and welcomed us. Although I had requested a higher floor when I reserved, we got placed on the 2nd floor. No big deal. Street noise was minimal. The rooftop patio was nice. They were not lying when stating how close this was to attractions even though we stayed out of the "tourist areas" Would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is simply awesome! Ultra modern, clean, dynamic and comfortable.
Stayed in a premium room for 3 nights (a couple + 4 teens). The room was spacious and very comfortable, 2 bathrooms (!!), good A/C, a mini-fridge & a really useful wet-bar.
Highly professional & friendly staff. We had some emergency during our last night and we got an immediate and exceptional assistance from the shift manager and the rest of staff.
Convenient parking in a parking garage across the street, somewhat pricy (~40$, but hey, this is NYC after all..).
Excellent location: very close to Penn station (there is even a subway entrance 2 minutes from the hotel), a few minutes walk from the most popular Midtown highlights e.g. Times Square, Empire State Building, Bryant Park, Herald Square etc..
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRPY Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk and bellmen staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My research had to meet a number of criteria based on 1.Size of party, 2. Location for easy access to work and travelling around on foot. 3. Pricing. 4. 24 Hour gym. 4.Free WiFi.
The Hotel fitted all of these. We booked for 4 nights.The staff were friendly and attentive to all of your needs.
The Lobby area is small and can get congested if there are a few people checking in and out at the same time.

Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, had a drink at the bar which was cool.
I'm glad I have found the ideal place for larger parties. Have stayed at two other hotels in NYC in the past, one of which I had no problems with, but that was only for a 2 night stay for my husband and I.

Room Tip: We had a party of 5, my husband and 3 teenage boys, so booking the Family Room was excellent, it sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevel Mum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

this nice hotel in a quiet side street is always a good base to stay in New York City.
The subway only a block away, HIghline in walking distance, friendly personel, a bar that also offers little snacks as well as breakfast in the morning - simple but clean rooms - what more does one need?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lothar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,460 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,706 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#135 of 469 in New York City
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,073 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#121 of 469 in New York City
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Splitty, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing