We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #182 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calverton, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had great time with the kids. We had a family room which has a king bed and bunk beds. There were 2 tv's which the kids love. The staff was really awesome and attentive. Lots of restaurants in the area. I would definitely stay here again it's also close to a lot if nyc attractions

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    1,222
    286
    95
    75
See reviews for
1,289
917
124
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the TRYP in early August with another couple. Arrived mid afternoon and only one of the rooms were ready. Told that it would only be a few minutes but waited nearly 30, wasn't a big deal as we had a beer in the bar.

Each couple were on different floors and we realised that the rooms were substantially different in size. One was tiny, no room for the 3 suitcases and the en-suite was very small. So small that the couple staying in this room would have checked out rather than stay.

The other room was excellent in size. Turned out that due to delay in getting room ready, one of us had been upgraded to a larger room, a few kind words with Reception and both couples ended up in the larger room. If you are traveling around the US and have cases with you, the smaller room will be uncomfortable. If its just one bag, it will be fine.

All the staff were brilliant.

We had breakfast once in the hotel and it was only okay. There are better and cheaper places in walking distance. Each afternoon the lobby bar happy hour was a good way to unwind after a days site seeing.

The location is excellent, we walked a lot and found it to be very safe day and night. You are close to so many of the tourist attractions which can save dollars on taxi rides.

There is a Cop shop a few doors away with cars coming/going all night but you don't hear them from the hotel.

There are some great restaurants on 9th Avenue and we found a really good diner for breakfast on W34th called Skylight Diner. Great breaky at a really reasonable price.

If I was staying In Manhattan again, this would be my place of choice but I would have to make sure that I go the larger room.

Room Tip: Check you room size if you are traveling with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of TRYP Times Square South. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property to be "beyond compare". I have shared your kind remarks with the staff in recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the TRYP Times Square South in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. It was a girl's trip birthday celebration. Christina at the front desk went over and above to get us a room that was perfect. Thank you for the wine and fruit waiting for us on our arrival!! The only problem was our booking documentation said the beds were Queens, they seemed more like full size?? The hotel brought a comfortable roll-away bed to use. We liked having two bathrooms with plenty of drawer and closet space. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice plus as well. Every staff member was pleasant as well. Thank you for a perfect stay!!

Room Tip: Room 1101 had plenty of space,drawers, closets, 2 bathrooms and desk
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice, but I do think they are environmentally friendly
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent place. Everyone was friendly. Breakfast was great, the bar was fun. Hospitality was excellent and the room was perfect. It was within walking distance of restaurants, shops and the subway system. Our limo from the airport dropped us off half a block from the Tryp!
We will be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

With 3 kids finding good accommodation in NYC was always going to be difficult, but at TRYP we found a really great hotel in a great location. The room was excellent with plenty if space, 2 great bathrooms and comfy beds (except the pull out). The hotel staff were helpful and breakfast was great, if a little pricey (but hey this is NYC)!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

1 week stay with family occupying 2 rooms July 22 to 29th 2014.This was our first visit to New York and we weren't disappointed. Unlike many of the other Hotels there is no big flamboyant entrance and reception but it serves it's function. Check in at reception was smooth with pleasant staff. We had requested two rooms close together but at reasonably short notice hadn't proved possible and as it worked out was fine.
The rooms were really well appointed and decorated and the beds were huge and so comfortable. The room airconditioning inone of the rooms was a bit on the noisy side and had no remote control so was a bit of a pain having to get out of bed to turn if on and off as it was too loud to leave running in the background.The walk in showers were a good size with plenty hot water on tap and the rooms were cleaned and made up to a high standard each day. Couldn't fault any aspect of our accomodation other than the air con which wouldn't be an issue during the cooler months. Breakfast was served in the dining area just off the reception. The staff were polite, friendly and cheerfully went about seeing to any requests. The same fare was available each day and there was plenty of choice so you could mix up your selection so as not to become repetitive. Would have been nice to have a different choice of egg methodology other than scrambled .
The location at first didn't seem the best as there was a lot of building work going on very close to the hotel and at night when returning the street lighting wasn't too good although it was a comfort that a police station was located next door.
Once we found our way round the TRYP location proved to be just where we needed to be. Times square and theatres a 10 minute walk, along with Maceys and the Empire State Building. The subway was located no more than 200 metres at the end of the street.
All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in New York without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the front on the 8th floor and at the rear on the 10th. No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprintrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben E, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#123 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#53 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,445 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#142 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing