We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort food at great prices on Bedford Avenue”
Review of Peter's Since 1969 - CLOSED

Peter's Since 1969
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort food at great prices on Bedford Avenue”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I've been here twice -- for lunch and early dinner -- and each time it's been a foodie experience in the comfort food genre. Low cost pricing (this restaurant pre-dates the newer Williamsburg restaurants with higher priced leases) with limited menu offerings are the perfect setting for really good comfort food selections. The meatloaf, mac&cheese & roast 1/4 chicken are better than Mom particularly becuase she doesn't cook this food any longer. The lunch menu servings are not as large as at dinner but there is still enough for a second meal. If the over-promoted Meatball place next door is too crowded, this is a not a second choice alternative but rather you got lucky. Go for the window counter style seats to observe the life and times on Bedford Avenue while you sigh with pleasure. If only it were bigger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milagros V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

yummy food, really nice back patio! My favorite sides are the corn, mashed potatoes and mac and cheese

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
168 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

After dining in top restaurants we wanted a "simple" meal. Peter's was just right. Although the food was readily available it was well cooked, tasty and piled up on the plate. Prices were around $10 a plate which included great stuffed chicken and a couple of sides.
Comfortable surroundings inside and the bill for 2 all up was $26.
Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better? Impossible!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I went to this rotisserie just for chance, while in a long stay in Manhattan. The menu is short, nevertheless you do not need more plates, it is just what you do adore: Perfect homemade cuisine, real food, warm ambiance (the majority of the customers are people working on the Broadway Theaters).
Well, I went again and again, I felt like home, talking with the manager and the serving people. You will love the chicken or beef brisket, delicious and big portions, the sides are perfect; try creamed spinach, rotisserie vegetables, sweet corn with jalapeno, with a Corn Muffin.
This rotisserie is one of my very best food experience in Manhattan, if you visit the area of Broadway Theaters, do not lose the experience, you will be delighted. I do bet!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waverly, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfort food for a cold night”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We visited Peter's because of its close proximity to our hotel and it was exactly what we needed on a cold, dreary night. My rotisserie chicken was moist, stuffing was fine, and the mashed potatoes and gravy were delicious! The portions are big and the prices are super affordable. We left feeling warm and full, just what we needed to go back into the snow!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brittymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter's Since 1969 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing