We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“I'd definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We got reservations here through one of those "name your price" things where you don't know where you'll be until the card is charged.

What a pleasant surprise. No, its not a disco masquerading as a hotel (Hotel Empire, are you listening?) , the rooms are on the small side, but the staff were very nice, it was QUIET, the place was clean, I didn't see any bedbugs, free wi-fi, and breakfast was included. Perfect!

I'd definitely stay here again. If for no other reason but to check out some of the curry places nearby. Yum!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    782
    158
    66
    29
See reviews for
538
661
90
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great location, within walking distance to Flatiron District and the Empire State Building, green subway stop right outside the door, making trips to Soho and downtown easy. Free breakfast every day was fantastic. Our room was typically New York small but had nice boutique style finishes. Service was good, however on our last two nights they seemed to forget about us, with no turn-down service being provided. Not a big deal, but we did notice as they had done this on the first four nights of our stay. Laudromat is also close by, which was handy for avoiding exorbitant hotel laundry service fees. Overall, great value - I don't think we would have found a better hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigette_garbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just happened onto this small hotel in lower Manhattan. While a little off the beaten path, this older facility offers a European style continental breakfast each day that kept us satisfied until dinner time!

Small but very clean rooms. Definitely would stay there again. Keep your eye out for bargain rates, too!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiegigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My second stay at this hotel, much like the first the year before - very pleasant old-fashioned environment, good amenities in the room and in the hotel at large, quiet but convenient neighborhood, excellent value for New York.
I did request, and was granted, a room facing the street rather than an air duct. Though still the standard room, it was not claustrophobic, and had lots of sitting/ storage/ counter space.
I have the same caution about the young desk staff I had last time, though. This time they actually gave me wrong information, both about what was provided in the room and about where the nearest store was. They still need training!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

I've stayed at the Park South twice since posting my first review in June 2010 - once in room 807 and once in room 705. Both are great rooms (classed as Executive, I believe) that look out on E. 28th Street with a view of the Chrysler Building.

I want to add a couple of comments to my original review.

First, although the rooms faced the street they were not at all noisy. The double-paned glass shut out almost all street noise. I know this because when we opened one of the windows, we could hear normal NYC horn-honking and so on, but not otherwise.

Second, during our most recent stay we ate at the adjacent Black Duck restaurant for the first time and were very happy with it. The Park South had given us vouchers for a free glass of wine on check-in, so the total bill was only about $40/person. The atmosphere and service were excellent and the food (arugula salad, halibut, pompano, a fruit-topped cake dessert) was all good.

Finally, I recommend investigating Kalustyan's around the corner from the hotel at 123 Lexington if you're at all interested in exotic foods. The place is a real trip into the past with its endless shelves of spices and its two nice older gentlemen dispensing Near Eastern delicacies like mujadarrah (a lentil dish) in the upper-floor deli.

As always, during this recent visit the Park South manager (Christiaan Aldoy), the assistant manager Diana, the regular doorman Chuck and his helper Jesus, and others such as Melvin and Shelley were all very helpful. It was reassuring to see so many of the same staff members who were there during my first visit three or four years ago . . . a good sign.

To sum up:- the Park South is still my first choice for a comfortable, reasonably-priced stay in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I have stayed here several times for business. The standard rooms are pretty small and dark, but they are clean and quiet with no traffic noise – a bonus for a good night's sleep when you are on a business trip. The bar/restaurant area is a welcoming place for the solo traveller and the food is of a high standard. Breakfast is included, and the selection and quality is very good for this price range. The location of the hotel is convenient for the subway, but it can be quite difficult to get a cab at busy times – Park Avenue or Lexington is a better bet, but it may mean dragging your luggage with you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

This hotel is centrally located between Park and Lexington Aves. and is located about a half block from the subway which makes this hotel a great home base. The room size and bathroom are small, but who spends alot of time in a room when you are in NYC. The hotel was every clean and to us that's more important then room size. The closet is very small and 3 draws for storage was a bit tight. The breakfast buffet is nice and a great way to start the day. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. I'm a bargain hunter and if the price is right, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing