We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay but Not what Room described”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Stay but Not what Room described”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. It was close to the subway and we could walk uptown or downtown also. Check in was easy. The desk staff was helpful with questions we asked. We had an inside room looking at another buidling, and it was very quiet. The room was very clean, but extremely small. We only had carry-on suitcases. Larger ones would not have fit in the Superior Queen we were given.

The room description when we booked said that we had "unbelievably comfortable...beds....copierfax on working desk." Also said "robes". We did not have a comfortable bed nor did we have a copierfax on working desk or robes...just one and there were two of us. The bed did not seem like it was queen size. which we have in our own home. We only had a bed table on one side of our bed and no reading light or table on the other. We did ask the front desk if our room was superior queen and she replied "yes".

Breakfast each morning wasvery good to get us on our way. Nice bar to have a drink at night. We were in New York and happy and did not spend any of our day at the hotel.

We would stay here again and recommend it, but not if you wanted to spend any time in your room. I

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    784
    159
    66
    29
See reviews for
539
662
90
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Darkest room ever. Good thing there's a hardware store down 28th. Street with a large range of flashlights. Had to order in an extra lamp, which the friendly, obliging staff brought in right away, but this made a very small very dark room into a somewhat lighter but smaller room. Did I say the room was dark? And after maybe three PM, at least in May when we visited, the (dark) brick wall outside the room gets even darker. One of those strap-on-to- your-head battery-operated lamps would come in handy. Or a miner's helmet.

Superior staff at reception desk. The baggage handler/car wrangler ("Chuck") is efficiency and courtesy personified. Nice breakfast and nicer breakfast room which morphs into a bar/restaurant later on. Cozy lobby and entryway. Well-designed baths. Everything tidy and clean on account attentive and thorough housekeeping personnel.

Can't gripe about the room rates, because New York prices have become stratospheric at every hotel we investigated. This will have to be our last visit to NYC until rates go down.

I wasn't exaggerating about the darkness. I've been in smaller rooms; rooms so small you had to leave your carry-on out in the corridor (Southampton, UK), but this is the global low-lumens champ. So far.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

A great little hotel in a perfect position for all the main tourist sites, the subway is only 100 yards from the entrance of the hotel, and when you've had a long day this was worth it's weight in gold. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful - we had a problem with the rooms safe on day 3, but after reporting it an engineer turned up within minutes.The breakfast was a basic continental style, it was in good quantity and plenty of choice. The hotel room was small but very adequate for our needs, we were surprised that there was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room - a first on my travels.
The only problem I had was on checking out - I wanted to pay my bar bill by cash, unfortunately the hotels and my figures differed by over $20, the reason was because I'd tipped the barstaff on the night and then after leaving the bar they had included another tip on the overall bill - I asked the receptionist to show me the slips which I signed at the bar, and guess what they couldn't be found ! She then asked me to leave it with them and they would just charge my credit card when it got sorted out - sorted out with me not being there ?
I asked to see a manager a resolve the problem before we left, but there was no manager in the building, In the end I paid in cash what I thought I owed and told her to get the manager to phone me if there was a problem.
'If you've enjoyed your stay here, I don't see what your problem is sir - surely it's a small price to pay' is what the receptionist said ?
I'm not mean - I just don't like getting ripped off.

Overall a brilliant five day stay - spoiled needlessly by not using a little common sense.

The Unfortunate outcome was that despite my protests - on returning home the hotel had indeed charged my credit card for the differance.

If I had any tips to pass on - I would suggest that you make full use of the subway, it's so easy to get around and saves your feet - and try and book your trips out before arriving, it saves so much time waiting around for tickets.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

A great little hotel with the slowest lifts in the world - sometimes it's simply faster to use the stairs. Our view was of another building - but that suited us fine cos there was no traffic noise at all - peace and quiet for a good night's sleep. Cold breakfast is included plus toast - not a full buffet - and they hold bags for free after checkout. There is a laundromat around the corner which will do your washing for you and neatly fold it all within 2 hours. Within walking distance of 2 subway lines so access to everything in Manhatten is pretty easy. Free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms without a view are perfect for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorrgarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

This is a small boutique hotel in a fantastic location. I found the service is very friendly and welcoming like you would expect at a small hotel. They also include breakfast in the room rate, which I think is pretty rare for NY hotels. It seemed to me they cater European tourists judging by the other guests I saw at breakfast, which could be one reason they include breakfast. The breakfast itself was nothing special (cold buffet with pastries, bagels, etc.), but it was fine for me.

The rooms are by no means luxurious, but they are clean and comfortable and seem to have been renovated in the recent past. The room I had was actually pretty spacious by NY standards. You can order room service from the hotel restaurant, which is a nice benefit. Overall, the Park South is a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We got reservations here through one of those "name your price" things where you don't know where you'll be until the card is charged.

What a pleasant surprise. No, its not a disco masquerading as a hotel (Hotel Empire, are you listening?) , the rooms are on the small side, but the staff were very nice, it was QUIET, the place was clean, I didn't see any bedbugs, free wi-fi, and breakfast was included. Perfect!

I'd definitely stay here again. If for no other reason but to check out some of the curry places nearby. Yum!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great location, within walking distance to Flatiron District and the Empire State Building, green subway stop right outside the door, making trips to Soho and downtown easy. Free breakfast every day was fantastic. Our room was typically New York small but had nice boutique style finishes. Service was good, however on our last two nights they seemed to forget about us, with no turn-down service being provided. Not a big deal, but we did notice as they had done this on the first four nights of our stay. Laudromat is also close by, which was handy for avoiding exorbitant hotel laundry service fees. Overall, great value - I don't think we would have found a better hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigette_garbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing