We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Little Hotel at a mind blowing location”
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #50 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful hotel. Great friendly service. Very cozy as well. 3 of us stayed in the room of 2 without paying any extra! Receptionists were more than interested to help you out with anything - food places, travel plans, name it!! You can even use the business center in the basement of the hotel for free! AND there is wi-fi too (all the time), included in the price!! Very handy when you are in NYC!
Location wise - it couldn't be better! 5-7 mins drive by cab (most convenient in NYC) to Times Square!! Close to Metro stations as well! It was my first time staying there and I'm pretty sure I'll end up going back to them. We even got lucky getting free parking right in front of the hotel for the whole weekend!! Now that's just freakin awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SajeedAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here with family from June 27 - July 1 . Very well looked after by friendly hotel staff.
Great selection of cold buffet breakfast included in price which kept us going during sightseeing trips. Nice bar attached to hotel which doubles up as breakfast room , always had our last drinks of the night here with bar/resturant manager.Booked double/double roooms which were very spacious and a queen room which was slightly smaller than anticipated . Rooms well looked after during our stay. Hotel well located and close to subway station. Staff willing to give tips on eating and sightseeing.
Only annoying point was noise from air conditioning unit outside.
Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: pay extra for double/double room instead of queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinocallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Nice small hotel, good value for money.
We stayed at this hotel in may 2011.
The location of the hotel is great, nice breakfast.
The rooms with the queen size bed are very small but clean. The decor was updated.
A lot of noise from the aircondition outside especially on second floor.
There is no places to keep your luggage in the queen size room and the cupboard in the room is so small it can only hold 2-3 shirts.
The toilet was so small you barely could keep you ...... inside the toiletbowl :-))
Nice staff and thanls to Chuck, the doorman for good service.
Great restaurant in the hotel.
Very close to subway 28. street and in walkingdistance to 5. ave...

Room Tip: Book a king sizw room, ask for a room on upperflrs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnTjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband was scheduled for surgery in Manhattan, and I needed a safe, clean, affordable hotel for myself and my 21-year-old son. Not wanting to spend a fortune on an expensive hotel, I asked friends and colleagues for suggestions. A colleague recommended the Park South Hotel on East 28th St. I had never heard of this hotel, but decided to try it. With a AAA discount, I was able to book a room for $189/night--a great rate for NYC. The room was clean and nicely appointed, with free wifi, cable, and a private bath. The staff were very professional and courteous, even asking us if we needed anythhing special since we were visiting a patient in the hospital. We could not have been more pleased. If you haven't been to the Park South Hotel, give it a try. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Use AAA, AARP rates if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I can't get too excited about the hotel but at the same time there isn't much to complain about. The room was clean, not that big but not cramped. The breakfast was good - lots of pastries, fruit and cold meats - and the bar had some charm to it. The staff were perfectly fine. As for location, it's a quietish area for Manhattan, though if you're like and appreciate decent bars then you'll be going to other parts of town. Even the price was pretty average. All in all, nothing to shout about but it certainly does the job. .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjgraham82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed during the blizzard between Christmas and New Years, and couldn't have had a greater location. The staff worked very hard to make sure we had cabs whenever we needed them, and the subway was just a few steps away. The room was avg for New York, but quiet and clean. We ate in the Black Duck one night because we were Snowed In, and it was fabulous. Definitely will book again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Park South is a good choice if you want to be near Madison Square park and Herald Square. The suite is a large room with a pullout couch, no closet. Really nice complementary breakfast. Some of the standard rooms in the hotel would be better classified as "maid's closet." Make sure to arrive early and ask for an alternate if they assign you to a closet!

Room Tip: face N (28th st), higher fl to reduce street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letsplay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#39 of 471 in New York City
291 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#48 of 471 in New York City
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#33 of 471 in New York City
1,773 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
639 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £128 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing