We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never let's me down”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never let's me down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

3rd time I stayed here - and I will come back. The location is unbeatable (28th between Park Ave and Lexington - within 10 min walking distance to Empire State). Away from Times Square where it can get hectic and with recent closures, a bit complicated. The subway is 1/2 block away and the 6 line takes you up to Bloomngdales and Guggenheim and south into Union Square, Little Italy and Chinatown. The room size is ok for NYC standards, as rooms are in general tiny in this town. My room faced the courtyard - not really nice to look at.
Nice surprise: recently they offer free wireless!
The bathroom was impeccably clean and the bed was good to sleep in. The comfort is really nice for the price. If you get a room around 200-250$ (which is low for a medium standard in NYC), you are doing well.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
What's great is that breakfast is included for all guests. Love the bagels. If there is a group, then you might run into problems getting a table in the morning, but usually the wait is very short.
I usually recommend this hotel to friends.
BTW - Anthony Bourdain's "Les Halles" restaurant is around the corner on Park Ave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvercj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    782
    158
    66
    29
See reviews for
538
661
90
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

We were most pleased with the hotel. Clean, nice service, excellent breakfast included. True, rooms are small and could use more light but were quiet and clean. Yes, a view of another building, but that's NYC. Many good restaurants within walking distance and the subway is right there. Easy walk to Penn Station. We would definitely stay again.

Was a bit concerned with some of the negative reviews, but we did not agree with most of them. We found friendly staff, clean but small rooms, a very nice continental breakfast included with genuine NY bagels and Danish, very quiet with many good restaurants close by and easy access to the Subway. We had no major complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

First, let me say that we travel a lot and my expectations are pretty realistic. If you are picky about your Hotels then this is not a good choice, specially for stays over a couple of days. We paid about $200/night during spring break. Hotel location was good in terms of underground and walking access to places of interest such as Times square, Soho, etc..however, the front view of the Hotel is a parking lot and the street is not that great. It's not a nice clean quiet street by any means. The standard rooms are VERY small with a alley/ wall view. The executive rooms are definitely larger but not huge. The largest and most expensive rooms face either the front street or the back. Both very noisy with traffic, trucks, garbage pick up, etc. The noise is buffered by a very loud air conditioning/heating unit when it works. We happen to be in New York during a hot spill and we suffered through 5 sleepless nights before the unit was fixed for our last two nights. The beds were not comfortable for me. I'm not sure why? Just not very comfortable so I woke up with back achs. The bathrooms are very small and our toilet over flooded twice..yucks. The breakfast was continental. Okay but not extra ordinary. We never ate at the hotel restaurant so can't comment. Nice Indian food around the hotel area, both fast food and sit down dinning. The desk people were simply okay. Not extreamly helpfull and nice and not really unfriendly. Just there. I'm not sure why I was set on this hotel. The website is somewhat deceiving. I guess I wanted the small intimate hotel experience but on 2nd thought I would have been better off with the Sheraton NY at a better price. I know I would have at least eliminated the noise and bed discomfort, and yes, the toilet mess. Having said all that, we didn't let the many negatives upset us. We enjoyed our stay in New York enormously and laughed off our choice of Hotel. The toilet business was pushing it a bit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live-only-once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check-in with our two children ages 6 and 8. The staff was extremely helpful, and had a room ready for us to check in. There is a very reasonable parking lot directly across the street for $19/day for 24 hours. The rooms are small, but VERY clean, modern, and comfortable....and no one should go to NY with the intent of staying in their room. Modern updated bathrooms, clean linens, comfortable beds, free WIFI. The continental breakfast was great with plenty of choices for the kids, great coffee. We checked out on Sunday, and they held our bags for us until we were ready to leave later that afternoon. Only 1 block from the 6 train and very convenient to the West Side (where we wanted to stay). I will be coming back to this hotel the next time we travel to NYC.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Because our first choice of hotels was booked, and finding a comparable hotel was becoming a problem, we reserved rooms at Park South Hotel. It advertised a high rating with a reasonable price. We were pleased with our visit. On weekend evenings, jazz ensembles performed in the restaurant/bar. The music was excellent, the seating was intimate, and the performance was free. No ordered drinks were required, although those served were delicious. The musicians were approachable and personable. Instead of venturing back out after a day in the city, it was a delightful treat to sit back and relax in a room that opened up to the street. Unlike many hotels that remove their continental breakfast by 9:00 or 10:00, Park South offered a complimentary breakfast until 11:00. The food was fine, and we especially enjoyed sitting at one of the tables on the small patio outside to watch the people passing by. A small balcony, which extended over the lobby, provided an interesting assortment of hardback books to borrow or peruse. The desk staff was remarkably helpful, friendly, and witty. They recommended restaurants within walking distance of the hotel; they provided requested information about other nearby places as well.

Our room, however, was elongated and cramped, with poor lighting that cast shadows even in daylight. A room without a view, tall brick walls outside the window blocked the sun. The closet was too small to accommodate a suitcase, and no luggage stand was available. No television listing was provided. But those were our only complaints.

We would definitely stay at Park South Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

having spent and absolute age trying to find decent priced accomadation in midtown manhattan we finally came across the park south hotel , 128th & park.
we have just returned from our first trip to this great city and it was A+ all the way with this hotel.
-great location
-friendly staff
-nice decnt breakfast
-decent price
the room we had was a queen room and was fit for 2 , snugly. but we werent here to stay in our rooms, but instead we were here to roam the city by day and night and this great hotel met all our needs.
i would give this hotel a 5 outta 5 and made this holiday for us, although the beautifull weather helped!
if you read a bad review of this hotel it says more about the reviewer than the hotel in my honest opinion. when we come back next year we will be staying here . thats the best compliment i can give the place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonhoff37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

One of life's struggles is to find a lower cost hotel in NYC where the rooms are comfortable. Park South totally met our needs. Yes, the room is small but this is NYC and it isn't about the room. The hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing