We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucks dead dogs balls”
Review of Jazz on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jazz on the Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sucks dead dogs balls”
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

Totally disappointing stay. Staff member was rude and abrupt. Bed was uncomfortable. 2 out of three of the shared ladies showers were unusable at time of our stay. Has to leave passport to loan dingy threadbare towel. We have moved down the road to the Belnord and for less than 50 extra per night are now staying in a small but lovely hotel with daily service, friendly staff and impeccably clean rooms.

If you can afford it, don't waste your time or money at this dodgy place.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    156
    133
    68
    60
See reviews for
16
35
271
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here 6 years ago and had a great time. The place has had a few changes since then, still a great hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

To explain how bad I felt this hostel was, I am a holiday traveler which when I go on holiday, go on a budget and the accommodation is normally just a shared dorm and a shared bathroom. If the room is clean and functional I am happy.

However there was no heating in the rooms, there was only one hot shower between 20 of us on the floor. They ran out of spare blankets to give to guests. The card key kept breaking if you put it in your wallet and some nights just stopped working even if you did all they advised. The staff were very overworked I felt but tried their best so I can't put them at much fault. I complained to the manager and he said I could have had 25% off the price I paid which came to $40. This I was happy with, however the person behind the desk only gave me $24 discount and the manager now could not be reached to back up my story!

However I did stay in the hostel again (feeling that they deserved a second chance), and all their problems had gone and I had a ok stay. On a personal note, I didn't like how cheap the accommodations were. The beds were below par, even by my low standards, and there could have been more sinks for the guests. The breakfast was small and ran out within the first 20 mins not leaving enough for the guest who like a lie-in!

Definitely would not recommend this hostel, however its was a cheap hostel in a good area of New York.

Room Tip: Get a room not on the top floor, dragging your suitcase up 6 flights of stairs was annoying because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hey, it's NYC and a hostel so our expectations were low. They were met. The room was tiny with a matching bed. The heating didn't work, it was noisy (all the door rooms slammed and echoed around the uncarpeted corridor).

The staff were ok but looked like they were waiting for a callback from the casting agent.

The location is great, next to Central Park and within walking distance of some cool places.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Excellent hostel with a great location, next to Central Park and only a couple of blocks from the Subway! The staff and management are amazing, informative and helpful. There are excellent common room facilities and a cozy lounge in the basement. The rooms are extremely clean and serviced daily. There is free breakfast to kick start your day and a cafe for snacks. They have free WiFi in the common areas. For foodies, Broadways is only 3 blocks away! Stay here, an excellent sociable option!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It´s a good hostel, we got a four people room, so it was just me and my friends. The place is clean and look new, the breakfast is ok, the staff is friendly and it´s a good location, one and a half block from the subway, in front of Central Park.

They separate the hostel in male and female blocks (I guess they also have mixed rooms, not sure), but we saw guys in the female side, wich was really bad, since this side only had female bathrooms and guys were using it, since the male one was to far away. I talked at the reception and the girl said she would talk to them. But that was the only problem we saw. Recomend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talitatelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I had a great time when I stayed at this hostel. It's in a great location, right near central park. I met loads of really nice and interesting people. The staff were friendly. All the facilities were clean and the price was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#18 of 163 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on the Park

Property: Jazz on the Park
Address: 36 W 106th St, New York City, NY 10025-3805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Jazz on the Park 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to New York is not complete without a stay at Jazz on the Park Hostel. Best known for our funky coffee bar, weekly pub crawls, and summer BBQs, staying at Jazz on the Park Hostel guarantees good times as well as comfort. Jazz on the Park Hostel is located in the heart of the Upper West Side, along Central Park and super close to subways and buses, so the whole City is at your fingertips. Explore local hangouts or walk through Central Park to 5th Avenue and the Museum Mile, where you will find the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and much more. If you just feel like relaxing, chill in our Basement Lounge and swap stories over a game of pool. Jazz on the Park Hostel is the perfect launch pad for all your New York adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jazz on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing