We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly review”
Review of Jazz on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jazz on the Park
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Knowing this is a Hostel gave me confidence that the people would be helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the 'Comedy in the Dungeon'; met some great comedians - thanks Jazz on the Park! Basics provided and that is what we needed. The location allows for walking and getting out of the room to explore the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

To start our $650 for 4nights turned out $812.97. Our room was okay our bathroom small and dirty. We got some food to cook, only to be told there is no kitchen for guests to use??? The TV in our room didn't seem to be working, we asked the staff and we're told "Oh they don't work, there just there".... So why have the TV in the room? And then the nightmare beings!
A FRENCH SCHOOL with teachers were staying in the room next door. At midnight they started drinking, bang doors and making lots of noise. At one point my husband open our door and they fell in to our room, we complained to the night staff but nothing was done.At 7am when they were final quiet, we could sleep. There was rubbish and condoms everywhere in the morning, and still there when we returned at night. After two nights of no sleep we asked to speak to the manager he didn't care, and was very rude! telling us "That he would refund us the next two nights (which wouldn't be returned into our account for 10 working days) and we should find somewhere else to stay if we are looking for quieter, and that all hostels all around the world were noisy" we have both worked, lived and stayed in hostels at NO time have I experienced this HELL.
We think the hostel was badly managed and is misleading people into thinking this is a good place to stay when seeing the highlights of New York.
Being kept awake all night made it hard to fully enjoy our time there, and we would not recommend staying at Jazz on the park.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenBp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Ananda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If it wasn't for this hostels location i would have given them the lowest rating. The free breakfast was average at best, The hostel has a full commercial kitchen but does not use it and every one uses disposable cutlery, things run out and don't get refilled or replaced and the dining area is not very comfortable. I was ni a private room with my girlfriend. I had to dismantle the small table in the room and slide it under the bed to give us room to put our luggage and be able to move around in the room. The room was noisy and the bed was terrible with the springs string to jump out of the mattress. The bathrooms where small with barely enough room to get in the toilet and close the door behind you and no room in the showers to get changed forcing you to get changed in the walk way connecting the showers.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very good location, good showers, the attention of the employees was good in general but they change me to the other room in at the third day and was annoying. The hostel needs an elevator.
But I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kone79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I travelled alone via New York on my way from Australasia to Europe and wanted a good but low key accommodation. I somehow got onto this hostel which turned out to be great. Met some interesting people who I hung out with for three days. Hostel staff were friendly and organized live in house jazz. So if you're looking for a good location hostel near Central Park look no further!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank seadragon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Enjoyed my stay at Jazz... It's a fantastic hostel with the best staff... Sergio carried my heavy suitcase up 3 flights of stairs which was awesome, (lifesaver) he was so funny & welcoming! Jose the manager was amazing and really looked after us too, He was so friendly & made me feel really looked after. Good banter with the staff! ;) It's clean, comfortable & the showers are hot!! :) the private room even had flowers! The location is perfect, subway is less than 5 mins away, the park is literally across the road. Great hostel experience! Would definitely come back! X

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#14 of 162 in New York City
176 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 162 in New York City
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#19 of 162 in New York City
1,379 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#31 of 76 in New York City
594 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#27 of 162 in New York City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on the Park

Address: 36 W 106th St, New York City, NY 10025-3805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £42 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Jazz on the Park 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to New York is not complete without a stay at Jazz on the Park Hostel. Best known for our funky coffee bar, weekly pub crawls, and summer BBQs, staying at Jazz on the Park Hostel guarantees good times as well as comfort. Jazz on the Park Hostel is located in the heart of the Upper West Side, along Central Park and super close to subways and buses, so the whole City is at your fingertips. Explore local hangouts or walk through Central Park to 5th Avenue and the Museum Mile, where you will find the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and much more. If you just feel like relaxing, chill in our Basement Lounge and swap stories over a game of pool. Jazz on the Park Hostel is the perfect launch pad for all your New York adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Jazz on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing