We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel! Not great location for solo travellers”
Review of Jazz on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jazz on the Park
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had a 3 day stopover in New York before heading to Latin America, and chose the Jazz on the Park Hostel. The price is very reasonable and included a typical New York bagel breakfast- delicious! Many of the hostel facilities were broken and the wifi was intermittent, similarly the keycards for the rooms frequently broke so be sure not to make any journeys to the shower in only your towel or it could be quite an embarrassing trip for a new key card to reception. The beds were squeaky and not the most comfortable but bearable for a short stay over. Make sure to bring your own padlock for the in room lockers. The hostel is quite far uptown from all the main NYC tourist attractions, yet the nearest subway station is very close to the hostel. The hostel is a good option for a budget traveller but has quite a few faults for those wanting a hostel where they can relax after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauratheExplorer1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank emeleff
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staff at this place were great, very welcoming and helpful.
Hostel was in a good location, not too busy/loud and only a short walk to the subway. Wifi was also very handy, although not free ($20 for a weeks access) still very reasonable.
Neg points: Mattresses quite thin, and very noisy whenever you roll over! Also there is no laundry on site (coin laundry only around the corner tho, so no big drama)
Staff organise events for most nights of the week, although most of them revolve around clubbing (which isn't really my dig) Stand-up comedy gigs downstairs Thursday and Sunday night was pretty bad, but still free and worth checking out. There are different performers every time so maybe I just had bad timing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Best trip in NYC ever ! This, thanks to the hostel crew
I had a great time, the atmosphere was so nice and friendly, met so many people who made me enjoy my trip at 100%. I'm thinking about Pedro, Jose & Maria at the reception, and thank you Frankie for planning all those amazing nights out, seriously
Concerning the hostel in itself, I have nothing to complain about; the room was clean and fresh thanks to the AC ! Breakfast appreciated :)
Thank you for everything guys ! I'll come back, without a doubt

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank ChloeLmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great location near central park. Free breakfast every morning free towels and linen. House keeping can improve in some parts such as bathrooms. Front desk very warm and welcoming especially Maria and Pedro they were very helpful and nice. Will def come back in the winter.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jenkai142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been to USA before and I must say staff here are great Sergio, Maria, Mary....and all the rest are great.. I will not forgot their invaluable presence as they work. The place is generally very clean. It is a great place to.. especially to youth... The free Pizzas and drinks on Monday were good. The building is old, solid and feels OK... The bathrooms are also very clean. If you are visiting New York its a warm and safe place to be... if you are are (old like me.).. the youth are fine lads to be with.... restaurants around super!! all the best

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

i need to say thank you, for the great experience i made! i arrived in new york without any plan where to go or where to sleep. Fortunately i found that hostel. where i felt satisfied right from the first moment. the person who did welcome me, introduced himself ( josé ) and was very kind and helpful. whatever i needed to know or to do, he allways had a solution. Also i met a lot of people from all over the world and established new friendships. i really miss this great time and these awesome people! i hope i can come back as soon as possible!! thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#14 of 163 in New York City
163 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
1,197 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 163 in New York City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on the Park

Address: 36 W 106th St, New York City, NY 10025-3805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £44 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Jazz on the Park 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to New York is not complete without a stay at Jazz on the Park Hostel. Best known for our funky coffee bar, weekly pub crawls, and summer BBQs, staying at Jazz on the Park Hostel guarantees good times as well as comfort. Jazz on the Park Hostel is located in the heart of the Upper West Side, along Central Park and super close to subways and buses, so the whole City is at your fingertips. Explore local hangouts or walk through Central Park to 5th Avenue and the Museum Mile, where you will find the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and much more. If you just feel like relaxing, chill in our Basement Lounge and swap stories over a game of pool. Jazz on the Park Hostel is the perfect launch pad for all your New York adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Jazz on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing