We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, hostel okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jazz on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jazz on the Park
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, hostel okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Really great location right next to Central Park, and only a <5 minute walk to subway station. The hostel itself is okay, beds are very hard and kinda small if you're tall, bathrooms are average, cramped and not very private (shower curtains that are too small for the shower).
Good but basic breakfast, nice lounge downstairs and a small outdoor area.
Security is average with a different method to get into rooms, key card, tap card or just an actual key, lockers are available but small and tip over easy as I found
Rooms good size with AC, chair and maybe a desk

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    156
    130
    68
    59
See reviews for
16
35
269
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

On the first day when I arrived they put my stuff in the luggage room and didn't lock it. But on the last day, they put my stuff in a better one at the basement. The hostel was pretty dirty, facilities too. They were sitting everyday in the kitchen (it was the lounge as well) and didn't recognise the dirty windows. I think nobody has ever cleaned the windows. It was not allowed to use the kitchen. The aircon in the lounge was damaged. It was like 30°. Its ok if you need just a place to sleep, but the price was to high for that!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived here on a late afternoon and was informed that renovations were going on- not that that's negative in itself, but I would have appreciated being told about this beforehand. And upon walking to the room, it could hardly be more obvious that renovations were going on; dust-filled halls, tools scattered throughout the floor and never-ending sounds of drills in action. Entering the room, things didn't look much better either. The door looked as if it had been removed and put in again, with cracks here and there that ensured that the whistling of the workers at 11.30pm on that Friday night wasn't left unnoticed, while the lockers were close to falling apart. Service, however, was good, though it varied somewhat depending on who was serving the front desk. I am sure that the hostel offers better rooms than the one I received, and it is enough only to look at the discrepancy between the pictures I posted and those they have put online to see that the difference could hardly have been greater. This was my second stay at a hostel, and it was admittedly one I regret having..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplesevenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I had a great time at the jazz hostel. I met so many people, it is actually my first hostel stay ever. It is cheap with great atmosphere you meet people from all around the world and you have so much fun. At reception I must say the staff was great but Maria stands out out of all she was very helpful and would go the extra mile to keep us happy. I will do another hostel stay and I will be visiting the jazz again. The only negative I give this place is the comedy show it sucks.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had an awesome time here. Beds were comfortable, rooms felt secure and the people working there were friendly and made great hosts. They organize something for the guests each night and definitely go the extra mile. Would easily stay here again. Franky especially was an awesome guy to hang with and have to show you around town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for ten days. Great location, close to the subway station 103 St (B-C) and Central Park. If you walk up to Amsterdam Ave. there are some restaurants and even some bars. You can also walk to the Cathedral of St. John The Divine which is very nice.

Some of the bad stuff:
-a lot of stairs, especially if you are on the 5th floor.
-The wi-fi can get very slow on peak hours, which is terrible if you need to come up with a quick plan in the moment
-the beds are creaky
-don't forget to bring a lock for your locker
-the breakfast was great on my first day: bagels, jelly, cream cheese, fruit, cereal. The following days the cream cheese and the fruit disappeared forever. Oh and the milk was bad on my last day there, when I told the staff guy about it he replied "I know", then he changed it. The question is: if he knew it was bad, WHY WAS THE MILK STILL THERE?

THE WORST was the AC in my room, it only worked with an electrical extension and it would be there one night, then it was gone the next one!! Since I arrived super tired and late, I really had no more energy left to go down and up all the stairs to ask for it. When I finally reported the problem, they told me they would put it in the room at midnight, I came back at 2am and it was not there!!! In conclusion: I felt like I was suffocating half of the nights I stayed there.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, make sure the AC works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastcineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'll come here again. Plus points: convenience to public transport while providing the relative serenity. Park is just a few steps away. And if you're into running, the running trail along Hudson is just a few blocks away. Overall, great option for a smart traveler.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigs975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#18 of 163 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on the Park

Property: Jazz on the Park
Address: 36 West 106 Street, New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Jazz on the Park 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to New York is not complete without a stay at Jazz on the Park Hostel. Best known for our funky coffee bar, weekly pub crawls, and summer BBQs, staying at Jazz on the Park Hostel guarantees good times as well as comfort. Jazz on the Park Hostel is located in the heart of the Upper West Side, along Central Park and super close to subways and buses, so the whole City is at your fingertips. Explore local hangouts or walk through Central Park to 5th Avenue and the Museum Mile, where you will find the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and much more. If you just feel like relaxing, chill in our Basement Lounge and swap stories over a game of pool. Jazz on the Park Hostel is the perfect launch pad for all your New York adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jazz on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing