We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced midtown dining” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzarte

Pizzarte
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizzarte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Transit: Subway - F train to 57th Street station, walk towards 55th Street on 6th Avenue, turn left on 55th Street. B,D,E trains to 7th Ave. station, walk towards 6th Ave. on 53th Street, turn left on 6th Ave, walk toward 55th Street and turn right on 55th Street.
Boston
Level Contributor
250 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced midtown dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We ate here with 5 adults, a 6 year old and infant. It's not easy to find a fairly priced dinner in the West 50's in New York City, especially one that accommodates the food preferences of a group like ours. PizzArte was a great choice as it offers pizza as well as a number of other foods at a cost that doesn't empty your wallet. Only one person, who had a pasta dish, raved about his meal, but everyone else was satisfied with their order.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betsy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    238
    61
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Neapolitan Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've never had Neapolitan pizza, so I didn't know what to expect. I'm use to lots of tomato sauce drowning the pizza. This pizza had none of that. It was actually very good pizza. The Tartufata pizza was one of the best. This was recommended by the waiter and I must say it was an excellent choice. It had black truffles and mushrooms on it. Great flavor. I'll definitely be back if I'm in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza was amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I found out that I had Celiac Disease right before going to NYC. I was so disappointed that I wouldn't be able to have pizza. The concierge at our hotel told us about this place and said they had some GF items. I ordered the Margherita pizza on the GF crust and it was simply the best pizza I've ever had in my life! I couldn't even tell the crust was GF. My husband - who won't eat a meal w/o gluten - couldn't believe how good it tasted either. My 2-year-old son came along too. This restaurant is a little upscale for kids and doesn't have a kids menu. I recommend to any couple or family that doesn't have little ones in tow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellaborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Overpriced pizza joint - mediocre pizza, over $200 for 2 kids and 4 adults.
The tables were crowded, but the decor was pleasant otherwise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirkoc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't return....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is pretty, very sleek looking, clean lines kind of decor. I did not have the pizza which I probably should have ordered instead of trying to eat "Italian". Although the menu is in Italian, the food is prepared with more of a Mediterranean flair. There is no children's menu and they do not steer away from the printed menu to accommodate anyone. If you don't like octopus, then don't eat here as a lot of there menu choices have octopus in it which cannot be removed because the food is not made fresh to order....the sauces are all pre-made. I ordered the one fish dish on the menu and was glad there were no bones even though I was scraping the skin off the bottom of it. My daughter ordered a chicken dish that says "brick pressed" giving the assumption it's flat like a cutlet... It's not. It was chicken thighs. She saw that she had to pick it from the bones and wouldn't eat it. The food was ok...the pizza choices were plenty and we should've tried the pizza instead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzarte also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pizzarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing