We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neely's BBQ Parlor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Neely's Barbecue Parlor - CLOSED

Neely's Barbecue Parlor
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 62nd
Transit: Trains N,R,Q or 4,5,6 to 59th street Lexington Stop, Walk east to First Avenue, then north to 62nd street.
Description: For a true Southern comfort experience in the heart of NYC, Neely's Barbecue Parlor is the place to go. We serve authentic barbecue and southern-style comfort food in a friendly, down-home atmosphere. Our unique space allows you to choose from several different dining rooms, as well as a den, sitting room, front porch, and living room. Neely's embraces the parlor feel! Whether you're in the mood for a fun family outing, a tasty business dinner, or a romantic night for two, Neely's offers the perfect backdrop for every occasion. Enjoy our full-service bar, with seating for up to 50 people, several beers on tap, and a great happy hour with signature sangrias and much more. We have five TVs in the bar area and a projector screen for you to kick back and enjoy the game with friends. We are best known for Pat and Gina's delicious BBQ staples, from Kansas City spare ribs and Memphis-style baby back ribs to pulled pork and much more. We also offer a great selection of other food items including candied bacon, blackened catfish, and salmon. All of our barbecue is smoked in-house in our large Southern Pride Smoker. Can't stay for your meal? Don't worry - we offer takeout! We can also provide delicious catering for birthdays, meetings, and more so consider us for your next event!
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neely's BBQ Parlor”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I thought it was quite expensive for what we ordered. The food was OK but nothing special. The tables were set too closely together so much so that we nearly knocked someone's dinner off the table as we went to our table.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    44
    33
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointing!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a recent trip due to it being near our hotel ( the Bentley) and having read good reviews , firstly considering there was plenty of staff there the service was terrible,after we were seated we waited 20 minutes for a beer, when it eventually arrived it was served in a jam jar ( what's that all about !!) and tasted like home brew! We didn't drink it so I went to the bar to get two bottled Buds,I ordered a pork platter which turned out to be just two racks of ribs! Although they were tasty,it wasn't exactly what I ordered, my wife's burger was average.the place is very attractive, staff are everywhere , but the service was terrible! We left having encountered a poor dining experience and never returned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bertbams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I think 'mediocre' sums this place up pretty well, both in terms of food and service. Whilst our dishes were definitely tasty, there was nothing that special about them. Unfortunately, both myself and my friend felt physically unwell after leaving the restaurant, and my clothes smelled of tobacco smoke (probably because of the location of a smoking room downstairs). Won't be returning too soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mawifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This restaurant was an extremely short cab ride from our hotel In Times Square . The atmosphere is beautiful and each dining room has a different motif. It's pretty upscale for a BBQ restaurant. The service was incredible. The bacon and eggs is a definite " must try " item. It' s a deviled egg dish with candied bacon on top.. We had a very large group so we practically tried every side and several main dishes. The only disappointment was the macaroni and cheese. It was pretty bland. The desserts looked amazing , however, we were so full from the meal that we had to pass.

If anyone in your party is handicapped and/ or has mobility issues, please note that this restaurant is not handicapped accessible. You must walk up 7-8 stairs to get to the dining area and 10-12 stairs to go to the restroom in the basement.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBeachLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good new barbecue on the East Side”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Took kids and grandkid here for dinner and we were all very pleased. Good sized portions, very tasty food (a bit of a kick with some) and very friendly staff. Definetly a fun place for a family barbecue dinner!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joggerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neely's Barbecue Parlor also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing