We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations, Better Experience”
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
the Quin
Ranked #40 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Expectations, Better Experience”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently had the opportunity to preview the new Quin hotel in NYC and, boy, was I impressed! I had heard about the opening of this historic property for weeks and couldn't wait to get a first glimpse of the hotel. From "check-in" to "check-out", I was uber impressed with my entire experience. The staff were gracious and sincere, helpful and respectful, and most importantly, efficient and professional. While some things were getting their final touches and I couldn't take a look (restaurant, gym), my room was spacious, comfortable, and perfectly appointed. Although brief, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning soon enough - book now!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Chad,
Thank you very much for sharing your kind thoughts with us! Your comprehensive review allows us to further refine our services, and we’re proud to read that you were impressed by your entire experience thus far. We will be debuting the restaurant and gym shortly, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Quin soon to enjoy all the “final touches.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    569
    157
    52
    32
See reviews for
797
964
116
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

How fortunate I was to be one of the first to experience The Quin. Perfectly located in the heart of what is most celebrated in the city, I enjoyed going to the Museum of Art and Design, the Plaza Food Hall, and Barneys, in one fell swoop. The hotel proved a welcome haven upon return with their attentive but subtle staff, the spot on attaché who advised on the perfect asian fusion dining experience, the luxurious rooms with Duxiana beds, and fab tablet that lets me control my environment (who wants to get up to turn out the lights?). My favorite feature were the entry controls that communicate "privacy" outside the room as most hotels require placing a tag on the door which usually gets ignored and misplaced (am I there to be interrupted by housekeeping? No!) ...truly indulgent AND escapist. The adorable children's welcome wagon traversing the lobby bestowing gifts to my daughter didn't hurt either! My only regret was that I didn't visit the website prior to my stay which has tons of inside info in the attaché guide. Thank goodness there will be a "next time".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Andrea,
Thank you so much for sharing your thorough reflections with us! We’re so glad you were able to fully take advantage of our location and the expertise of our Attachés, and within the hotel, we’re thrilled you enjoyed the convenience of your in-room technology. It was an honor to welcome you to the Quin during our opening week, and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just spent a night at the brand new Quin Hotel. Great location close to Central Park and had a great run in the park in the AM. Loved the beautiful lobby and rooms, especially the fab beds and bathrooms. I could have spent all night playing with the little bedside tablet that controlled the shades, lights and music....especially going through all the ambient sleeping noises you could choose from (i ended up going with the birds singing on a windy day). Whoever decided to give each room its own Nespresso machine is a GENIUS. People were great as well - super friendly and ready to please. Can't wait to go back. My 10 year old loved it too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
From offering that early espresso to providing a personal sleep sound track, it’s our goal to ensure that every moment of your day is exceptional. We’re thrilled you and your child enjoyed your stay at the Quin, and we thank you sincerely for sharing your thoughtful feedback with us. We look forward to having you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is brand new, the staff is very excited as they should be. What a great product... The decor of the hotel is beautiful, fresh flowers, great art and a beautiful lobby.

The rooms have a great bed which is different from any other I have slept on in a hotel. Linen and terry we very plush and nice (new of course).TV worked well and was in a great location in front of the bed. The desk had a power strip built in to charge all devices with ease.

The bathroom was quite nice with a very large shower with a Marble bench.

The Gym and Restaurant were not open but I did order room service for breakfast and it came quick, very well done.

By the end of my stay the entire bell staff and front desk greeted me by name and one of he room attendants went out of her way to greet me as I was walking down the hall.

This hotel is doing it right, stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so grateful to read your detailed and generous thoughts, particularly within our first days of opening! We strive to always offer personal services and considerate appointments, and it is through thoughtful reflections like yours that we’re able to keep “doing it right.” It’s a privilege to learn from our guests, and we thank you very much for inspiring our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Quin hotel exceeded my expectations for a recent staycation in midtown Manhattan. From the details of service to the amazing bed/linens, I could not have asked for a more restful visit. The attache at the hotel also booked me a great last minute dinner reservation at Milos!
I highly recommend this new hotel. If do you stay...make sure you send a note on their scented stationary :) Very cool!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Samantha,
We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and thank you sincerely for your gracious thoughts! Your attention to detail inspires us to continue to refine our services and amenities. We’re charmed that our scented stationery made an impression on you and hope to welcome you back to the Quin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 466 in New York City
1,249 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 466 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 466 in New York City
1,399 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Property: the Quin
Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Central Park, the Quin offers effortless access to the best of New York City’s quintessential experiences – expanding upon what one imagines when thinking about Manhattan. The Quin melds modern opulence with its rich artistic heritage in each of its 208 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms, including 28 suites and a triplex Penthouse Suite. Guests enjoy intelligent services from the QA Concierge, as well as distinguished amenities including DUX® beds and Fresh® spa products. Exclusive direct-dial buttons in each room connect guests with personal shoppers at Bergdorf Goodman, and its Quin Arts program makes art and its creators accessible – immersing guests in NYC’s creative community via interactive artist salons, a remarkable permanent collection, and a 15-foot video art wall. Inspired by the vibrant creative energy of the city – at the intersection of art, nature, and fashion – the Quin is the Quintessential New York hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing