We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - some places just get it right!”
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
the Quin
Ranked #40 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Exceptional - some places just get it right!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My short stay at The Quin was a refreshing change from the regular disappointment of over-priced hotels with mediocre services and amenities. I have stayed at many hotels in NYC, and only The Quin excels at service, comfort, innovation, luxury, class and style! My reservation was seamless, taking advantage of a special discount through Tripadvisor, and was offered a complimentary upgrade upon checkin. The corner room was immaculate, extremely comfortable, impeccably designed and furnished, including the bathroom - a real treat. The room controls were simple to use and very useful. The only downside was that it was so comfortable, I didn't want to leave the room.

A couple of minor issues: I never got the promised New York Times; and I requested a 1pm checkout time without any problem, however they were calling my room at 12:30pm asking when I was leaving, making me feel rushed, and not leaving me with the same impression I had when I arrived.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend The Quin to anyone who appreciates exceptional service and first class luxury accommodations. Thank you.

Room Tip: 10th floor Corner room was great, roomy and good light, not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
pfgdl, thank you for your exceptional review and high recommendation. We are honored to read that the Quin was a refreshing change from other hotels in NYC. However "minor," we are very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered and will strive to absolutely perfect your experience upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,927
    574
    164
    53
    32
See reviews for
823
975
122
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is my third business stay here. The first time was on their second day so you could forgive a few issues. This time the air conditioning is the loudest of any hotel ever. One benefit is that it does drown out the noise of being on 57th street. This morning no hot water so a bracing cold shower. No apology from front desk. I was just told that they have heard that there is an issue. The breakfast service was the slowest of any NY restaurant, and they still got the orders wrong. The ship for dinner had more than seven times the weekly allowance for any human being.

They had tablets to control all the room setting but they were complex so have installed new system and this one does not work at all. Compactly incapable of controlling anything.

It may be slightly cheaper than surrounding hotels but I am not coming back. Good design but terrible execution. As I am on a business trip I do not need to spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: Go for the inside ones. The view is of the garbage shoot but it is quieter than being on 57th street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sashob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
sashob, please allow me to personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the working order of your room. Your comfort is our greatest priority, and I am very sorry for these most unfortunate and regrettable circumstances. Because our Front Desk shared your concerns with me upon your departure, I have reached out to you directly via email and would very much appreciate the chance to speak with you if your schedule allows. I look forward to the opportunity to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Recently returned from a 3 night stay at The Quin, the hotel itself is situated perfectly - very close to Central Park and comfortable walking distance to almost everything you could want to do. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - being offered an umbrella by the door staff on their judgement of the weather was a godsend, it almost always rained when they thought it would, even if we thought otherwise (local knowledge is a fantastic thing!). The only slight downside to this hotel was room service came quite early on our first morning, we turned this down and asked the maid to come back in 30 minutes once we were ready, this didn't happen and the room wasn't cleaned - we hadn't noticed the "service room" button by the door, so this potentially was our mistake. We were slightly disappointed that fresh towels weren't offered, considering this hotel is a 5*, we would have thought it would have been noted the room hadn't been cleaned and no fresh towels had been given, we didn't make an issue of this and just re-used towels. Turn down service also came quite early, around 7pm when we were still in the room getting ready for the night ahead. Apart from that, I can't fault this hotel and the lovely staff. I can't wait to return for another fantastic stay in the very near future!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
sldav, thank you for your fantastic review! We're delighted to read that you appreciated thoughtful service delivered by our helpful team and that we were able to ensure your comfort even outside of the hotel. However, I'm very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the delayed service of your room. We look forward to your return and would be happy to schedule service and turn down at your discretion upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Quin for 9 nights at the end of April. The service was exemplary at all levels and from all the staff. They were thoughtful and caring and the staff appeared quite content to be working at the Quin. It was an easy walk to Central Park and Broadway shows. Carnegie Hall was right on our street. The room was very clean and the amenities were perfectly suited to many needs. A great deal of care and follow-up was evident and appreciated...I would love to stay at the Quin again....LT, Tempe, Arizona

Room Tip: I had a room on a high floor and it was very quiet except for the air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
LATArizona, thank you for your excellent review. It's gratifying for all of us to read that you found our service to be exemplary at all levels. It was our pleasure to ensure your experience was perfectly suited to your needs, and we too would love to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a longer weekend. The hotel is in a very good location, relatively quiet part of Manhattan. The service is very professional and helpful. We enjoyed their modern look and equipment. The room was big enough, considering you are staying in New York ;-) It is quite pricey, but overall a very good tip if you are looking for modern and uncomplicated place to stay. Loved the black-out blinds available at your finger tip via the room operating tablet. The cleaning staff were fantastic and it was great to come back to a tidy room at night too. Will defintiely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Richard H, thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s a privilege to have earned your loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is well located, cheerful, excellent customer service. Would have given it five stars had it not been for the discomfort of the beds. Would stay there again and highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olfat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Olfat2013, thank you for your wonderful review. Your enthusiastic recommendations are much appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

well we stayed in the quin for 2 nights arrving on the 4th of may.On the first night we had an issue as the room was noisy and we didnt sleep well but Jim in reception didnt take long to get us a room which was much quiter with no view.We were not worried about a biew so it suited us fine.This room was 701 so if you are looking for a quite room,go for this one.

The hotel is very nice and has great staff and is within easy walking distance to everywhere.

We got room service one night and it was nice although pricey

We would have no hessitation in recommending the Quin hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper,then get a room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snuggycork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Snuggycork, on behalf of Jim and the entire team, thank you for your great review. Thank you also for allowing us to find accommodations that better suited your needs during your stay. We’re delighted you enjoyed a lovely visit, and we hope to welcome you back to the Quin upon your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 467 in New York City
1,279 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Property: the Quin
Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Central Park, the Quin offers effortless access to the best of New York City’s quintessential experiences – expanding upon what one imagines when thinking about Manhattan. The Quin melds modern opulence with its rich artistic heritage in each of its 208 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms, including 28 suites and a triplex Penthouse Suite. Guests enjoy intelligent services from the QA Concierge, as well as distinguished amenities including DUX® beds and Fresh® spa products. Exclusive direct-dial buttons in each room connect guests with personal shoppers at Bergdorf Goodman, and its Quin Arts program makes art and its creators accessible – immersing guests in NYC’s creative community via interactive artist salons, a remarkable permanent collection, and a 15-foot video art wall. Inspired by the vibrant creative energy of the city – at the intersection of art, nature, and fashion – the Quin is the Quintessential New York hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing