We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional!”
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the Quin
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Functional!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It was a 4 day business trip. I booked it through Hotwire filtering only five stars hotels located in midtown and times square. The hotel is well located. It is close to Central Park and there is a subway station right besides the hotel, but pay attention because that station does not work in some occasions like holidays (I was there during the Memorial Day). The reception is not imponent, but there was no line to checkin, so it was fast. The room was quite small, but it was clean and there were plenty of amenities like complimentary bottled water, free wi-fi and very large towels. There was a tablet to control the shades (yes, you can control them through the tablet), the radio and the lights. In addition, the weather forecast was available in the tablet. Very useful. I would say it is not on the top 5 stars hotels in NY, but it really worked well for my needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Edisonsy, thank you for your review. We’re delighted that our location and amenities were very useful to you and worked well for your needs during your business trip, but we would love to learn how we could earn a place in your top hotels in NYC by further improving your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    569
    157
    52
    32
See reviews for
798
965
116
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here with my mom for a shopping weekend. The attache was very helpful getting show tickets ahead of time. The room was larger than other hotel rooms I've had in NYC. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was nice with great amenities and everything in the room was controlled with a tablet. The room service was tasty and quick. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omunck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Omunck6, it was our pleasure to welcome you and your mom for a shopping weekend in NYC. Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to share your thoughts with the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Quin on a weekend getaway. We had a great time from the time we walk through the front door until our exit. The service was incredible from the front desk staff at check in to the room service staff that made us feel like we were family. We spoke with room service to recommend some wine and appetizers and the combination that was suggested was beyond words! The total experience of the hotel was really special, it has a certain New York vibe with the ambience of the lobby area and the artwork placed around the hotel. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Rich H, thank you for your amazing review! As our guests, it was our privilege to make you and your wife feel like family during your weekend getaway. It's really special to read such incredible feedback, and I am so pleased to share your words with the entire team. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A group of six of us spent four nights at the Quin as part of a double-birthday celebration in NY last weekend. Before we arrived, I sent numerous emails to the General Manager, Holly, requesting last-minute changes to our reservations -- all of which requested changes were of our own doing. Holly could not have been more accommodating. By way of example, she and the Director of Front Office, Miriam, upgraded one of our three reservations at no additional cost so all six of us could be placed on the same upper-level floor. Miriam then personally welcomed us at check-in to ensure the process ran smoothly. And in each room they placed a beautiful box of delicious chocolates, together with a hand-written note welcoming us to the Quin. Management's commitment to pleasing their guests exemplifies what this new hotel is all about.

Every other employee we encountered was equally mindful of wanting to serve the hotel's guests. The attaches, the front desk staff, the doormen -- all were outstanding, and always doing their jobs with smiles on their faces.

Our rooms were certainly large enough by NY standards. The beds were super comfy, the amenities were top-shelf, the blackout drapes worked beautifully, the technology was cutting edge, and the water pressure in the shower was the best I've ever experienced in any hotel in the world. It was that good!! And if you enjoy a good apple, don't miss a visit to the 2d floor gym.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will certainly return to the Quin whenever we are in NY. Considering the price we paid and the service we received, our expectations were far, far exceeded.

Room Tip: Upper-level rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUFan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
ManUFan2014, on behalf of Miriam and the entire team, thank you for your outstanding review. It was truly our pleasure to help you and your party celebrate your birthdays. It is so gratifying to read that we exceeded your expectations through our commitment to providing impeccable service. Thank you again for your inspiring feedback. It is a privilege to have earned your loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just returned from my first trip to The Quin, and I was very impressed. Great location to be sure, but I was most impressed with the staff. They were all kind and polite, and gave one a sense of welcome upon each arrival back to the hotel. The rooms were clean and new. I will certainly return to The Quin on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Alexander A, thank you for your great review! We are so pleased to read that you were impressed by your experience and particularly by our staff. I am very proud to share your thoughts with the entire team. We look forward to your return to the Quin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

very expensive and the rooms were small; there was a smoker on our floor that made the hallway smell; we waited an hour to retrieve our car after we were told it would be 15-20 minutes; staff was great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Robert G, thank you for your comments. I am pleased to read that you were happy with our great staff, but I am very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. We are indeed a non-smoking hotel and will be addressing your concerns accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay, the amenities for my two young children (1yr and 3 yrs old) were very generous and thoughtful, My husband has celiac disease it was nice for the hotel to accommodate our needs, especially the Wayfarer restaurant (Chef came to our table to discuss my husband's meal) and the in room dining agent was very helpful and careful after understanding how sick my husband can get. At check-in the two female front desk team members were very professional and courteous, continuously smiling and we felt very welcomed (like no other other hotel I have been to in Manhattan). I recruit C-Suite executives for hotels all over the world and I must say it was absolute pleasure to staying with a hotel that focuses so highly on customer service. I can't forget the team members at the entry of the hotel as well, always helpful and SMILING!!!!! We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tasneem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Tasneem D, thank you for your fabulous review. It was a privilege to ensure that you and your family were well cared for during your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your return. Thank you again for your heartfelt support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
1,252 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 467 in New York City
1,606 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Property: the Quin
Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Central Park, the Quin offers effortless access to the best of New York City’s quintessential experiences – expanding upon what one imagines when thinking about Manhattan. The Quin melds modern opulence with its rich artistic heritage in each of its 208 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms, including 28 suites and a triplex Penthouse Suite. Guests enjoy intelligent services from the QA Concierge, as well as distinguished amenities including DUX® beds and Fresh® spa products. Exclusive direct-dial buttons in each room connect guests with personal shoppers at Bergdorf Goodman, and its Quin Arts program makes art and its creators accessible – immersing guests in NYC’s creative community via interactive artist salons, a remarkable permanent collection, and a 15-foot video art wall. Inspired by the vibrant creative energy of the city – at the intersection of art, nature, and fashion – the Quin is the Quintessential New York hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing