We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 men and their extended Asian family visit NYC to show 'em the sights and sounds ...”
Review of the Quin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
the Quin
Ranked #40 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
WEST HOLLYWOOD
2 reviews
“2 men and their extended Asian family visit NYC to show 'em the sights and sounds ...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Quin is very handsome 1 yr. old remodel in fantastic location. Staff is very good. Rooms very clean. HVAC issues imo. JMO, but I think this hotel should book for 599.00 per room max and not 699.00 for basic room. Next time, although I was content, I will more carefully review pricing of direct competitors. While no bathtub, excellent shower experience in CORNER rooms. Basic rooms not at "fabulous", but appreciate multi head shower option and personal hand-held. TOWELS were HORRIFIC -- my personal experience is perhaps unique -- I find most towels of any quality are not soft after several washings. So, I guess the only solution would be brand new towels each guest each booking -- in my dreams I realize, but still, gotta soften those towels somehow. Needs better evening lighting and poor sink faucet choice. Very attentive and professional staff. Concierge needs some more training and hands on experience of NYC -- i'm guessing she hasn't been around the town too often herself --- hey, someone give this gal a 3-day tour on the house to experience everything herself ! She deserves that type training. Lastly, those sink-in down sleep pillows are not for everyone -- I thought I would drown -- would be nice to have alternate sleep pillow choice. I'd likely return for this location, but i'm gonna dblcheck pricing re. value. I don't mind spending close to 700.00 for a room, but I expect WYNN quality for that !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Steven T, thank you for your helpful comments. We strive to provide the utmost value to all our guests through personalized experiences and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, I'd be happy to learn more about your preferences. I can be reached at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,931
    577
    165
    53
    32
See reviews for
827
978
122
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall good experience. Rooms are small but that is pretty much par for NYC. It was very clean and I liked the noise of the fan as it filtered out street traffic noise. We didn't spend that much time in the room to much care about the small space. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I judge this based on the fact I own a tempurpedic at home. Enjoyed the rain shower and abundance of hot water. Great location. 10 min. walk to the double decker tour buses and a 10 min. walk to central park. The hotel room and hallway did get a musty smell with the rain we had that weekend but I imagine that would be with any hotel with carpeting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickySixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
NickySixx, thank you for your great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend in NYC. We sincerely regret if the rain put a damper on your experience in any way, and we thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Horrible looking block from the outside but inside everything modern and tasteful. I had a corner room which was tastefully done - top quality Frette linen, good extras, large comfortable bed, big TV big walk-in shower (no bath). Quite a bit smaller than I expected but fine. Good exercise room, very attentive service - the Attaché service quickly got me Yankees tickets. Free coffee and water. Attached restaurant and bar looks nice but didn't use it. They don't provide a hotel guide so you have to ask about facilities, which I found a bit strange - so not sure what else they have - I'll probably get home and find they had a spa and roof-top bar! I booked direct and got a decent price. Given free Bergdorf Goodman card for $50. Will go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 186338Marcel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
186338Marcel01, thank you for your excellent review! We're so glad you enjoyed our services and amenities and would be happy to personally introduce you to more of our offerings upon your next visit, or feel free to scroll through our canvas of services on the in-room TV. We very much look forward to your return and thank you for giving us the opportunity to earn your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited for my wife's birthday with my 17 month old son, who was treated like royalty since day one!
Holly B. and her whole team always went the extra mile for our needs.
Where upgraded to a beautiful junior suite.
Very nice and educated guests attending The Quin made our experience simply outstanding.
Thank you Holly for keeping our expectations as hi as they could've been.
Hope to see you whenever we visit NY again.



Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Mauricio C, thank you for your outstanding review. Cultivating a friendly community is very important to us at the Quin, and we're absolutely delighted you enjoyed your wife's birthday with your family. Thank you for inspiring us to keep expectations as high as they could be! We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmvale, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

No ice machines in the hotel. Asked for ice to be delivered at 2:45 at the front desk. Phoned down at 3:15 wondering when it would arrive...was told ithin 2 minutes......actually arrived another 20 minutes later ...total of 50 minutes ...if you want coffe or ice, stay at another hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve_CT8365JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Steve_CT8365JE, I am very sorry for the inconvenience this delayed delivery caused you. Please be assured that this unusual occurrence is not reflective of the excellent service we strive to maintain. We respect that your time is very valuable and offer our most sincere apologies. I would appreciate the chance to regain your confidence. At your convenience, I can be reached at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading the glowing reviews, we decided to give it a chance. The positives is the location, great service alwAys with a smile and wonderful bed. The negatives is the extremely small rooms, I can cope with a small bathroom but the room was very small even with the upgraded room we got. No room for luggage at all and not enough storage, the ac was noisy and was leaking water and the windows were not soundproof even on the 9th floor it was abit noisy... The iPad control weasel nice but acted up abit.

Even though I loved the service the size of the room will probably not bring me here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtual_Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
virtual_Doha, thank you for selecting the Quin because of our great service and reviews. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and appreciate your giving us the chance to address your concerns. We'd love to earn your loyalty, so please allow me to personally introduce you to larger room types that might better suit you upon your return to New York. I can be reached at hbreuche@thequinhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

After visiting in March, I returned for 2 nights. I was welcomed back by the entire team who were anxious to meet my every desire. The service is top notch. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The location is great. All in all this is now my default for all my trips to New York, business or personal. Thank you Quin!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NG1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B, General Manager at the Quin, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
NG1058, thank you for your wonderful review and for giving us the chance to earn your loyalty. It's a privilege to be your second home, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back upon each visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 466 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 466 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the Quin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the Quin

Property: the Quin
Address: 101 West 57th Street, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — the Quin 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Central Park, the Quin offers effortless access to the best of New York City’s quintessential experiences – expanding upon what one imagines when thinking about Manhattan. The Quin melds modern opulence with its rich artistic heritage in each of its 208 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms, including 28 suites and a triplex Penthouse Suite. Guests enjoy intelligent services from the QA Concierge, as well as distinguished amenities including DUX® beds and Fresh® spa products. Exclusive direct-dial buttons in each room connect guests with personal shoppers at Bergdorf Goodman, and its Quin Arts program makes art and its creators accessible – immersing guests in NYC’s creative community via interactive artist salons, a remarkable permanent collection, and a 15-foot video art wall. Inspired by the vibrant creative energy of the city – at the intersection of art, nature, and fashion – the Quin is the Quintessential New York hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your the Quin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel New York City
Buckingham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing