We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hudson view and New Jersey skyline” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #394 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Wien, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hudson view and New Jersey skyline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

4 blocks from PAT Terminal you'll find an unspectacular hotel with a very friendly staff. Rooms are clean, functionally furnished. The breakfast buffet every day from 7/10 sometimes not easy to find a place as there are so many options of what to get that people tend to stay long. Free newspaper from Mon to Fri in the lobby. Nights are quiet, no street noise as you'll experience round Times Square. So you should really try it as within 5 minutes you have all major subways to reach any place you want

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Heide J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Heide J,

Thank you, for taking a few minutes of your time to let us know about your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. Our goal is to make sure our guest have a comfortable and pleasurable experience while under our care. Our complimentary hot American breakfast buffet is quite delicious and our top of the line Tempur-pedic mattresses in every room offer incredible comfort.

Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    269
    216
    86
    72
See reviews for
174
198
56
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Best Western Convention Center Hotel and found that the Staff went out of their way to be helpful and accomodating. The room (although small) was spotlessly clean and was more than adequate for the two of us. Our first stay was only for two days then we came back a fortnight later and stayed a further week. The rates are quite reasonable for New York and we would gladly return there if we again holiday in New York.

John and Pam Walton

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wackywalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Wackywalton,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service and affordable room rates. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overall I was very happy with my stay here. Price is reasonable by Manhattan standards. The rooms are small (again, to be expected in Manhattan), but they are spotless and they do the best they can to make it comfortable. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel, no exaggeration. Another great feature of this hotel is that the windows actually open. Nice, helpful people at the front desk. This is the closest hotel to the Javits Center...not the most exciting neighborhood, but great choice if you have business there, and really not too long of a walk to the heart of Midtown.

Only downsides were noise (if you forget to set your alarm, don't worry because the train will wake you up), and the "clean remote" for the TVs don't work right (not just me, other people were complaining about it as well). Apparently using these remotes is a directive from BW corporate and should not be held against the property. This hotel is a very good value for NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Joshua M,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Convention Center and thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and our staff. Our rooms are modest, but offer a great deal of comfort and warmth. Each room offers top of the line Tempur-pedic beds, which as you have experienced, provide a blissful sleeping experience. Our proximity to the Javit Center is ideal for guest that have business at the Convention Center or merely plan on attending one of their many great shows.

Unfortunately, the sounds of New York City is something we have no control over. On your next visit, kindly ask our customer service staff to place you in a room on a higher floor to eliminate any noise issues. If we have available occupancies, we will gladly accommodate you.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staff, cleanliness of the room, breakfast, all great value. Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast was excellent each morning. Ideal if you only need a place to sleep and enjoy the sights of NY. A few blocks from the subway and always a cab nearby if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Ron F.,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and the great amenities we offer. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms, our substantial American breakfast buffet, and affordable room rates. Our proximity to the Javit Center, Times Square, and the theater district, makes us an ideal destination for business travelers and families looking for the best rates in New York City. We look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Thank You,

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I must say apart from having to walk loads to get places it is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in New York. Myself and 2 others one being 13 years old where very impressed with all they could offer. There are not many hotels in New York that offer a completrey breakfast in the price. We had a lovely room with plenty off space & a bathroom with a bath nice & relaxing after all that walking we did. The reception staff where very helpful & couldn't do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel or chain off hotels to anyone that is going to New York.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboop_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Bettyboop,

I'm glad to hear your 3 nights at our hotel was a pleasurable experience for you and your family. We pride ourselves in the quality of our staff, cleanliness/comfort of our rooms, and amenities. Our American style breakfast buffet offers many great selections to choice from, considering our more than affordable room rates. Again, we thank you for your hospitality and look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is one of the most affordable 2.5 star hotels in New York City. It is 10 minutes walk to Time Square and Penn Station. The only issue with this hotel is that it is next to a TAXI mechanic shop that is open 24/7. My suggestion is that you try to reserve a room that is on last floor and in the back to avoid the street noise. The room is super clean, AC works fine, and it it has a nice flat HD TV.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank twahibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
twahibell,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Best Western Convention Center. Our affordability and close proximity to the major attractions of New York City, makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler and those that are looking to take in the sights. We also pride ourselves in the cleanliness of the rooms, comforts of our high end beds, and cable ready high definition LCD televisions in every room.

We do regret the commotion that at times occurs across our location, but as you stated in your post, any guest is welcomed to request a certain floor at check-in. We also, will gladly relocate any guest to another room if the commotion becomes a nuisance.

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor, and look forward to your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is worst of the worst. no bell man to greet you, and handle luggage. Internet is slower than dial-up, rooms need updating, while we were there 4 of the rooms on our floor were being treated for bedbugs. Only 12 tv channels were offered. NONE were hi-def. rooms cramped, Only had about 1 foot walking around bed. Rooms need updating. Stay away! NOT A GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank roachez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCCRelationsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Roachez,

I'm a bit perplexed about your review, and your statement about not having a bellman to carry your luggage for you. We are a modest hotel with great amenities, at affordable prices. Unfortunately, we do not have the means to employ a full time bellman, but our caring and helpful front desk staff would have been more than willing to assist you with your luggage, if requested. We also have an elevator, that can be taken from street level to our reception area.

All our rooms come with, 40' in. LCD high definition televisions, satellite cable service, high end tempurpedic beds, and access to 24/7 wifi.

We recommend to all our guest, that if a problem arises during their stay, to please not hesitate to contact our customer service staff immediately, so that we may remedy the situation. I've reviewed our records, and found no mention of the issues you have commented on in you review.

We appreciate your review, and hope your next stay at the Best Western Convention Center can be more enjoyable.

Rob B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#359 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing