We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #263 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed at the W Times Square for 5 days this month (Jan 5-9) and here are my thoughts.

The positives:

Location - the hotel is literally on the corner of 47th and Broadway, right in the heart of Times Square. Just about anything is within walking distance: Theatres, Restaurant Row, 30 Rock etc.

The Bed - our room (2801) had a really comfortable king size bed

Elevator Mats - in the morning, the mats inside of the elevators say "Good Morning" and in the afternoon they replace them with mats that say "Good Afternoon." Not a big deal, however a nice touch.

The negatives were:

Cleanliness: When my wife and I checked in, the washroom in the room wasn't clean. We found hair on the toilet that didn't belong to us. When we informed that manager, he offered to move us to an other room, however it had a view of the Hudson as opposed to the city, which didn't really work for us. They had their cleaning staff come in again and they did clean it...but the negative feeling never really went away.

TV Remote - I am very well versed when it comes to TVs and their remotes and for the life of me I couldn't get this thing to do anything other than turn the TV on.

Hotel Reception - is on the 7th floor. So when you walk in, there are 3 elevators that can take you to the 7th floor. There are then 3 more elevators that can take you to your floor. Not a huge deal, however it was a bit of a pain having to get off on the 7th floor and having to take another elevator every time I entered or left the hotel.

WiFi / Internet - in the rooms they charge for it. On the 7th floor by reception it is complimentary, however in the rooms there is a fee. Nothing but a cash grab if you ask me. I can stay at a Comfort Inn and get complimentary WiFi - not sure why the W seems to think its ok to charge for it.

In Room Food - very over priced. They charge $7 for a small bottle of water! And the room service prices are just as crazy; something like $27 bucks for bacon and eggs!

Long Distance - I made 2 calls home, NYC to Toronto, each of them were less than 15 minutes each and they dinged me over $50 for each phone call.

Not sure I would stay there again - too many other quality hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2801
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for your response we will definitely look into your comments especially in regards to room cleanliness. That is definitely not the type of lasting impression we want you to have and in no way is that up to W standards. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us and look forward to your next visit. Please contact us and we will insure that you will have a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    1,310
    598
    306
    180
See reviews for
862
1,328
226
886
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This was our second trip to New York and we had a fab time Xmas is special. the hotel is well positioned but isn't without fault, we recieved an upgrade which was a bonus and had a room on the 50th floor - fast lifts a bit scary.
The room itself was clean and well serviced, but could definately do with a face lift as the furniture and decor was tired. The other issue would relate to the 'howlings' - this was the noise you had to endure should anyone in another room open the window - perhaps an area that the hotel needs to try and resolve so that people have the option to open a window and enjoy the view.
The customer services were quick efficient and always helpful.
The gym was clean and well maintained and the equipment was a good quality - even if a little complex in the free weights area. Getting there was also a little strange as you had to go down to floor 7 to then switch elevator to go back up to floor 10.
Overall the position of the hotel was spot on - a great deli next door so didn't miss the lack of tea/ coffee facilities too much.

Room Tip: push for a higher floor as road noise could limit your sleep (as high as possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridkev_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for your response we will definitely look into your comments about the windows and face lift of the furniture. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Where do I begin on how great this place is. I took my Fiancé for her 21st Birthday and was not disappointed one bit. On arrival we were greeted by friendly doormen who offered to help with our bags, but as seeing it was only us two we were ok. Once we arrived in the lobby you have to take an elevator up to the main foyer so very secure for any people with paranoia. Greeted by a lavish lounge area with reception just off set. We got our keys and told which elevators to go to( different ones for different levels of hotel). Once we open our door we were happily surprised by the cleanliness of it all and the beauty of the view. It looked over Times Square itself and could happily sit on our chaise long and watch the world below us. It is a perfect hotel as everything is situated around you. As my partner said, "I thought Times Square be a once only thing, yet here we are using it as a shining beacon to find our hotel".
They are plenty of restaurants around, including it's own Blue fin (fish bar). which we didn't visit unfortunately but yet looked delicious. The only downfall we said was we wished the outsides of the windows were a bit cleaner to get a clearer view for our photos but other than that it was magnificent. Truly a holiday that will be forever remembered. Well done W, you truly impressed us.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up as you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank You for the response we are glad that you decided to stay at the W Times Square. It makes us very happy to hear that you had such a wonderfull experience at our property we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had a great three days at the W. Staff was fantastic, view was unbelievable, and special thanks to Patrick Armano (the director of guest experiences) for making our stay even more enjoyable. Even in the middle of the bright and busy Times Square, this was our oasis!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHassler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you had a great experience. We look forward to your return to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

As a frequent visitor to New York, i have now chosen to stay here every time I go. This hotel is perfectly located and teh service is top notch. I do get an upgrade through my spg membership and feel welcome here. Do try to go for the higher floors!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi there David G,

Congrats on your status in the Starwood Preferred Guest program! We appreciate your loyalty to the brand and love that we are your top-choice destination in the Big Apple. During your next escape with us, contact me at patrick.armano@whotels.com so that I may help you continue to abandon the expected!

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We loved the location at the W Times Square. We walked to most places even when it was 32 degrees! The hotel is very modern, funky which is a great NY feel. However, its a little much in the room. There is low lighting in the room, a waterfall bathroom sink which was difficult to use and not practical with 4 people sharing this tiny, one sink bathroom. The room was too small for two teen girls and us. No great place to put our suitcases and new shopping finds! I would stay here with two adults...one child but not with a fam of four. But service great! Staff great! My husband and i will stay here again...alone!

Helpful?
Thank Amgs16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi there Amgs16,

We loved having you! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience- I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our ideal location to explore the Big Apple and all it has to offer. On your next trip, I encourage you to book a Fantastic Suite, as this room type offers twice the space and amenities as the "double room" you selected on this trip. By all means, once you have booked, drop me a line at patrick.armano@whotels.com so that I may help heighten your experience!

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Worth the money, right by times square, view not great but bedroom amazing, could have slept all weekend, staff so helpful and the bar and restaurant excellent (bar is super trendy so go prepared - hopefully Virgin Atlantic will not lose your case like mine but hey it's an excuse to shop!Do a helicopter trip if you are only there for a few days -saves time and you still see everything

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#183 of 466 in New York City
2,322 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,346 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 466 in New York City
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#178 of 466 in New York City
10,650 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 466 in New York City
7,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing