We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #259 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Came here a few years ago for a works do, the location is amazing just off time square so it is so easy to get around the city and it has to be the best hotel I have stayed in NYC. The rooms were lovely and we had a great view of the square and you really get that feel of the buzz of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location right in the middle of Times Square. It certainly is an exciting and energetic place to be, and it sounds as though you are due for another visit soon! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us prior to your next visit so we can ensure it is as wonderful as your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,277
    582
    300
    173
See reviews for
839
1,304
220
860
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have been an hotelier for greater than 40 years and personally I have stayed in Starwood hotels for 1000+ nights. I understand the importance of paying attention to details, and that “little things mean a lot.” When it comes to guest satisfaction, the W New York Times Square is simply the best of the best.

The most important element of any successful hotel is its staff. Everybody I came in contact with at the W was polite and well trained. Check-in went smoothly, and though I arrived early and had to wait a short time for my room, I received a phone call as soon as it was available. At check-out time I was amazed that the guest service representative did not ask for my room number – she actually recognized me and remembered which room I was in.

The room I stayed in was very clean and the furnishings were in good taste and in excellent condition. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was considering it is in the heart of New York City. I am probably one of the few people that still prefer a bathtub so the shower-only was a disappointment, but I am well aware that most guests would desire the W Hotel’s large walk-in shower.

Location is important and the W New York Times Square is in the center of most attractions. I was there to see Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and I only walked a couple blocks to have a great view. Everything I wanted to do was just a short walk away. The W is in the center of the theater district, not far from the boutiques on Fifth Avenue, and near many good restaurants.

I am retired but if I were still in the hotel business I would be proud to be associated with such a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful remarks with us! We agree that the "little things" mean alot and we work diligently each day to build a service culture, responsive to the individual needs of our guests. We regret that all of our rooms do not have bathtubs in them, but we can certainly work with you to accomodate this preference in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when your travels return you to the W Times Square so we can ensure another great getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Husband and I wanted a long weekend getaway. Our SPG ambassador set up the reservation and we requested suite upgrade. Upgrades weren't available, so we ended up with a regular room in the tower.

Other reviews mentioned the thin walls, and a room near us had several young children in it. We could hear them shrieking and jumping around even after we returned from the theater on Friday night. Saturday morning wasn't any better with the kids opening and closing the room door and shouting in the alcove.

We had a couple minor issues taken care of first thing Saturday AM so housekeeping and security get gold stars for quick fixes. One complaint is the bathroom. We had a tiny freestanding sink and no place to put even the small bar of soap without it sliding into the sink. There's a metal bakers rack with towels and very small space to put a mans toiletry kit on top. There is no shelf or counter space for anything. The toilet seat and tank both sloped forward, so I couldn't even put my curling iron there to warm up without it sliding to the floor. The bakers rack is open metal and you can't put anything on top that's smaller than a Kleenex box or else it would fall through the wires. Bad lighting in the bathroom. Fresh towels had dark stains on them, and were relatively threadbare. We're used to the heavier, Turkish towels and robes that other W properties have.

This is a great location for theater...Lion King, Chicago, Book of Mormon are within two blocks of the hotel. You are across the street from the Time Square Broadway ticket booth for same day discount ticket sales. Lots of cabs and the doormen are very friendly.

Great stay all around, just minor annoyances.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 35th floor, separate set of elevators and you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles7195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we truly appreciate your honest and balanced review. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and our team was able to quickly take care of your needs upon request. Please note we have also gladly shared your comments with our entire team for future reference as we are always looking to improve your experience with us. Thank you once again for reaching out and please do not hesitate to advise us should you need anything at all during your next stay - we are here for you 24/7!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The W hotel times square has ALWAYS been the best experience for myself. Decided to take my daughter for her 18th birthday to celebrate and once again the W was the best choice. Friendly staff and excellent service as ALWAYS.....Kristin Collura in particular. She will help you with anything you need. The W times square is the place to be!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank only1bigwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that your daughter and you had a great birthday celebration with us! We're here for you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed four nights over summer with the family. Perfect Time Square position. The best thing about the W is you are in the heart of Time Square and all it's madness and yet you are one elevator ride (actually 2 as we were in the tower) from sheer tranquility. Rooms are standard W fare - beautiful, well appointed and yet simple. Room service every morning was extremely punctual. Loved the loaner umbrellas - they were huge and classy at the same time. Concierge desk was not as helpful as I would have liked or expected - only negative in an extremely positive stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottaluvsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time and providing us a balance feedback. We are glad we were able to make your family escape enjoyable. We apologize you didn't have a positive experience with our concierge. That's definitely not the standard that we strive for. Should your travel bring you back to NYC, do not hesitate to reach out to us prior to the arrival and we'll make sure you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

One of the better W's I have stayed at. Room was modern and a decent size. Located right in Times Square. There is a bar at the bottom of the hotel and one in the lobby (7th floor). Unfortunately, I was there less than 24 hours so really didn't have time to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We're glad you had a great W experience with us.
We hope to see you again in the future for an extended escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lockport, new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

our first time staying at the w. everyone was very accommodating. we asked for an early checkin as we had a early flight and were in the city by noon. they had a room ready for us by one oclock. we were very appreciative. we were given a corner room with two windows facing times square, it was great. we certainly had no issues with the bright lights! the shades worked great. the room was wonderful. very clean. bed was comfortable. no bites on us! concierge were very helpful with restaurant tips. had a drink in the living room. nice bartender! we got lost a couple of times, but eventually found our way back. had breakfast at the blue fin. excellent! would certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: the corner rooms have two windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butcherboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving us such great comments. We appreciate it. I'm happy that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of W NY- Times Square. I hope you can come back soon for a longer getaway. Be in touch. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,903 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing