We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service & sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Location, service & sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

You wouldn't think W hotels cater to the business traveler - but out of any hotel I have stayed in during my career in NYC - this W is now my go to. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, room service is quick and the food is good, bathrooms are large, showers are nice and I can get to most of my meeting from the central location. I run in Central park every morning (which is very close) and can catch a broadway show easily at night if I want to.

Room Tip: the higher you go the less street noise which is the case of any Time Sq hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your loyalty. Please be in touch prior to your next arrival and I'll ensure that you have another extraordinary stay. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,757
    1,262
    573
    298
    170
See reviews for
818
1,290
219
846
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked the W Times Square because I was told by travel agent it was a level above most hotels - not so. Yes, the lobby is uber cool etc. but the room was tired and in need of work.
The worst issue was the bed-they put a doona/comforter on top of the mattress then put a bottom sheet on top of that. the doona is not tied down, the bottom sheet does not tuck in - both move as you move!! A rumpled, crumpled mess is the result! I believe this is their way of making beds more comfortable rather than spending money on new mattresses. carpet is lifting and frayed near tiles; wall paper has marks etc. and is lifting in places. we could have had a much much better room at another hotel for the money we paid at the W. Bedside light took 3 hours to fix. Car valets were great-pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: best tip- try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW-Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello there. I apologize for your less than perfect stay. I will pass along your feedback for our upcoming renovation. I hope you will give us another try in the future.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed at every Starwoods in the city, including the St. Regis (once!). Most are very good, all have their benefits, but this property is our favorite hands down.

Best location, best access, best captures the energy and vibration of the NYC. Easy access to theaters, cheap eats, fine eats, Penn Station, subway to everything else. Cabs are easily hailed thanks to a truly active team of hotel professionals.

Much better service here from welcome, to checkin through housekeeping than we have experienced at any other W anywhere in the world. That, frankly, surprised us.

Standard rooms are okay, opt for as high as you can get to reduce voice. Pull shades if you don't like the ambience of large screens flashing color into your bedroom all night long, but we adapted and loved it.

Our only beef with Ws in general is the lack of coffeepots automatically placed in rooms. But the Starbucks very conveniently placed across the street offset that a bit at this property.

For cheap souvenirs, the hat and tee shirt vendor there on the corner is very reasonable, as are multiple stores over on 8th.

Room Tip: Request higher floors. Check in nearer 4 pm. If you are SPG and have suite nights, go for it, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIbbewdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic comments about W NY- Times Square. We are looking forward to your return. If you ever decide you would like a more peaceful view, request a hudson view. It's lovely. We can also give you a coffee maker upon request. Please be in touch with me before your next stay. I'll make sure it's extraordinary. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enjoyed stay. Convenient to everything. Very Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful concierge. Luxurious rooms, very modern. Best bathrooms of any hotel. Great showers. DVD player in upper level rooms was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damitchl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your feedback. It sounds like you had a great trip. Please come back and see us again soon. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you want to stay in Times Square in a comfortable and trendy hotel, the W is the place. It's a W, so you know what to expect and they always deliver. Great rooms, good view, and quiet rooms will bring the best of staying in Times Square. Walking distance to Broadway, Central Park, Metro station, MOMA and many other attractions. I always stay in this hotel when traveling to NY.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diegonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty to W NY- Times Square. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please be in touch. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riyadh
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed 5 nights in the great hotel. The interior design of the rooms was modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave me a roll away for free. Simply, I felt like home. The only thing I didn't like in the room was the small rest room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate it. Please come back and stay with us again soon. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is high-end and cool. I loved the "living room" lobby, especially at night with video of the city projected onto the columns in the room, and all kinds of interesting lighting features. My room was on the 51st floor, with a good view of the west side of the city. The rooms are very nice, modern, and hip, again, with interesting lighting features in the room. Plenty of plugs to charge stuff, and a wet bar with plenty of red bull etc. Really good overall. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but the menu looked great. If you're looking for a room in midtown, this is a sure bet. It was really quiet up there in the sky on the 51st floor!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you telling the world how cool we are :) Please come back to stay with us again soon. We have some really cool things in store for 2015 so stay tuned and be in touch. kristin.collura@whotels.com

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,096 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,598 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing