We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Consistent and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2005

I have stayed at many hotels, up and down the scale... I have to rank this hotel as one of my favorites because it's consistent and the location is convienant (heart of times square, never short of a cab, expensive/cheap food can be found around the corner, starbucks and mcdonalds around the corner, etc).

I typically stay away from modern Ian Schragger type hotels (HATE THEM)... so despite the modern/hip decor at this hotel, I like it because it's a new hotel compared to the other two W hotels on the east side (renovated apartment building). Those rooms are tiny and the fixures are OLD... at this location, it's modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are comfortably spacey (not large but decent for NY), the beds/comforters always meet expectations, the service is good... the concierage always makes good restaurant recommendations.

The only negative is that the lobby acts as a bar (during the weekends it gets pretty crowded). The music can be loud but it doesn't carry to the room.

  • Stayed December 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,277
    582
    299
    172
See reviews for
839
1,303
220
859
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2005

Just got back from the W hotel in Times square. The hotel was a very nice hotel and most of the staff was very friendly. There were a couple things we didnt like about the hotel -

when we got there our tv didnt work, and we could not get our door to stay closed. they had to come up and fix both. Not a big deal but just wanted to point them out.

The bathrooms are tiny, no seperation between the toilet and the shower. So very little privacy. The shower door sucked and every time we took a shower the bathroom got water everywhere.

Our main complaint was the rudeness of the bartender in the main bar. The gal kept making our drinks wrong according to the drink menu and when we finally brought it to her attention she became even ruder. At $12.50 a pop, we were not very happy. We had to get the bar manager involved who offered very little except to remake our last drink (we spent $300 at the bar over 3 days which isnt a ton considering the drink prices) The next day i spoke to the hotel manager who was very apolgetic and credited our drinks from the previous night. The bar manager told us the bar was a seperate entity and not part of the hotel, which we really could care less about, we just wanted hassle free service.

The hotel staff was amazing. They were all so nice. The door guys were always so friendly, and the concierge made reservations for us in some of the nicest places. We had a blast.

I worked out every morning in the hotel gym, which was full of basic precor equipment, and had lots of cardio. We had a massage and a facial, the massage was nice, the facial was not so great.

We dropped about $1,000 the whole time we were at the hotel as it was our anniversary and the only complaint we really had was the rudeness of the hotel bar girl with long frizzy hair LOL

There is a great deli next door with cold drinks, great food, and open 24 hours. Also a starbucks about 300 feet from the front door.

There is also a roxy deli about 4 stores down, a planet hollywood with a great bartender (we went there after the w hotel girl was rude to us), and walking distance to some great places.

If you have any questions drop us a line. Also I buy unwanted american air miles if anyone has any.

good luck

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucergoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the W hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. It was amazing how quiet the hotel is compared to the noise and action of Times Square. The location was very convienent.

The decor was modern featuring darker colors, which I found quite pleasing (especially after having my senses assaulted by the HONKING and blaring lights outside). The staff was friendly and greeted us each time we left and returned to the hotel. I did not have any problems with the staff as everyone was very accomodating.

I searched long and hard for a hotel within this price range that would offer the convienence and cleanliness. The W is a good place to stay. Upon return I would like to stay in a different area besides Times Square (though it was a good experience as a first time visitor to NYC.) Greenwich Village and SoHo as well as the business district would be a nice place to stay.

Good luck on your travels.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2005

I have just returned having stayed at the W for 5 nights .
Although there were a few teething problems with my requested room , these were soon resolved to our satisfaction. Infact the hotel and staff couldn`t have been more friendly and helpful.
I thought the hotel was excellent value as they let my 17 year old daughter and friend stay in the room with us for free. I booked direct with Starwood using the internet special rate and i would certainly reccomend this hotel if you are looking for something a bit different .
The location is excellent if you like to be in the "hub of it all" .
Credit goes out to all the genuine friendly staff who made out stay a pleasure .

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2005

I will confess, I am a bit of a neat-freak, and going to hotels makes me wary. I have heard nothing but wonderful things about the Starwood hotel chains, and their commitment to excellence. The staff had an attitude, but that is something I can overlook, seeing that they were incredibly busy seeing that it is Times Square (however a smile goes a long way). The lobby was in very good shape, and I was feeling positive about my stay, until I got off the elevator. The stained hallways should have been my first clue. The room was certainly not up to my standards. And by that I mean stained linens, and a hair or two in my shower, which makes me question when they last cleaned it. Perhaps it was just a hair from the cleaning personnel, but I don't care. Next time I think I will stay at a different hotel a bit outside of Times Square. I've heard nice things about the Royalton and The City Club. I think I'll book a room at one of those in the future.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2005

This hotel was very nice. I liked the theme and the room was ok although for the price very small. I expected alot more for what I payed for this hotel.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2005

Location is good.Hotel staff has an attitude, maybe that 's normal at a W Hotel. Hotel is very dark, and rooms are not as clean as one would expect from this chain. Also disputed a charge added to the bill that was in error. This was removed but showed up on card again a month later. There are better places to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#317 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,891 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,685 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing