We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the W”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #263 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful Stay at the W”
Reviewed 1 August 2005

We stayed at the W on Times Square July 29-31, 2005. We had a suite on the 28th floor with great views of Times Square. Room was very clean, housekeeping was quick with request for more pillows, towels, shampoos, etc. Loved having Bliss products supplied by the hotel! Incredible bed with down comforter, our suite had two bathrooms, both were very clean.

We'd absolutely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    1,309
    597
    306
    180
See reviews for
861
1,328
226
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I stayed at the W hotel Times Square this past weekend with a few friends. This was my first time in NYC. This hip hotel was in a great location for first time visitors and the staff was very friendly. The room was nice but small (although from what I hear this is typical for hotels in NYC) and not as clean as I would expect from this level of hotel. Overall a positive stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

Stayed at the W in Times Square a couple years ago when it first opened and it was amazing. Fun, chic and great location. Stayed at it again a week ago and it is really aging fast - the hip, cool furnishings in the rooms are dirty. The room we stayed in had a plugged sink and one of the mirrors were broken. (We did not report it as it wasn't worth wasting our time on since we had limited time in NY). The staff was hit or miss. For example, check-in was fine but the bar staff was rude and complained about us ordering a mixed drink (the relatively common mojito) that was a 'signature' drink because they had to go to the other end of the bar to make it (for a $12 drink!). Also, for a "hip" hotel it was a joke to see cleaning supllies (mop, bucket, vacuum) out in the bar on a Saturday night at 1 am when the bar was still open and packed....don't get me wrong - this place still has a fantastic location. is still nice and quiet compared to the chaos in Times Square and still often aims to please but the hotel is really declining fast - lets hope not all the "Ws" get this way as this location used to be my gold standard for a 'W'.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexhhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2005

The location can't be beat: close to everything and near beautiful central park. The staff was very responsive to any request we made. As an SPG gold member they upgraded me to the 49th floor and we had an excellent view of Broadway.

A bit dark (they need backlighting on the elevator numbers: we old guys can’t read the numbers) and a good tourist hotel though not great for business: The cramped business center almost seems to be an afterthought and the room desk was not particularly useful for actual work.

Very nice workout center: each workout machine has it’s own TV, ear phones, weights, water.

They play this ‘modern” background music constantly and it eventually gets quite old: change up a bit.

On balance, we enjoyed our stay though I think equally nice and well located hotels can be had for about 50-75 less per night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_schene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 July 2005

Stayed at this hotel in April. It is is right in the heart of Times Square which was great for a newcomer to the city like myself, however, I don't think I'd want to stay on Time Square again as it is far too busy.

The hotel itself was okay, although overpriced (although maybe that is what you have to pay to stay so centrally in NY). The positives about the hotel are: it had a great gym, bed was comfortable, room was quiet and the bar area was quite cool. However, although the hotel was stylish (had funky music playing in the lifts and reception area) most of the staff were unfriendly and pretentious (with an air of superiority - they sort of made you feel like they were doing you a favour by serving you). Also, the decor was very dark (black corridors and grey walls in the rooms), and it was beginning to get slightly shabby (the bathroom in particular could have done with a re-paint). I certainly would not stay at this hotel if I had children. Overall, I don't think I would stay at this hotel for future trips to NY as it was a little overpriced and felt unwelcoming.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpetually planning our next adventure
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

We stayed for 6 nights at the W Times Square, and though this is purportedly the "flagship" for the W chain, we found it somewhat "dirty" for lack of a better word.
Call me picky, but I don't particularly care to see large brown stains of indeterminate origins on the blinds, and I don't want to see trash beneath the bed. The hotel needs a little more upkeep.
ln the upside, the hotel is in a great central location, and though it is in crazy Time Square, it was remarkably quiet. The lobby area is the typical uber-chic W style with a happening bar scene. The staff was helpful and the concierge was helpful, though they could not get us a reservation at PerSe... (apparently takes an act of God)

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeckCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2005

The good: free Bliss products, trendy nightclub scene, quiet hotel for one with Times Sqr location (i'm talking about the street noise), it's where the "beautiful people" stay, friendly staff, cool music.
The bad: Poor quality especially for the price. Stayed several times, each room was worn out. White furniture shows age and dirt. Beds are standard hotel, not the "heavenly beds" of sister Westin brand. Doors are thin, can hear music from hall. Closet door is hallow. Bathroom is made of cheap fixtures. Sliding door and bathroom walls probably came from Ikea, which isn't bad except your paying a luxury hotel price for it. Shower curtain standard dirty hotel issue. Shower tiles standard bathroom tiles, where's the marble or fancy stone? Wall of mirrors in your room is a bit cheesy.
If you need trendy, stay at the Westin Times Sqr, if you want value, stay at the Waldorf Astoria. If you absolutely must stay with all the trendy Europeans visiting NYC, then stay here.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#181 of 467 in New York City
10,631 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing