We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart Of Harlem stole my heart.”
Review of Heart of Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart of Harlem
Ranked #5 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

NYC has so many places to stay, the choices can be overwhelming. When my partner and I go to NY, we look forward to staying at this wonderful B&B as much as seeing this great city. The Heart Of Harlem is a pre-turn of the century brownstone that was built with all the workmanship and grander of the Edwardian era. Think of hand carved hard wood stairwells and fireplace surrounds, and walls decorated with plaster reliefs throughout. The building is truly a beautiful old Lady, and with any old lady, there are some wrinkles that in my opinion add to the beauty of her age. If you expect everything to work flawlessly, like the 14 foot tall pocket doors, then this may not be your place but I believe that this just adds to her beautiful character. So if you want to feel that you are staying in a truly old and beautiful brownstone, this is the one! The location is great, it is near the subway and on a quiet street without the noise of downtown. The beds are wonderful and the rooms are decorated with turn of the century antiques that add to the beauty of the home. It is a very welcoming place to stay.
The first time we arrived in NYC, we didn’t know anyone. By the time we left, we had 2 wonderful friends, the caretakers and owners of this wonderful home. ressi and Dwight know the city and will recommend different places for you to see and things to do. They will help you navigate how the subway works and the bus system. They are truly wonderful people and it is always a pleasure staying with them.
We have stayed here twice already and have another planed stay in November with several of our friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, some have a full bathroom and some share a shower. This has never been a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C_David_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you want beautiful boutique rooms furnished with early 20th century antiques, glistening chandeliers, an ensuite pool table and the worlds nicest host this is the place for you!
This 19th century Harlem town house has been painstakingly refurbished to its former glory by its friendly owners, it is simply wonderful.

Our room was clean and very comfortable. Modern antique cameras adorned the mantle piece and a glistening chandelier hung overhead. The beds were comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was clean and the shower hot and powerful. There is also free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a subway a short 4 blocks away.
We were very well looked after during our short stay here, there is plenty of info about the local area and the owner (who is possibly one of the world’s nicest people) even gave us her mobile number telling us to call her if we needed some help, got lost etc.

Overall we were amazed at the quality of this B&B for the small price per night!

Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the pool table!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank deedario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank MariaSotiriadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dune77240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
590 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Harlem

Address: number 74, West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £197 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing