We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and price!”
Review of Heart of Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart of Harlem
Ranked #4 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and price!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My daughter and I were going on a quick adventure to NYC and were looking for a place to stay that wasn't the typical hotel experience but also wasn't hideously expensive. After hours of reading blogs and reviews I had pretty much resigned myself to staying in a hotel. Then I found reviews about Heart of Harlem B&B. They all mentioned the great location and Tressi & Dwight the awesome owners. The reviews were all very accurate- we really enjoyed our stay. Tressi offered all kinds of general suggestions to make our trip more affordable and fun and could not have been more welcoming. All email to Tressi were promptly answered.

The B&B is located a few blocks from the subway (10 min walk) and about 3 mins from a bus stop. There is also a lovely park about 3 minutes away. On the way to the subway are numerous banks, grocery stores, pharmacies and restaurants. We walked back from the subway late at night and felt perfectly safe. Several famous historical soul food restaurants are close by as well as new up & coming trendy restaurants.

Every morning there was a 3 item hot breakfast as well as bagels, cereals and yogurt. Fresh brewed coffee and you could make hot chocolate and tea.

Our room was HUGE. High vaulted ceilings, 2 queen sized beds and the whole of one end was windows. There was an en-suite toilet and sink. The shower for our room was down the hallway. Because no one was in the room next to ours Tressi opened the connecting door and let us use the shower that came with that room.

It was bitterly cold outside the few days we were there but the heating system worked very well. There was an old radiator that came on several times (no in-room controls) but in addition there was a radiant block on one wall that could be turned on and off. We were perfectly comfortable.

There is free WIFI that actually works. The TV got a large variety of shows including a number in foreign languages.

The room came with a microwave & a mini fridge- this worked out well when one evening we were cold and miserable so we headed "home", grabbed some food at the store near the subway and ate a light supper in our toasty warm room rather than heading back out into the cold.

Room Tip: There is a flight of stairs to get into the B&B. Then there are rooms on that same floor as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    34
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
80
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Fantastic B&B hosted by Tressi and Dwight who make you feel at home the minute you arrive. The renovated Brownstone is a work in progress but is charming and homey. All original woodwork and floors are a great site. Very pleasant breakfast conversation with fellow travelers further enhances your stay. Continental style breakfast but plentiful with lot's of variety. Talking to Tressi is a real treat and allowing us to share her home with us was fantastic. Ignore all the naysayers on this forum about Budgetplaces.com and the fraud "B&B's", this is a totally legit house and our arrangements came off without a hitch. We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor is awesome, we will book that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great location in NY, easy to get to subway and from there major stations and airports. Very, very friendly and helpful family team, who really made our stay very special. We'd definately go again an dhope to do so soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It Was my first time in NY and I really enjoy the holidays. Tressi make them easy. We felt like her house was also ours! Really nice, spectacular and beautiful house! Good Breakfast, situation and perkect host!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azores- S.Miguel - Flores
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights with my sister in this wonderful old warm stylish house. When returning to New York I feel we have a home to return to. We have visited New York before staying at hotels more to the centre of the city however, this time we found the real Soul of New York in this safe and most welcoming of places. Breakfast was good varied and plentiful with Tressi a host in a million ready to help any time we needed. Our stay in Harlem was a fantastic start to our holiday in America glad to have found this unique place full of charm and character. I have no doubts in recommending a stay in this place if you are interested in trying something different. A real experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatimaAzores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This B & B is absolutely fantastic. Large, stylishly rooms. The owners are more than friendly and they always have a tip for "what to do" on hand. The breakfast includes everything you need for a start into the day (coffee, tea, toast, jam, cheese, fruits, yogurt, pancakes, eggs, juice etc.). Its a 5 min. foot way to the subway and a 10 min ride to Time Square. The Harlem area is secure and a large supermarket is near by. I absolutely can recommend this B & B and if I ever come back to NCY, I will definitely stay in the Heart of Harlem

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at the Heart of Harlem guest house for two nights with my two brothers and our mother this September and... wow! The traditional 19th century townhouse has been lovingly and painstakingly refurbished and decorated. Our room was a good size, especially our bathroom which, like everything else, was beautifully decorated. Breakfast isn't *too* early either

But as great as the house was the real highlight was the owner, Tressi (we never met husband Dwight). She makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and is helpful with any queries throughout the stay. We really couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay!

Oh, and it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Four grown-ups go very comfortably in the biggest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErlendPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Harlem

Property: Heart of Harlem
Address: number 74, West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing