We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are you waiting for?”

456 Shanghai Cuisine
Ranked #2,155 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“What are you waiting for?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Don't let the sparse decor fool you, this restaurant is a local favorite and has been around for a long time. The original restaurant was located in a different part of Chinatown and was very successful for many years, then it closed and years later the son of the owner decided to re-open it at it's present day location on Mott Street. My friend and I shared "C17" Preserved veg. with soybean and tofu skin, $8.95, it had a wonderful combination of unique flavors and was filled with healthy green vegetables. We also tried "B2" Shanghai (chicken, pork & shrimp) $6.95. Another amazing dish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    137
    39
    19
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
298 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“OK food and rush service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were here for dinner on a weekday. The place was almost full when we were there, but we didn't need to wait for a table. We have ordered Xiao Lung Bao, spicy chicken and stir fried broccoli with garlic sauce. The dumpling and spicy chicken were good but the garlic sauce on the broccoli was a bit too sweet. The service was a too rush,they didn't even give you time to stop to drink your tea after meal. The server came to collect the plates once they see they are empty although we still have not finish other dishes. Bill was being stuck to us immediately after they have collected the last plate. We have paid with credit card, they didn't even give us time to sign the bill and wanted to collect it immediately.

Overall, it was a rush meal but price was reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Came here on spec and had a very good meal

Ordered the dumplings, something I wouldn't normally get, but they were delicious! And spring rolls were great, crispy and dry (i.e. not oily) with good veg inside.

The two main dishes were good, with subtle flavours.

Service was good but everything gets whisked away very quickly.

Would recomment

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best Chinese food I've ever had! It was amazingly delicious. Try the dumplings and you can't go wrong. When we couldn't decide what to order we told our waiter our likes and dislikes and he ordered for us and I'm so glad that he did. Impeccable service, exceptional food and we got to meet interesting people. Can't beat that. Definitely a clean and nice place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank liljana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dumplings were delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I found this place through the 'The Scoop' app by The New York Times.

The place doesn't look very inviting and it was packed when I showed up on a saturday evening. I had to wait some time before I got a table. So, it's rather popular.

As appetizer I had the juicy pork buns soup dumplings and they were the best I ever tasted. Absolutely great.

After that, I had spicy diced chicken with peanuts. this plate was ok but not wow.

I really enjoyed my dinner, the food was good (and wow for the dumplings!) but the service was so so and the place itself should have a complete overhaul, so it'll become actually a nice place to eat fantastic dumplings!

Since there are a lot of other restaurants I think I'll prefer checking those out, before going back here, if I'll be in the neighbourhood again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 456 Shanghai Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to 456 Shanghai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing